English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 May 2007, 19:19   #1
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
USB to Parallel Port

Would i be able to use one of these with parnet ?

http://www.ebest24.co.uk/products/co...ter-cable.html

There is a USB to serial 25 pin cable available as well
dambuster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 May 2007, 19:54   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,997
To do what?
alexh is offline  
Old 22 May 2007, 20:04   #3
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
hopefully to connect the pc and amiga using either parnet or sernet, my laptop doesnt have parallel or serial ports
dambuster is offline  
Old 22 May 2007, 20:47   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
isn`t there not a USB network thingy for the amiga? if not surely you can get a usb to ethernet adpater for the amiga ?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 22 May 2007, 20:55   #5
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
I know you can use a USB to serial as I have used that myself with null-modem cable.

Never used parallel, have a so-called parnet or whatever cable but never got round to trying it.

But a network crossover cable or hub or wireless or a pcmcia card(a1200) are so much better. Floppies I also prefer for small or few files.
Calgor is offline  
Old 22 May 2007, 21:09   #6
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
Cheers folks
Ive got a parnet cable already, but havent got a usb adapter, - dont know if i could squeeze it under the bonnet on the A1200, maybe for the A2000 tho'
dambuster is offline  
Old 22 May 2007, 21:16   #7
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by dambuster
Cheers folks
Ive got a parnet cable already, but havent got a usb adapter, - dont know if i could squeeze it under the bonnet on the A1200, maybe for the A2000 tho'
Squeeze it into the A1200/2000??? These have a parallel port outside already unless I am misunderstanding your comment.....

btw, the description of the product you linked to leaves me confused. It says it is a "Parallel Porter" cable for use with serial devices rs232.... ????

Ok, obviously it is time for someone's nap.
Calgor is offline  
Old 23 May 2007, 01:58   #8
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
@ calgor
Zetro referred to a usb adaptor - i assumed the one that connects to the clock port on a A1200
Not sure about the parallel port and serial driver bit, will re-read the advert after a couple of coffes maybe laced with something a bit stronger - I hate it when myt head hurts
dambuster is offline  
Old 23 May 2007, 03:11   #9
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Dambuster

Sorry m8y i was getting confused, i thought you ment USB from the Amiga to Parralell port... wich i admit i was scratching my head over.

Yet for the sum of £50 you can have a clockport USB for your 1200 OR you could spend £35 and get a thyacine USB zorro 2 card (both are usb 2.0 compatible with 1.1 speed lol)

I cannot be 100% certain but it might of been chain that got a usb to eternet dongle and it works very well from his amiga using the Serion USB stack (free usb stack)

You can of course get a usb to serial port for the PC and have a null modem cable between to the two... slow... but effective.... this being said you could buy £5.99 a PCMCIA multi-memory card reader and use that to transfer files between PC and amiga
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 May 2007, 20:18   #10
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
Probably end up going for one of the usb adaptors, and maybe a usb/ethernet, so I can avoid using the PCMCIA slot. Giving me my 8mb fast ram.
Thanks everyone
dambuster is offline  
Old 23 May 2007, 21:03   #11
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 41
Posts: 722
you can just use nofastmem wb tool when using pcmcia port for transfers (as it does not require that much memory)
pbareges is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal parallel port spoUP Hardware mods 13 10 December 2013 06:45
Internet Sharing via the Parallel port burf2000 support.Apps 5 15 August 2012 00:28
In absence of parallel port ? Another World project.SPS (was CAPS) 7 19 September 2008 18:42
What's this? : parallel port thing Galaxy support.Hardware 19 07 September 2006 13:09
Parallel port emulation alexh support.WinUAE 8 20 March 2006 18:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16866 seconds with 12 queries