English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 April 2019, 20:44   #1
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 474
Changing Icon Tool Type Values on Mass

I would like to change the default tool for text files in my WHDLoad game folders from MultiView to Redit, but can't face doing it individually for all 2500 files, is there a way to change tool type values for icons on mass?
manic23 is offline  
Old 26 April 2019, 20:50   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,327
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
None that I'm aware of.
Samurai_Crow is online now  
Old 26 April 2019, 20:53   #3
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 474
Thought as much! thanks Samurai Crow
manic23 is offline  
Old 26 April 2019, 21:57   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,441
It can be done with an ARexx script for example. rexxtricks.library has functions to get and set default tool.
daxb is offline  
Old 26 April 2019, 22:00   #5
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 474
I was hoping for something simpler I know nothing about scripts or anything remotely programy!
manic23 is offline  
Old 26 April 2019, 22:09   #6
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 474
I guess the other option would be to work out if wheel mouse scrolling is available somehow in MultiView? My main reason for wanting to switch to Redit is that the new v2 supports this and I find it much easier to navigate long files with the wheel mouse support.

Does anyone know if it is possible to add wheel support to MultiView? I already have Freewheel set up and working.
manic23 is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 01:04   #7
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,441
Why not using the keyboard to navigate/scroll MultiView?
daxb is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 01:11   #8
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
You can do it with processicon and the C:List command.
kolla is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 01:15   #9
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,511
It lacks delicacy, but :

- copy redit to the same folder as multiview;
- rename multiview (eg. mView)
- rename redit to multiview

and voilĂ , yours 2500 files now open with redit
malko is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 01:23   #10
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Changing Icon Tool Type Values on Mass

http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/ProcessIcon

"SDT- Set default tool of ICON."

Code:
list path:to/whdload all files p="#?.txt" lformat "processicon *"%p%n*" std redit" to t:meh
ececute t:meh
... and wait.

Btw, it's "en masse"
kolla is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 01:37   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by manic23 View Post
I was hoping for something simpler I know nothing about scripts or anything remotely programy!
There is a simple and fast method, rename Redit to MultiView and MultiView to as you like
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 14:18   #12
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 474
Many thanks for your help guys, I never thought of renaming redit to multiview!! genius idea!

Edit: Hmmm, no actually that is not such a great idea after all, it has a knock-on effect with other files like .guide files that are set to open with MultiView, they will open with Redit which is not desirable as you lose the links etc, I will try Kolla's method and see how I get on with ProcessIcon

Last edited by manic23; 27 April 2019 at 14:43.
manic23 is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 14:52   #13
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,202
DoIcon might be what you're looking for.

Code:
DoIcon A-Games:#? searchdt=MultiView newdt=Redit deep
or this if worried about the guide files.

Code:
DoIcon A-Games:~(#?.guide.info) searchdt=MultiView newdt=Redit deep

Last edited by ppill; 27 April 2019 at 15:19.
ppill is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 15:22   #14
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
DoIcon might be what you're looking for.

Code:
DoIcon A-Games:#? searchdt=MultiView newdt=Redit deep
or this if worried about the guide files.

Code:
DoIcon A-Games:~(#?.guide.info) searchdt=MultiView newdt=Redit deep
YES!! many thanks for that ppil, DoIcon is a great program that even a numpty like me can use, just ran it and it worked a treat did exactly what I wanted, genius!!
manic23 is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 16:16   #15
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,202
It's a very useful and versatile tool.
ppill is offline  
Old 27 April 2019, 16:39   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by manic23 View Post
Edit: Hmmm, no actually that is not such a great idea after all, it has a knock-on effect with other files like .guide files that are set to open with MultiView, they will open with Redit which is not desirable as you lose the links etc, I will try Kolla's method and see how I get on with ProcessIcon
My advice is for systems based on games only.
Regard the .guide files just delete the icons and use the system for association (def_guide.info) where you can edit adding Multiview2, Multiview3 etc. .
however the advice of ppill is excellent
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Icon Type eva support.Other 3 27 February 2018 19:29
Values of memory card geomentry keep changing... need advice plz -Acid- support.Hardware 20 08 July 2017 02:25
Changing Icon in ClassicWB andyhants project.ClassicWB 1 04 February 2015 22:50
Changing Icon into OS 3.9 ???? D4Ni3L3 support.Other 3 30 November 2008 07:45
Mass Changing Of Icon Tool Types CodyJarrett support.Apps 2 05 March 2002 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08276 seconds with 13 queries