English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 June 2018, 07:48   #1
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 92
AS225 setting clock?

Is there a program to set the clock from internet using AS225 (Commodore TCP/IP stack)?

I have no clock battery in my A3000 at the moment, but it is hooked up using AS225 so I thought it might be an idea to use it, however most utils I find seems to be for AmiTCP...
hth313 is offline  
Old 05 June 2018, 08:18   #2
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 433
There is no command included with AS225 to set the time using the daytime protocol? This standard was defined before AS225 was created so there should be a chance.
patrik is offline  
Old 05 June 2018, 18:12   #3
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 92
I checked my installation and manual, but no, I cannot find anything.

I suppose it should not be the most tricky thing to put together myself, given that there are code examples for other TCP/IP stacks. But it requires some work (time I do not have so much of) and it seems stupid to reinvent the wheel. Besides, I kind of hope there will be a more modern TCP/IP stack coming along, or that AS225 gets updated...
hth313 is offline  
Old 05 June 2018, 18:45   #4
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 433
Out of curiosity, where can one find a devkit/SDK for AS225?

Regarding more modern stacks - Roadshow is definitely modern in Amiga terms.
patrik is offline  
Old 05 June 2018, 22:03   #5
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 92
A little bit of looking around reveals that you need the Network Developer's kit from CATS. It is not in the normal NDK.

Thank you for the link to Roadshow, it is good to know about it. For the moment I will keep using my old AS225 as it so far does what I need, apart from the clock setting. If I get deeper into this I will probably know better whether I should stick to AS225 or switch to Roadshow or something else.
hth313 is offline  
Old 06 June 2018, 00:46   #6
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 433
Which TCP/IP software with AS225 support do you use regularly?
patrik is offline  
Old 06 June 2018, 01:33   #7
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 92
Only the nfs client.
hth313 is offline  
Old 06 June 2018, 02:24   #8
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 214
The AS225 NDK appears to be on the developer cd in:

Developer CD V2/Reference/DevCon/Orlando_1993/Devcon93.4/Networking2/AS225

Appears to be for AS225r2

In the examples directory is a timed server which you could use as a starting point for writing a client.


Edit: and for completeness, the INet-225 r3 NDK is at:


Developer CD V2/Contributions/Interworks/Networking/INet-225

Last edited by dalek; 06 June 2018 at 02:41.
dalek is offline  
Old 06 June 2018, 14:23   #9
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,359
You don't really need more than a script using telnet to do it.
kolla is offline  
Old 06 June 2018, 18:19   #10
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 92
You mean using rsh to ask for the date? I fear the days are gone when all these unsafe network utilities were allowed...

It should not be a big thing to port some existing code over to AS225, I just have to find some time to set things up here. In fact, it is probably a good reason to set up a development environment again.
hth313 is offline  
Old 07 June 2018, 09:40   #11
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,359
No, given that you have a daytime server, telnet to the daytime port on it.
kolla is offline  
Old 07 June 2018, 14:28   #12
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,959
The usno_time package on Aminet includes source and its readme says "The source is provided and should be easily adapted for AS225."
mark_k is offline  
Old 08 June 2018, 07:46   #13
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
No, given that you have a daytime server, telnet to the daytime port on it.
I see, and learn something new every day...

It does not help unfortunately as I do not have such server it seems and the AS225 telnet does not want to talk with my Linux server as things are configured.

Worse, this AS225 package does not seem to know anything about name servers!
hth313 is offline  
Old 09 June 2018, 12:45   #14
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by hth313 View Post
Worse, this AS225 package does not seem to know anything about name servers!
Which AS225 version are you using? According to this FAQ this seems to be the case for AS225R1.
patrik is offline  
Old 10 June 2018, 07:46   #15
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 92
I use AS225r2 beta and armed with the knowledge that it should work I went on to try and configuring it. It took some trials, but I got it to work!!

First the gateway was "funny". It seems that it can be set in two places in the configuration files, but that does not appear to work. Neither does the ConfigInet the way I tried it. What does work is editing a line in the inet:s/start-inet where it says 'route add default ..'. Simply uncomment it and add the IP of the default gateway there.

Then dns requires adding a line to inet:s/inet.config which reads "usedns=true". Then inet:db/resolv.conf needs to be added with the name server(s).

After that I could ping time.google.com! However, name lookups are a bit slow and takes about 4 seconds every time. Using the IP number instead is instant.

The A3000 can almost warm reboot faster than doing a name server lookup...
hth313 is offline  
Old 11 June 2018, 00:22   #16
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by hth313 View Post
The A3000 can almost warm reboot faster than doing a name server lookup...
Ouch! Good work figuring out how to make it work!
patrik is offline  
Old 11 June 2018, 20:25   #17
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,618
If you persist in using AS225, at least try to get a hold of INet 225, the last version published commercially.
idrougge is offline  
Old 12 June 2018, 00:23   #18
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 92
I tried to mail Interworks, but the mail bounced... Anyone know how to contact them?

Using the wayback machine it seems they went off the map around 1997. I would like to get in touch with anyone who has the source to ask if they want to open source it...

I liked the interview in http://www.amigareport.com/ar406/review5.html

AR: With the Advent of ESCOM purchasing the Amiga, what is the status of INet-225?

IW: I-Net 225 is, for all intents and purposes, owned by Interworks, Inc. due to the amount of work we've done on the product.


Last edited by hth313; 12 June 2018 at 00:44.
hth313 is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 11:20   #19
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,359
Do us all a service and replace it with Roadshow, hehe
kolla is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 18:32   #20
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 92
@kolla

I probably should, but the main part (nfs) works fine so far and I am interested to see how far AS225 takes me. Then I will know what the limitations are and what to look for in a replacement.

Besides, I just got back to the Amiga and want to see that I have some real use for it. So far it has been fun playing around, configuring and exploring things.
hth313 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
As225 redblade request.Apps 9 23 August 2016 19:34
WB clock whitebird support.Apps 2 30 August 2014 17:05
Battery for clock to Zorro? jack-3d support.Hardware 5 14 July 2014 01:20
Combitec Clock 77 Tomcat support.Hardware 0 16 July 2011 10:48
Minor inconvenience (setting clock) Iznougoud support.Hardware 8 09 December 2009 16:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08641 seconds with 15 queries