English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 April 2019, 10:31   #1
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
A1208 and 2B mobo.

A fellow user from Warsaw is having troubles with A1208 working with his A1200 2B revision, 3.0 kickstart (memtest spews out errors). I lend him my 1D.4 with 3.1 to test things out and everything works great.

Anyone has any experience with using the card with that revision? What could be the issue? Timing fixes where not applied to his board but with just a mem expansion it shouldn't be an issue, right?

Link to the card.

Last edited by ppill; 16 April 2019 at 11:16.
ppill is offline  
Old 16 April 2019, 11:10   #2
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 737
I would suggest the timing fixes are done anyway as a first step, I'm not sure the glue logic on that card will have allowances for skewed timings.
indigolemon is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 10:34   #3
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 514
Do you get the same results for both 4MB and 8MB mode?

I have a similar, but not the same, memory card and in 4MB mode there is actually also Slow RAM. On my A1200 2B the memory tests fails on Slow RAM.
solarmon is online now  
Old 17 June 2019, 10:41   #4
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 514
Also, I did also find memtest (http://aminet.net/package/util/moni/MemTest) to spew out errors when Amiga Tesk Kit (https://github.com/keirf/Amiga-Stuff/releases) memory testing doesn't. So I replaced memtest with MemCheckBH (http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/MemCheckBH) instead, which seems to work OK.
solarmon is online now  
Old 18 June 2019, 10:17   #5
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
He eventually had his card replaced and now everything works great. MBRTest-2 from MicroBotics was the test software which apparently is the best one to use.
ppill is offline  
Old 18 June 2019, 10:22   #6
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
He eventually had his card replaced and now everything works great. MBRTest-2 from MicroBotics was the test software which apparently is the best one to use.
OK

Thanks for the tip about MBRTest-2!
solarmon is online now  
Old 18 June 2019, 20:23   #7
project23
Used Register

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Liverpool
Age: 36
Posts: 427
FWIW when troubleshooting my Furia, MBRTest-2 showed issues that Systest did not pick up.

Could just be chance. I did all tests except 'FLOAT' (no fpu on board).
project23 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE: A1200 8 meg Ram/FPU A1208 plus A3000 daughter boards Jimbo MarketPlace 2 01 September 2010 19:23
What mobo would you keep and would would you get rid? D4Ni3L3 Hardware mods 8 23 November 2009 10:41
WTB 1D4 mobo JuvUK MarketPlace 3 31 July 2009 21:39
New mobo issues, Not AMIGA sorry :) DDNI support.Hardware 12 30 June 2007 15:21
Which MOBO for PC gaming? buckrogers Retrogaming General Discussion 13 31 March 2005 10:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06873 seconds with 15 queries