English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 18 December 2008, 09:07   #1
Kilack

expansion for A1200

Hi,

I am very new to the Amiga! so forgive me I am sure this is a commonly asked question. I have looked through the forums a lot and found a wealth of information but as is always the case with forums of this size it can be hard to track down the info you need sometimes when you have specific questions.

Basically I bought a stock A1200, I have bought a 4gig CF and IDE->CF adaptor and have installed WB etc to it using WinUAE!. That was a learning experience! . I used to own an Atari ST, they were a lot easier but that was due to them being not as powerful... hence why I have joined the Amiga camp!

Anyway, basically I want to load up the CF with games and use whdload.
I have gathered from the forums that the stock 2 megs just doesn't cut it for a lot of games when run under whdload so have been hunting around for expansions.

I am looking at possible options and see cards out there that offer 8 megs of memory only plus a clock... and others that offer a cpu upgrade like a 30 plus memory.

Here is where my lack of knowledge kicks in.. If I were to take the upgrade with the cpu upgrade that obviously runs faster and also runs at a faster cycle, some at 40mhz and some at 50mhz etc if this going to pose problems with whdload and affect how fast games run? (i remember dos games went crazy on fast computers, hence those turbo buttons on early pc's).

I am worried about compatibility.. I just want to run all the games...
Is it worth getting one with a cpu upgrade? will it benefit me? or just cause problems? (can the cpu upgrade be turned off by whdload?)

Anyway thanks for any help.
I wish I had bought an amiga all those years ago instead of a st!!

cheers

Last edited by Kilack; 18 December 2008 at 09:27. Reason: fixing some typos

Old 18 December 2008, 09:21   #2
Graham Humphrey

Hello Kilack and welcome to EAB.