English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2018, 20:10   #221
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,939
With Windows desktop set to portrait orientation, start emulation in full-screen D3D9 mode. Press F12 to open the settings window. The Amiga display behind is messed up: rotated 90 degrees anti-clockwise and squashed horizontally (= vertically if monitor isn't physically in portrait orientation). Doesn't happen with 3.6.1.
mark_k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 April 2018, 20:22   #222
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
It does actually seem to work as long as DWM is disabled (so realistically, only on Windows XP/Vista/7). Probably works best when the window occupies most of the screen height.
Why would anyone need lagless vsync in windowed mode? I don't like special cases ("you need to have this windows version and do this and that to support feature x")

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
With Windows desktop set to portrait orientation, start emulation in full-screen D3D9 mode. Press F12 to open the settings window. The Amiga display behind is messed up: rotated 90 degrees anti-clockwise and squashed horizontally (= vertically if monitor isn't physically in portrait orientation). Doesn't happen with 3.6.1.
Did you use exact same resolution and other settings? AFAIK thats how it works (driver needs to change some internal bitmap format to make it GDI compatible, causing fullscreen graphics to become temporarily corrupted. D3D fullscreen and GDI never mixed well). When I had multimonitor portrait config, it always did that.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 April 2018, 20:58   #223
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,939
This config should show the problem:
Code:
http://www.media!fire.com/file/eudds5tzd1j2liu/A500_1.2_test_D3D9_FS.uae.zip
Fine with 3.6.1, problem with 4.0.0b5.

Something which may be related: line mode is "double, fields+", no vsync. With emulation running, on WinUAE 3.6.1 the display "shimmers" due to the different refresh rates of emulated PAL Amiga vs 60Hz PC. That's normal, to be expected. However with 4.0.0b5, the shimmering is different in vertical regions across the screen.
mark_k is offline  
Old 22 April 2018, 21:08   #224
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,504
Problem is that there is no functional D3D9 changes so you need to have more proof and guarantee it isn't something weird going on your system. And which beta was first?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 April 2018, 21:33   #225
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,939
I think that was a false alarm and the issue isn't beta-specific. The problem seems to happen (on Windows 10 1709) when "Disable full-screen optimisations" is checked in the program/shortcut properties. When not checked (which is the default), the Amiga display looks correct on pressing F12. Strange that the issue only happened in portrait orientation though.
mark_k is offline  
Old 22 April 2018, 21:52   #226
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 384
@mark_k

Just curious, are you doing your tests with "disable fullscreen optimizations" set for the winuae.exe or not?

Apparently since the Fall Creators update fullscreen optimizations are forced on for all applications by default. When I did some testing very recently with winuae in d3d9 mode and fullscreen without vsync on a 60hz display I noticed there's no longer tearing. Apparently some sort of vsync is forced.

Ticking the "disable fullscreen optimizations" on the compatability tab for the WinUAE exe solved it (non-vsync mode in d3d9 showed tearing again).

Google search show a lot of hits for this feature. Apparently it has a benefit that the compositor is skipped in certain cases. But evidently it also forces vsync in situations where it shouldn't.

Fullscreen optimizations might be hurting your game performance in Windows 10

Why you should disable Fullscreen Optimizations on Windows 10


Here's a way apparently to disable it system wide instead of going through every exe (haven't tried it myself yet):

Disable Fullscreen Optimizations in Windows 10

@Toni

I'm not sure how (or whether) this may be affecting lagless vsync for certain users, but it seems the feature is aggressive enough that it may interfere in some way / situations at least.

Probably best thing to do for now is to make sure this "fullscreen optimizations" feature is disabled for the winuae.exe when doing lagless vsync testing in Windows 10. Just to be on the safe side...
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 22 April 2018, 22:20   #227
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,504
Use D3D11, it should not affect DXGI fullscreen.

I haven't disabled it and both D3D9 and D3D11 works just fine. (It is also possible next soon officially released Windows 10 update improved it)

Note that as usual, I don't support any Windows hacks. Don't do it just because some web site says so.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 04:47   #228
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
I checked the latest beta and lagless vsync looks to be working very nice under d3d11.. no more tearing & lower cpu usage

One new problem introduced. I use startup/cleanup args to change cpu settings on the fly when launching & exiting whd games. WinUAE will now crash & exit whenever I quit a game and attempt to switch from CE mode back to JIT & fastest possible.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (16.9 KB, 12 views)
ED-209 is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 11:22   #229
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
I checked the latest beta and lagless vsync looks to be working very nice under d3d11.. no more tearing & lower cpu usage

One new problem introduced. I use startup/cleanup args to change cpu settings on the fly when launching & exiting whd games. WinUAE will now crash & exit whenever I quit a game and attempt to switch from CE mode back to JIT & fastest possible.
Attach your config + whdload.prefs
Does same happen in windowed mode? (without vsync)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 13:51   #230
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Use D3D11, it should not affect DXGI fullscreen.
Yes, preferably I would use D3D11 solely. There's an exception though for me to use D3D9 when using the CRT shader by guest.r (this one) on my Atom portable, as the shader

- looks better in d3d9 when used with the modified winuae.fx (mask applied in gamma space, see here). The modified winuae.fx doesn't seem to have an effect with d3d11.
- and more importantly the crt-guest-low-res.fx shader is much slower when used in d3d11 mode on the Atom compared to d3d9 mode, to the point where audio will start to crackle periodically in d3d11 mode, where in d3d9 mode it runs flawless. And I need to use this CRT shader when I'm away from my real CRT

Quote:
Note that as usual, I don't support any Windows hacks. Don't do it just because some web site says so.
Preferably I would leave it on as you say. I do think MS goes one step to far by forcing some weird non-tearing / "vsynced" - latency inducing - swapping behaviour when using winuae d3d9 mode with vsync off.

I think my main gripe as a "power user" is that this is all done silently in the background and leave us guessing and spending hours to find out why an application is showing unexpected behaviour.
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 15:03   #231
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Attach your config + whdload.prefs
Does same happen in windowed mode? (without vsync)
Nope, windowed & no vsync works fine.
whdload.prefs is default, tooltypes used are;
executestartup=uae-configuration cpu_speed real cachesize 0 cycle_exact true
executecleanup=uae-configuration cpu_speed max cacheszie 8192 cycle_exact false
Attached Files
File Type: uae A1200HD - RTG & JIT.uae (13.9 KB, 16 views)
ED-209 is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 16:30   #232
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,504
Don't enable RTG lagless vsync, it isn't implemented yet.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 17:03   #233
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
Ok I tried with RTG completely disabled and still the same problem.
(I havn't been launching games via RTG screen anyway, it is early startup menu launcher via native output).
ED-209 is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 20:23   #234
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
Ok I tried with RTG completely disabled and still the same problem.
(I havn't been launching games via RTG screen anyway, it is early startup menu launcher via native output).
Fixed. Lagless vsync timing method now changes depending on CPU mode (approx/ce or fastest possible) and it had missing check..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 10:52   #235
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 38
Posts: 1,124
Excellent, thanks Toni
ED-209 is offline  
Old 27 April 2018, 20:11   #236
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- Directory harddrives now use uaehf.device as a fake device driver (instead of non-existing uae.device)

The capacity returned by READ CAPACITY is doubled. For example a 32 GB harddrive appears as 64 GB.

TD_GETGEOMETRY does not fill the dg_TotalSectors and dg_Cylinders fields.

CMD_READ and SCSI READ(10) commands seem to always succeed although they cannot return any meaningful values. READ(10) even succeeds if the requested block is far beyond the disk size, for example it can read block 4294967295.

The sector size in the DosList entry does not match that returned by READ CAPACITY and TD_GETGEOMETRY. It's always 512.
thomas is offline  
Old 27 April 2018, 20:44   #237
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,504
Do you have test program? (This is how it works, final fixes only when good test case is available )
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 April 2018, 23:06   #238
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do you have test program? (This is how it works, final fixes only when good test case is available )
http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.../hddreport.lha

It probably gives too much information for your needs, but that's how I found out about it. I can make a smaller program tomorrow.
thomas is offline  
Old 28 April 2018, 09:00   #239
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,504
Should be fixed now. (I didn't get wrong capacity but wrong blocksize probably could have caused it depending on size of drive)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 April 2018, 14:10   #240
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Should be fixed now.
Confirmed.

Last edited by thomas; 28 April 2018 at 14:16. Reason: False alarm: network shares were not mounted
thomas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 3.2.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 20 December 2015 17:35
WinUAE 3.1.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 305 06 June 2015 23:25
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 2.0.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 445 13 December 2009 14:46
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10513 seconds with 16 queries