English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2009, 03:13   #1
xlar54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Columbia, TN
Posts: 24
Haddrive partitions...any hope?

I had set up my harddrive (a 20MB drive) as two partitions (drives)... but now I would like to bring them together as one single drive. Any way I can do this without having to reinstall? I have an A2000 / 030. Thanks
xlar54 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 December 2009, 03:50   #2
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 48
Posts: 3,479
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Sack the HD from the A2000, install it on a PC with a SCSI controller & running winUAE.

Create a backup of the partitions in two virtual ones. Run
HDtoolbox and make the one partition you want. Then "restore" the two partitions into the bigger one.

Put the HD back on the Amiga.
rkauer is offline  
Old 27 December 2009, 16:08   #3
orange
Registered User
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 567
you could do all that in amiga if you got second hdd, by any chance..
otherwise, you could also use network to back it up on other amiga or pc and then restore.

in any case you need good bootable floppy with hdinsttools or similar, filesystems and all..

btw, since its only 20Mb, you could probably .lha it all on 10 diskettes

Last edited by orange; 27 December 2009 at 16:35.
orange is offline  
Old 27 December 2009, 18:24   #4
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Age: 100
Posts: 4,036
Oh, I see. You have 20MB divided into two partitions and running out of space already!! Hehehéhehehe...

Sorry for poking fun, I do recommend a less cramped and more practical solution tho. SCSI-IDE-CF adapters for example, or even a Zip Drive - it's what I used before I decided I needed more space than 100/250MB.

You will thank me if you take the plunge, you will save tons of time, you can backup any unique stuff you have easily, and add all kinds of nice stuff in seconds.

But rkauer's and orange's advice are both sound - with SCSI+Zip Drive (or any HDD-like device) you can simply copy your 20MB, have room to spare, und unplug it to get rid of the noise.
Photon is offline  
Old 31 December 2009, 17:48   #5
xlar54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Columbia, TN
Posts: 24
Maybe I mistyped above - its a 20GB drive. But the system drive apparently just didnt have enough space (the machine isnt on, so i dont know exactly how much is there).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Oh, I see. You have 20MB divided into two partitions and running out of space already!! Hehehéhehehe...

Sorry for poking fun, I do recommend a less cramped and more practical solution tho. SCSI-IDE-CF adapters for example, or even a Zip Drive - it's what I used before I decided I needed more space than 100/250MB.

You will thank me if you take the plunge, you will save tons of time, you can backup any unique stuff you have easily, and add all kinds of nice stuff in seconds.

But rkauer's and orange's advice are both sound - with SCSI+Zip Drive (or any HDD-like device) you can simply copy your 20MB, have room to spare, und unplug it to get rid of the noise.
xlar54 is offline  
Old 31 December 2009, 19:32   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,605
It does not matter how big the drive is. You cannot "connect" two partitions into one. If you change partitions, you have to format the partitions which have been changed. So hopefully you have more than two partitions so that you can use the third one to save a backup of the first two. The procedure is: backup, change partitions, reboot, format, restore.

If you change the boot partition, you need another bootable partition or a floppy disk to boot from. Make sure that this other partition or floppy contains the software needed to restore the backup.
thomas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hope this works..! JonB support.Hardware 6 10 April 2013 21:15
Starting to lose hope :( ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 2 18 November 2012 01:32
Episode IV: A New Hope Doc Mindie support.Hardware 3 12 November 2011 10:17
A4000T PSU - Hope someone can help ag_woodward support.Hardware 4 30 January 2007 14:26
I hope someone can help me Pyromania MarketPlace 7 02 October 2002 05:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11849 seconds with 11 queries