English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2018, 22:11   #241
jbilander
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sokolovic View Post
It would be nice to see a new Amiga case (Amiga 1600 ?) with the Vampire standalone in it, sold all together.

I mean a real new wedge case with the Amiga logo on it, specially designed for the VS.

I would prefer a smaller case (similar to a mac-mini case) for the v4 standalone, something like this Vampire V4 Acrylic Case, but solid colored, and then be able to use a mechanical filco usb keyboard with it.
jbilander is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 08:48   #242
SvladJelly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Portland / USA
Posts: 41
Is it too soon to sob about the many years I've been waiting for my Vampire A1200?
Sniff...
:-(
SvladJelly is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 09:46   #243
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by SvladJelly View Post
Is it too soon to sob about the many years I've been waiting for my Vampire A1200?
Sniff...
:-(
The V1200 will come after the stand-alone board anyway. I'm hoping for a V500 because A500 models are more serviceable than A600 or A1200. Pin through soldering is a piece of cake. Surface mounted devices are considerably more difficult to service.
Samurai_Crow is online now  
Old 13 July 2018, 10:37   #244
jbilander
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
The V1200 will come after the stand-alone board anyway. I'm hoping for a V500 because A500 models are more serviceable than A600 or A1200.

Looks like there will be a V4 for A500

[ Show youtube player ]
jbilander is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 10:39   #245
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Yes, there will be. I just hope I can afford it.
Samurai_Crow is online now  
Old 16 July 2018, 16:46   #246
jbilander
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 12
Good news!

Vampire V4 cards to be shipped to official beta testers...

https://www.generationamiga.com/2018...-beta-testers/
jbilander is offline  
Old 11 August 2018, 12:56   #247
pcotter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 37
more videos from the V4 in action:

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]
pcotter is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 01:54   #248
Hiddenevil
Registered User

Hiddenevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 101
While they are developing these new boards, are they still working on supporting the A600 vampires? A friend of mine owns one and says he's been waiting them to update the core and improve support for various features that were promised ages ago. TBH it put me off buying one :-/
Hiddenevil is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 02:44   #249
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiddenevil View Post
While they are developing these new boards, are they still working on supporting the A600 vampires? A friend of mine owns one and says he's been waiting them to update the core and improve support for various features that were promised ages ago. TBH it put me off buying one :-/
Version 1 is not supported any more. Version 2 gets constant updates but will likely stop at Gold 3.0 .
Samurai_Crow is online now  
Old 13 August 2018, 05:50   #250
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiddenevil View Post
While they are developing these new boards, are they still working on supporting the A600 vampires? A friend of mine owns one and says he's been waiting them to update the core and improve support for various features that were promised ages ago. TBH it put me off buying one :-/
They released Gold 2.10 only a few weeks ago so yes, V2 is clearly still being maintained. They never promised to add any specific feature within a certain time frame which is why they say that you should buy it only for what it can do right now, not for what you expect it can do in the future.
demolition is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 06:42   #251
sean_skroht
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
they say that you should buy it only for what it can do right now, not for what you expect it can do in the future.
Yep and what it can do now is pretty darn sensational. Really looking forward to GOLD 2.11 that will hopefully bring some improvements to WHDLoad compatibility for stodgy old farts like me.
sean_skroht is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 07:46   #252
Nickman1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ă–stersund
Posts: 24
Get the 2.11 beta here if you can flash .jic
http://www.apollo-core.com/releases/
Nickman1200 is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 10:19   #253
sean_skroht
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickman1200 View Post
Get the 2.11 beta here if you can flash .jic
http://www.apollo-core.com/releases/
Cool thanks! I didn't even think to look there since they have never released beta's there before, not until 2.10 at least. Will have to try it out over the next couple of days.
sean_skroht is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 12:35   #254
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
They never promised to add any specific feature
Does it say anywhere that fast IDE is only for V500 variants?
kolla is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 17:24   #255
Hiddenevil
Registered User

Hiddenevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 101
I dont own a vampire card, but my friend has a black edition and I'm sure he said that his A600 doesn't output everything through HDMI. He still has to output some stuff (amiga games) through the composite port. When he said it, I couldn't help think it sounded a little nuts. Has that been solved?
Hiddenevil is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 17:27   #256
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiddenevil View Post
I dont own a vampire card, but my friend has a black edition and I'm sure he said that his A600 doesn't output everything through HDMI. He still has to output some stuff (amiga games) through the composite port. When he said it, I couldn't help think it sounded a little nuts. Has that been solved?
The Amiga chipset is not in the FPGA yet, that will come with Gold core 3.0, thus all Amiga chipset banging games will go through the RGB port on the Amiga until then.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 18:18   #257
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiddenevil View Post
I dont own a vampire card, but my friend has a black edition and I'm sure he said that his A600 doesn't output everything through HDMI. He still has to output some stuff (amiga games) through the composite port. When he said it, I couldn't help think it sounded a little nuts. Has that been solved?
I'm sure that when he bought it, they did not promise that it could output ECS/AGA modes through the HDMI port. It was probably an incorrect assumption on his part. It works like any Amiga RTG card and can be used to get high resolutions and 16/24 bit colors in Workbench.
demolition is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 17:33   #258
Hiddenevil
Registered User

Hiddenevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 101
I have to admit when he said it couldn't do it, I was a little surprised and disappointed. The A600 has a vampire, now so does the A500, soon there will be a stand alone unit and if we are lucky one for the A1200. With all these cards coming out, you'd have thought they might have got functionality all sorted out by now. Especially with how much they cost. I dont know how I'd feel about buying a Vampire for my A1200 and it only half working :-/
Hiddenevil is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 17:39   #259
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 411
By the time the A1200 version is available you'll have full functionality.

It's not far off now tbh, it was always known it was going to be a gradual process with card sales funding further development.

Don't forget that any existing card can have all the new features as and when the cores are updated.
Mr.Flibble is online now  
Old 22 August 2018, 18:36   #260
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiddenevil View Post
With all these cards coming out, you'd have thought they might have got functionality all sorted out by now. Especially with how much they cost.
For an accelerator which is faster than the fastest 060 with 128MB RAM, a fast IDE controller and RTG with digital output, I think the price is a bargain. Getting PAL+NTSC through the digital video output as well is just a really nice bonus since they don't charge anything for firmware updates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Flibble View Post
It's not far off now tbh, it was always known it was going to be a gradual process with card sales funding further development.
Don't forget that any existing card can have all the new features as and when the cores are updated.
Yes, it is a small team so things take time. But don't expect all new features to become available on the V2 Vampires. The FPGA on that one is pretty much stuffed as far as I can understand, so they probably won't be able to fit all those new features into the same core. Maybe they will release several versions so you can choose whether you want the chipset (for PAL HDMI out) or the FPU. The V4 has a much larger FPGA so it should be able to fit everything. I would expect that once the V4 is launched, we will probably start to only see minor updates for the V2 as it doesn't have room for anything but smaller things.
demolition is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Apollo team, a Mini PCIE slot is a MUST have for future Vampire Juz400 Amiga scene 42 20 March 2017 22:45
Interview with Gunnar from Vampire team - news! rats Amiga scene 9 31 August 2016 19:21
Join the Vampire / Aros 68k - Team OlafSch Amiga scene 53 06 March 2016 20:22
Apollo Team has new Cyclone 5 FPGA accellerator cards OlafSch Amiga scene 245 23 August 2015 19:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10119 seconds with 16 queries