English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 March 2008, 04:13   #1
Foster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando, FL / USA
Posts: 10
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram

At the risk of sounding like a blithering idiot I have a question about A1200 expansion (I've never owned one, just a 500). I recently ordered an A1200 from Amigakit with the 4mb internal expansion ram. I have since won a Cobra 68030 with 4mb onboard ram from Ebay. Do both of these use the same expansion slot? If not, would there be any reason to have both? I'm planning on adding a 32mb or 64 mb simm to the Cobra. I'm guessing this is a silly question but I'm hoping for a quick reply to I can contact Amigakit to have them leave out the 4mb internal if needed.

Thanks for your help and for all the great advice/info you've posted to these boards. It's great to see that Amigas are very much alive and well!

... Foster
Foster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 March 2008, 07:25   #2
whitegiant89
Lone CBM user

whitegiant89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atherton / Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 138
Send a message via MSN to whitegiant89
short answer is yes they both use the same expansion slot in the 1200, so you are better off using the cobra board.
whitegiant89 is offline  
Old 24 March 2008, 13:54   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Foster

The Cobra is indeed a much faster card, with the internal 030 and upto 128MB of ram can be put on the card.

it also has the optional SCSI card (The Ferret) this indeed will speed up the Amiga's disk nearly three times faster access!! (on a SCSI disk of course) but this also opens up a lot of other possiblites such as External SCSI disks, Optical Drives, Scanners, some Printers, SCSI Networking,

the only issue to note is that the Cobra DKB dose need a Firm Ware Update to run under 3.1 KS/OS. it will work under this without the ram but not with.

I think there might be more info about that here.

Anyway congratulations in getting this fine card for your A1200


BTW, welcome to the EAB

A place of much mischief and mayhem, and the odd naked Toga
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 March 2008, 14:43   #4
Foster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando, FL / USA
Posts: 10
Thanks for the help fellas. I knew I would get steered straight here. I discovered these boards a few weeks ago and have enjoyed them very much. ...my kind of people.

Zetro... you really do live on these boards You've shared much wisdom here over the years. I've been following the progress of your SVideo adapters with much enthusiasm!
Foster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Any faulty/damaged A1200 RAM/Accelerator Wasagi MarketPlace 0 20 November 2010 19:11
Looking for an inexpensive A1200 Accelerator or ram board thgill MarketPlace 3 04 December 2008 07:49
Wanted: A1200 trapdoor accelerator/ram expansion Hideki MarketPlace 2 01 January 2007 18:32
Wanted: A1200 RAM Expansion/Accelerator chaoticjelly MarketPlace 0 17 December 2006 11:21
Amiga A1200 68030 Accelerator with 32meg ram for sale.. Big-Byte MarketPlace 1 12 February 2006 19:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06335 seconds with 13 queries