English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 March 2017, 19:33   #1
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 449
Script to update tool types of slaves for quit key?

I know I can set the whdload.prefs for global quit key, but the quitkey defined in the tool types of individual slaves override that.

If I'm not completely dreaming I swear I have seen a script that "patches" the tool types for a certain quitkey. But I cannot find it

Have I been too much on the beer side of things or what?
emuola is offline  
Old 14 March 2017, 23:27   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,097
Usualy there is no quitkey defined as tooltype. So the global quitkey is used. Do you really have quitkey set on all your installs?
daxb is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 00:04   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I think installs come with a quit key of their own programmed in there, or the icon you get with your install that you downloaded from somewhere MIGHT have a quitkey specified, but if you set a global quit key on whdload.prefs, it will override anything the slave says to use.

So you just have to edit your whdload.prefs file and choose the one you want to use.
Akira is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 00:27   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
You can set a global quit key in the whdload.prefs file for all games. But every individually set quitkey key in the game icons/shell command will overwrite the global key. But daxb is right. There are no local quitkeys set by default (WHDLoad installer/preinstalled packs) in the game icons. Thus there is no such script i'm afraid.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 15 March 2017 at 00:38.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 02:51   #5
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 855
I could do a script to list icons of slaves where tooltype for quitkey is set.
Then you could go in and remove or amend the tooltype using iconedit or whatever.

Alternatively there might be a general perpose tool on aminet for batch amending tooltypes.
rare_j is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 10:27   #6
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,665
It should be extremely simple to do, but not worthwhile until the original poster confirms that he's actually tried to set the default quitkey.
idrougge is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 16:16   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
But every individually set quitkey key in the game icons/shell command will overwrite the global key.
Are you sure? Because I think it's the other way around.
Before I set a global quitkey, every game had its own quit key, and now they all take the global one.
(Also what would the point be of a global quitkey if a local one overrides it? That's not global)
Akira is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 16:37   #8
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,097
The local quitkey has the higher priority then the global one. Check the docs or just test it.
daxb is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 17:14   #9
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,097
Sorry, the WHDLoad doc isn`t clear about prefs/tooltype priority. In "S:whdload.prefs" it is noticed: "CLI-Arguments and ToolTypes will overwrite these !" but not in the doc itself. Maybe it is good to copy the sentence from whdload.prefs to the docs to avoid misunderstandings.
daxb is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 17:35   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Well thanks for clarifying that up, I thought it was the other way around. Seems a little bit silly to me to override a global with a local.
Akira is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 17:39   #11
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,665
No, that makes total sense. Let's say you've defined HELP as your global quitkey. You install Lost Vikings, which uses HELP to cycle between the vikings. So you set quitkey to F10 for that particular slave.
idrougge is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 17:48   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Yeah that does make sense. I just hate being unable to exit in some games because I don't know where the hell the exit key is at
I wish you could use an NMI interrupt for that, for those of us that have the chance to have such a button (like on the ACA620)!
Akira is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 17:55   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
Well, the blue splash always shows the quitkey. No matter if a coded, global or local one.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 18:08   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I either have it to show for a really short time or not at all, so most times I don't see what the quitkey is.
Akira is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 18:25   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
Quote:
SplashDelay/K/N

This option specifies the time in 1/50ths seconds that WHDLoad shows the information window at startup. If SplashDelay/K/N is lower than ReadDelay/K/N it is ignored and the window is displayed using the time from ReadDelay/K/N. The window is displayed at least as long as Preload/S is processing.
If the option is set to 0 no window will be displayed at all. If the option is set to -1 a Start button is added to the window and it remains open until this button has been pressed. The splash window can also be closed by pressing Space, Return or Enter. If Esc is pressed WHDLoad will stop Preload/S and immediately quit. See also ConfigDelay/K/N.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 18:43   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
You don't understand, I do that on purpose, I have NO INTEREST on the splash page.
So my global config either skips it or puts a really low (5 or 10 value) SplashDelay.

Do I shoot myself on the foot when i don't know what key to use when I want to quit? Yes. But I hate nag screens even more, and that's why I paid for WHDLoad :P
Akira is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 18:48   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
Nah, the nag screen for an unregistered WHDLoad is 10-20 seconds. A splash screen delay for 2-3 seconds doesn't hurt plus you know what slave version you actually load. And the most important pro for a splash screen: You can enable/disable tooltypes on the fly via mouse. (I hate to edit the game icons)
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 19:26   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I hate that when there are tooltype checkboxes, the splash screen shows longer than expected.
Nag boxes are just freakishly annoying. Glad you can enjoy them. I don't.
And now that WHDLoad is free anyone can disable the splash anyway.
ANyway, went way off-topic here. Sorry.
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tool Types disappearing XimeR project.WHDLoad 6 29 July 2014 16:45
How to change default tool for file types AndyFC project.ClassicWB 2 13 February 2013 11:18
Changing .info to different types (Project, Tool, Disk etc) Bloodwych support.Apps 1 12 January 2012 21:05
Questron 2 Save state and custon tool types Emu Amiga support.WinUAE 22 12 January 2012 15:57
Mass Changing Of Icon Tool Types CodyJarrett support.Apps 2 05 March 2002 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08783 seconds with 15 queries