English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 August 2011, 01:56   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
My New A4000T

Hi All!

I thought I'd start a project thread now I've had a little time to test out my new aquisition and get an RTG Workbench running.

There's still lots to do, but I'm ready to share progress with you all so far...

As I posted in the 'What did you buy' thread I collected my A4000T this morning, X-Ray (a user here and other boards) offered his collection for sale and since he is based in London I just had to have it!

The A4000T is in very good condition, a little yellowing and a small dent on one side but really it still looks very smart. And lucky for me its one of the highest spec'd out machines around.

It came with a CSPPC (64mhz 060 & 233mhz PPC) with 3x 128mb DKB 3128's giving a whopping 512mb Ram!

The Picasso IV has the Concierto and Paloma modules and I will be adding a Deneb USB shortly.

So here are some pics so far, of course once I put it back together I will post a pic of the A4000T with the front Bezel in place!

Here's the bezel, as you can see the door is not damaged at all:





Here's the A4000T without the Bezel in place, you can see the Zorro Cards in place:












The CSPPC, of course its plumbed in now and running QuakeWOS smooth at 640x480 as I type!



The Cyberstorm seems to be a lot faster than my 330mhz Blizzard PPC, I guess the A4000 is just a lot quicker than the A1200? Since this Cyberstorm is only 233mhz I found that a surprise, for example QuakeWOS in software rendering on the A1200 even via the Voodoo PCI is a lot slower then it's running right now on the CSPPC/PicassoIV, Even Quake II is running smooth in Software Rendering!



I've started by setting up Classic Workbench OS3.9 and Picasso96 + the WarpOS drivers, so far everything is working perfect:








All the Ram is showing up just fine and my WarpOS apps are working perfect

Next Job is to pull the Deneb from my Elbox Tower and plumb it in, then setup the Kickflash to eliminate the reboot. Oh and I still need to setup the Sound Card

Since tomorrow is a bank holiday I should have some time to do that then!

Anyway, hope you enjopyed the pr0n

Steve.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 29 August 2011 at 02:29.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 August 2011, 03:06   #2
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 183
Nice buy steve! i saw this on a.org and i was thinking someone would have to rescue that fine machine.

The cyberstorm is way faster than the blizzard because the PPC chip addresses the ram in 64bit(060 hits it at 32bit),while the blizzard is 32bit totally.Thats why you must always have a Minimum of 2-simms in a csppc.
also you have a 604e vs a 603 on the Blizzard. The cyberstom PPC UWSCSI absolutely rocks too around 25MB/s+ with little cpu overhead. blizzard uses narrow scsi and gets 10MB/s on a good day.

enjoy that 4000t.

Mech
mech is offline  
Old 29 August 2011, 04:12   #3
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 720
Nice machine, and I can't believe that Amiga has 512MB of RAM. I got 64MB RAM on my A1200 and that seems overkill, but its nice to have it when running MAC emulation.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 29 August 2011, 11:23   #4
X-ray
Angry Kid Fan
X-ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 230
It is indeed a nice machine, I had many years pleasure out of it (I didn't use the PPC much though, mainly the CSMK2).
I am glad Steve has it now, it was just sitting here being unused.
Good luck with the build, Steve and thanks for a smooth transaction!
X-ray is offline  
Old 29 August 2011, 13:18   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks for the kind words guys and thanks again x-ray
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 August 2011, 14:17   #6
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 40
Posts: 3,166
nice, I wonder what the power draw is on that thing
Paul_s is offline  
Old 29 August 2011, 17:07   #7
X-ray
Angry Kid Fan
X-ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 230
The draw was enough for me to convert it to use a 350W ATX PSU
X-ray is offline  
Old 29 August 2011, 18:08   #8
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
wow what a nice bit of kit*drool*......i would love one of these zorro 3 hmmmmmm.
roy bates is offline  
Old 03 September 2011, 22:06   #9
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks guys!

Since you're all so nice here are a few more pics, just an idea of how it will be setup when done







fitzsteve is offline  
Old 05 September 2011, 08:51   #10
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
oh wow very nice!!!
roy bates is offline  
Old 05 September 2011, 20:13   #11
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
oh wow very nice!!!
Thanks for the kind words Roy
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 05 September 2011, 22:02   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I love you Alexh
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 05 September 2011, 22:03   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,041
Good luck
alexh is offline  
Old 28 September 2011, 22:23   #14
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Good luck
Hi Alexh, that one sold for 250

But I got one on Amibay for 180



Going in tomorrow
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 September 2011, 10:14   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,041
What has happened to the prices of those?? With all the dying MKIII and CSPPC, plus PCI gfx cards via Mediator you'd think supply would outstrip demand?
alexh is offline  
Old 29 September 2011, 10:24   #16
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
What has happened to the prices of those?? With all the dying MKIII and CSPPC, plus PCI gfx cards via Mediator you'd think supply would outstrip demand?
There are next to none out there in the wild, this card must have been produced in pretty low numbers unless someone is hoarding stock... I know there are a number of people waiting on the Wanted forum over at Amibay for this, I felt €180 was a lot of money but after shifting my spares like the Apollo 4060 over the last few weeks I was happy to invest.

Now the last part of this puzzle is almost complete! Pics, etc coming soon as the A4000T is on the operating table as I type

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 September 2011, 11:25   #17
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
CyberVisionPPC = WIN!! :D

Hey folks!

Thought I would share some morning fun with you all

Thanks to my good friend Marios I have CWB3.9 with CGX already setup for CVision for ease of testing, so I plumbed in my CyberVisionPPC ready for some action! (Don't worry, I will be fitting a Fan)

Excuse the worlds most untidy A4000T, I will tidy the cables before the lid goes back on






A quick look at the Zorro Cards from the other side:



Installed are:

PicassoIV + Concierto + Paloma TV
X-Surf NIC
DKB3128 + 128mb
Deneb USB

View from the back:



And the CyberVisionPPC VGA adapter I have monted in a spare space on the back:



Booted straight into Workbench first time! 1280x1024x16 on CVisonPPC



Next job is to move the install to the CyberSCSI for some nice transfer speeds

I also made a little Video of QuakeII running, it's much smoother than my 330mhz BPPC/Voodoo3 setup on the A1200T!!

[ Show youtube player ]

Oh and one last look at the Pr0n

fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 September 2011, 11:57   #18
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,917
Nice! Love the music too.
seuden is offline  
Old 29 September 2011, 12:11   #19
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by seuden View Post
Nice! Love the music too.
Thanks mate

Been listening to a lot of my old Skool late 90's MP3's recently
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 September 2011, 12:41   #20
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Thanks mate

Been listening to a lot of my old Skool late 90's MP3's recently
Lol, funny thing is, I was listening to some mp3's last week that I grabbed back in '99-'00.

Len - Steal my sunshine!

How much is this project costing so far Steve?
seuden is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using A4000T with a 100HZ TV? ancalimon support.Hardware 4 14 December 2011 22:12
A4000T AT vs CBM desantii support.Hardware 5 04 September 2011 04:03
A4000T no IDE desantii support.Hardware 4 23 September 2010 14:24
A4000T problem. Who can help? ancalimon support.Hardware 2 04 February 2008 18:13
A4000t? Firthy2002 MarketPlace 2 20 March 2005 00:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.54137 seconds with 12 queries