English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.MAGE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 August 2007, 21:40   #1
denbob1200
Registered User
denbob1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: london
Age: 48
Posts: 81
Setting up Extras/SPS in GameBase Amiga [was: "gamebase"]

cant seem to get gb to recognise my sps files, put the in directory extras, sps, 1. 201 etc but does not see them please help
denbob1200 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 August 2007, 22:04   #2
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Did you set your paths?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Guide03_MenuToolsPaths.png
Views:	482
Size:	31.8 KB
ID:	14575   Click image for larger version

Name:	Guide04_GamesPath.png
Views:	433
Size:	11.2 KB
ID:	14576   Click image for larger version

Name:	Guide05_OtherPaths.png
Views:	434
Size:	17.7 KB
ID:	14577  

Last edited by eLowar; 22 August 2007 at 22:34. Reason: turned inline images into attachments to save screen space
eLowar is offline  
Old 22 August 2007, 22:09   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 8,535
Thread moved
DamienD is online now  
Old 22 August 2007, 22:11   #4
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Also, the files have to have the right name and must be individually zipped disks. If your names are correct, the 1 dir, should look something like this for example:
  • 0001_Wizard Warz.zip
  • 0002_Commando.zip
  • 0003_Cybernoid II - The Revenge.zip
  • 0004_Virus.zip
  • 0005_Back to the Future Part II.zip
  • 0006_Batman - The Movie_Disk1.zip
  • 0006_Batman - The Movie_Disk2.zip
  • 0007_Time and Magik - The Trilogy.zip
  • 0008_Grand Prix Circuit.zip
  • 0009_Rolling Ronny - The Errand-Boy.zip
  • 0010_Bard's Tale, The - Tales of the Unknown_Disk1.zip
  • 0010_Bard's Tale, The - Tales of the Unknown_Disk2.zip
  • 0011_Espionage.zip
  • 0012_Rainbow Islands.zip
  • 0013_Marble Madness.zip
  • ...

There are DAT files for clrmame pro and RomCenter to rename and split the files automatically. There are also batch files (included with the DAT), to sort files into and out of the numbered subdirs.

You'll find the DAT files in the @Main directory in the GameBase Amiga File Archive (near the top, names start with "Dat -").

Last edited by eLowar; 22 August 2007 at 22:12. Reason: fixed typo
eLowar is offline  
Old 22 August 2007, 22:11   #5
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Thread moved
Oh thanks, DamienD, I hadn't noticed the thread was in the wrong place.
eLowar is offline  
Old 22 August 2007, 22:19   #6
denbob1200
Registered User
denbob1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: london
Age: 48
Posts: 81
will try the dat file later, looks like i have to split the zips for each disk first.
sorry for not putting this thread in the right place try not yo let it happen again.
denbob1200 is offline  
Old 22 August 2007, 22:22   #7
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by denbob1200 View Post
will try the dat file later, looks like i have to split the zips for each disk first.
Please note that clrmame pro or RomCenter (note that I can not provide any help for RomCenter at all because I've never used it, only clrmame pro) will do this for you! They'll scan through the ZIP files and produce the needed structure, after that you only have to run the appropriate batch file to sort the files into the numbered sub-directories automatically.

There's no need for manual splitting or renaming.
eLowar is offline  
Old 23 August 2007, 17:40   #8
denbob1200
Registered User
denbob1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: london
Age: 48
Posts: 81
great news that will try that when i get home, by the way why does gamebase show over 4000 games playable but the gamebase only recognise just over 2000?.
I have to set the games by hand and rename my tosec files and rezip them,
i now have over 3000 games playable (adf) and still putting more in day by day, will be finished sometime soon i hope
denbob1200 is offline  
Old 23 August 2007, 17:51   #9
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Have a look at the statistics at: http://gbamiga.elowar.com/#Features:Statistics

There are over 4500 games in the database with detailed information, but not all are playable yet. GameBase Amiga is still a work in progress. Belgarath spends a lot of time on configuring and testing each game, to make as sure as possible that there won't be any nasty surprises when somebody else plays the games as used and configured in GameBase Amiga.

A lot of games that aren't configured for ADF yet can be played as either SPS or WHDLoad though and eventually everything will be configured.
eLowar is offline  
Old 23 August 2007, 18:08   #10
denbob1200
Registered User
denbob1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: london
Age: 48
Posts: 81
its a great program and please dont think im complaining as i enjoy messing around with this sort of thing and think of it as a challenge to get as much as i can a complete collection.
its my wife that complains about the time i spend on this and my real amiga,
denbob1200 is offline  
Old 25 August 2007, 17:36   #11
denbob1200
Registered User
denbob1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: london
Age: 48
Posts: 81
ran clrmamepro it skipped about 130 or so games, getting closer to that magic
4500 games now cheers
denbob1200 is offline  
Old 31 December 2007, 21:38   #12
Leatherface
Registered User
Leatherface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lille / France
Age: 46
Posts: 19
Belgarath spends a lot of time on configuring and testing each game, to make as sure as possible that there won't be any nasty surprises when somebody else plays the games as used and configured in GameBase Amiga.

Well.... Belgarath is a GOD !
Leatherface is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
Gamebase Amiga 1.6 where can I find SPS... AmiFox project.MAGE 4 13 August 2008 12:25
"GameBase Amiga" UAE Config illy5603 project.MAGE 26 13 August 2008 02:57
"GameBase Amiga by Belgarath" eLowar project.MAGE 0 28 May 2007 18:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19088 seconds with 13 queries