English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 October 2020, 13:43   #81
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,507
Mostly done now, here is some instructions if you think this helps to debug/test this situation.

Two new options:

Expansion panel 24-bit DMA capable controllers have extra checkbox: 24-bit DMA. Unticked = full 32-bit address space is supported, ticked = upper 8 bits of address are masked out. Previously some DMA controllers had hardwired 24-bit limit, some didn't have it. (CDTV: Select CDTV DMAC and make sure checkbox is ticked to emulate real world CDTV)

RAM panel: Z2/Z3 RAM boards have DMA capable checkbox. Not ticked = DMA reads return ones only, writes are ignored. Other RAM types only have config file support: find RAM banks' "*_size" config entry and add new entry "*_options=nodma=true" (for example "bogomem_options=nodma=true") to make RAM bank not DMA capable. (Note that this does not affect chipset DMA, only expansion DMA capable controllers). This emulates situation where accelerator has RAM inside first 16M but memory is not DMA capable. (In real world this situation can cause ram corruption, random hangs etc..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 15:03   #82
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,172
thanks Toni. That will be super helpful to simulate the TF since the "addmem" fix that you suggested first doesn't emulate TF behaviour properly, and we could not test the patched rom with that, because the non-patched rom would work.

Are the changes available in a new beta already?

... just when you thought Winuae had already all the features....
jotd is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 16:50   #83
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Are the changes available in a new beta already?
Looks like it.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 16:53   #84
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,507
Yes, https://download.abime.net/winuae/files/b/winuae.7z has been updated.

"All" features can never be fully implemented!
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 17:41   #85
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,172
Thanks Toni. Unticking "dma capable" on Z2 ram makes "non-dos disk in drive 1" which means that the ROM allocates wrong memory type => WinUAE now makes it possible to test the new ROM!

But problem is even with the patched ROM (using the offsets alexh provided) it doesn't work.

I suppose that there are some missing AllocMem calls. I'm going to disassemble the extended rom to find them if I can
jotd is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 17:50   #86
bartekmalysz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Northwich, UK
Posts: 42
I'm sorry I have nothing to contribute here, but thanks for the amazing job for the cdtv community!
bartekmalysz is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 18:10   #87
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,172
I've traced the allocmem calls that the extended rom does, and all extended ROM calls to AllocMem during the boot are properly redirected to chipmem.

There are one or 2 possible allocs without chipmem flag, but they're not triggered. So I'm kind of stuck...

Came to the same conclusions as there https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/vi...tart=30#p23329

> patched all those locations and no joy. Wonder if the main KS alloc's any ram for disk buffers early on.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 18:18   #88
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,507
Are you attempting to make HD (connected to CDTV SCSI adapter) or CDTV CD to work without DMA capable fast RAM?

HD is probably quite difficult because destination address can come from application directly or from used filesystem.

CD probably is not that difficult because AFAIK CDFS always use temp buffer where data is read first. (I guess because CDTV CD DMA can return more data than was requested)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 18:35   #89
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,172
Yeah, I was trying to boot from HD with Z2 capable RAM. So looking for memory allocations in extended ROM is probably not enough.

The "ideal" CDTV system should boot from HD with non DMA capable fast RAM.

My WinUAE config uses SCSI so it's probably not compliant with TF, and I can't even check for CD because HD fails as Toni noted.

The original requirement was (just): make CD work from CDTV with TF as asked here https://retrocomputing.stackexchange...to-cdtv-cd-rom

Quote:
My setup is CDTV, KS3.1, TF536 50mhz, MMU, 64MB RAM, SD2IDE, ClassicWB ADVSP. This all works okay and stable with disabled extended rom, but I would love to have native/emulated access to built in CDROM.
The original idea was to extract devices from extended ROMs, patch them for chipmem and don't use extended ROM.

Last edited by jotd; 25 October 2020 at 18:40.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 18:45   #90
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Yeah, I was trying to boot from HD with Z2 capable RAM. So looking for memory allocations in extended ROM is probably not enough..
It can't be simply patched. At least device driver's CMD_READ and CMD_WRITE would need rewrite to always use chip ram buffers. (but because CDTV scsi.device has 1G limit, direct scsi is needed and buffering that is much more complex..)

But modified pfs3aio should be able to handle this situation, it has code that handles mismatched dma mask and uses temporary ram buffers. It might even work already if you set partition's mask value to chip ram only (0x1fffff).

It still needs device driver patch because buffers used for parsing partition table must not be allocated from fast ram.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 19:16   #91
bartekmalysz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Northwich, UK
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
The original requirement was (just): make CD work from CDTV with TF as asked here https://retrocomputing.stackexchange...to-cdtv-cd-rom
Yes, the only thing I dream of is to have working CDrom under workbench when TF is installed, doesn't have to boot from it though.
bartekmalysz is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 20:35   #92
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
My WinUAE config uses SCSI so it's probably not compliant with TF536, and I can't even check for CD because HD fails as Toni noted.
The TF536 almost certainly implements a Gayle like IDE interface at the correct addresses so that the standard Kickstart IDE driver works.

Booting from a SCSI HDD connected to the CDTV SCSI controller would be a nice to have, I believe most TF536 users will only be using and booting from on-board IDE.

And while booting from CD would be a nice to have, I think just using CD in Workbench is the goal.

Last edited by alexh; 25 October 2020 at 21:27.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 22:05   #93
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,653
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Booting from a SCSI HDD connected to the CDTV SCSI controller would be a nice to have, I believe most TF536 users will only be using and booting from on-board IDE.

And while booting from CD would be a nice to have, I think just using CD in Workbench is the goal.
this is how I think also.
utri007 is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 22:15   #94
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,172
The aim of the TF is to convert an old machine to a hard drive + memory powered machine.

The hardware of the CDTV is specific, and the software that supports it hasn't been designed for non-DMA accessible memory. As Toni noted, it's not going to be a piece of cake to support SCSI or even CD-ROM (which may be a problem since a lot of CDTV titles don't have whdload support. Working on a few ones, but I generally have more luck with CD32 titles)
jotd is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 22:24   #95
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,342
Thanks very much for all your help. I guess the only way forward is to re-source some of the modules in Kickstart / Extended and re-code. Which won't be easy as AmigaOS device drivers are devilishly complicated.

TF did get somewhere re-sourcing cdtv.device (which I have) but sounds like it is more than just this one driver.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 22:33   #96
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,172
note that some people (*cough*) have a copy of all Amiga ROM source code. But even with the source it's not easy.

I remember Toni noting that the hardware of the CDTV can deliver "cooked" CD sectors (means completely decoded as opposed to CD32 hardware). So a cd device could safely (at the time) assume that the target memory is DMA-reachable and write the data directly into it.

So it may be more than a problem of memory allocation. All programs passing a fast memory buffer would potentially fail. A big rewrite of the CMD_READ / filesystem command would be required to use a temp chipmem buffer & copy to final destination afterwards.

Why not just using CD ISO imaged mounted via SimCD on TF IDE? Earok did a superb job on TF CD32 with his latest CD including Simon the sorcerer and other impossible titles to adapt to whdload

I promise I'll focus on adapting CDTV exclusive titles for whdload. NeoHippie already provided me a ton of those.

Last edited by jotd; 25 October 2020 at 22:39.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 23:19   #97
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post

Why not just using CD ISO imaged mounted via SimCD on TF IDE? Earok did a superb job on TF CD32 with his latest CD including Simon the sorcerer and other impossible titles to adapt to whdload
Some how that would just destroy my interest to TF536. CDTV just need to have working CD drive, if not then rather without a accelerator. I do have several other Amigas, but CDTV is only ECS machine wich interest me, mainly because "it has wife's aproval to living room".

Wondering what is still missing what Stephen had?
utri007 is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 23:38   #98
bartekmalysz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Northwich, UK
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
... mainly because "it has wife's aproval to living room".
same
bartekmalysz is offline  
Old 31 October 2020, 00:38   #99
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,653
Could this solve problem? http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/KillCD0

KillCD0 (<- with a ZERO) is a small tool that can be used to kill CD0: on
a CDTV, A570 or CD32 so you can mount a new one with another filesystem
i.e. AmiCDFS or CacheCDFS from OS 3.9.

Run it early startup, even before setpatch?

I read doc and this could indeed be a solution as CDTV can boot from TF536 hard drive. Early on startup sequence "c:KillCD0 cd0" and mount it again with included CD0 file. It just needs to be modified to use chip men as a cache. It is also interesting, that CDTV.device can be used with other CD filesystems.

Last edited by utri007; 31 October 2020 at 01:16.
utri007 is offline  
Old 31 October 2020, 17:17   #100
bartekmalysz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Northwich, UK
Posts: 42
I have a rom burner, all the soft and some more knowledge this time. Will be burning and testings roms tomorrow along with different soft and settings.
bartekmalysz is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TF536-Amiga 2000 REV 6.3,Can't get it to work mark8564 support.Hardware 2 24 July 2020 07:25
WANTED - CDTV Keyboard & some CDTV parts Dougal MarketPlace 0 23 May 2015 01:02
WTB: CDTV laser, or CDTV drive, or CDTV chiark MarketPlace 15 09 February 2010 11:04
WTB: CDTV case / faulty CDTV / dead or alive chiark MarketPlace 7 26 September 2009 00:07
EPIC working on WinUAE-CDTV, but not on a real CDTV mk1 support.Games 8 23 March 2009 20:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:08.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10580 seconds with 14 queries