English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 July 2018, 00:08   #1
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,927
CD32 NV-RAM Save Blocks Project

I want to get a complete listing of all CD32 games if they have a NV-RAM save compatibility, and how many blocks these saves take on each game.

As you can see i have gone through half the games, but 85 to go is a tall order, esp as some games require completing a whole level to be allowed to save, can be time consuming.

So if you any of you guys want to help me complete this list, i only need the games that have a red block in the 'CD32 Save' column, many games probably don't have a save function either, but i want it confirmed by play-testing as some games still save high scores etc

Any results please put the game, if yes or no and if yes how many blocks and any special requirements to get to the save etc in this thread.

Thanks in advance! You can find the spreadsheet here;


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...ZaQ/edit#gid=0
Amigajay is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 16:14   #2
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 216
I'll have a look at a few later tonight and post some results.
Glen M is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 12:59   #3
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 45
Fightin Spirit can save the game config to NVRAM for which it uses 29 blocks. You have 'no' in the spreadsheet.
wairnair is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 13:01   #4
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 45
Zool 2 saves high scores, 12 blocks.
wairnair is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 13:30   #5
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
Fightin Spirit can save the game config to NVRAM for which it uses 29 blocks. You have 'no' in the spreadsheet.
Thanks, does it give an option to save in-game or does it do it automatically?, i didn’t notice after a quick playtest.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
Zool 2 saves high scores, 12 blocks.
Thanks, i will update the spreadsheet with these.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 21:52   #6
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Thanks, does it give an option to save in-game or does it do it automatically?, i didn’t notice after a quick playtest.
Err, I think the stock cd32 game can't save anything, I've just tried and it doesn't. I do have a "Game configuration" file under a folder "FightinSpirit" in my nonvolatile folder that I setup on my CF so that's where the info is from. It must've been whdload I guess. So sorry, the answer is 'no'.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Thanks, i will update the spreadsheet with these.
Now after all this I double checked the stock Zool 2 cd32 game and it saves as I previously wrote so this one's OK.
wairnair is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 09:52   #7
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
Err, I think the stock cd32 game can't save anything, I've just tried and it doesn't. I do have a "Game configuration" file under a folder "FightinSpirit" in my nonvolatile folder that I setup on my CF so that's where the info is from. It must've been whdload I guess. So sorry, the answer is 'no'.

No, I actually think you were right first time. I've just checked my real CD32 and it saves the config file into the NV-RAM, 29 blocks as you say. I think it does this automatically when you change the game options as there's no specific option for loading and saving.



I've also been playing Donk: The Samurai Duck, and that uses 8 blocks per save slot. The game lets you use up to three save 'slots' and the load/save screen is accessed manually on the map screen.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 15:18   #8
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 216
Just a little point to add which I thought interesting. I was palying some fightin spirit from disc last night but my CD32 doesn't really like the burned disc so I got fed up with loading times and booted it from WHDLoad instead. Much to my surprise though the game running from WHDLoad must have read the saved data from the NV-RAM as all the same options were already in place.
Glen M is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What use are reserved blocks? Heiroglyph Coders. General 6 21 October 2016 17:04
Blizzard 1220 RAM project coze support.Hardware 8 28 March 2010 12:17
wtf? The ram disk icon does not save its position... keropi support.Apps 3 29 November 2005 19:10
cd32 new project ? Dexther support.Games 0 19 September 2005 14:07
Problem with disk blocks already in use Giana support.Hardware 34 14 August 2002 20:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11612 seconds with 13 queries