English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 June 2003, 22:07   #1
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 50
Posts: 160
CD32 power supply

Hi peeps. I've just picked up a second hand CD32 but alas it has no power supply. Does it have to be a CD32 specific one or are there any others that could be used. Or even is it possible to convert another power supply from a PeeCee. Failing that where sells CD32 power supplies.

Toodle-pip

Please do not use signatures in your messages. Configure UserCP insead. -Admin
yadster is offline  
Old 05 June 2003, 02:08   #2
Adeptus
epun umop ap!sdn
Adeptus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 285
There are instructions on Aminet for hoooking up a PC power supply to the CD32 (useful if you have SX-1 or SX-32, with a bunch of HDDs etc).
CD32 uses 5v & 12v, so you just make an adaptor from a HDD power connector, to the CD32 power connector.
Finding the CD32-style plug may be a challenge though.
Adeptus is offline  
Old 05 June 2003, 02:57   #3
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 49
Posts: 835
The psu from a A-590 harddisk fits exactly, but this one might be even more difficult to find.
Overdoc is offline  
Old 05 June 2003, 10:55   #4
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 50
Posts: 160
Cheers, thanks for the help guys.

Please do not use signatures in your messages. Configure UserCP insead. -Admin
yadster is offline  
Old 05 June 2003, 12:05   #5
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 37
Posts: 2,480
I have used a 1200 psu for my CD32, I found documents about modding it on Aminet ...
kriz is offline  
Old 10 June 2003, 21:39   #6
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,493
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Any psu will work as long as you have the right plug or lead to fit the cd32!
I converted an a500 psu to work on a cd32 many years ago... i took the lead off the dead cd32 psu and wired it in...
ElectroBlaster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted CD32 Power Supply prabmire MarketPlace 5 01 October 2011 16:37
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 16:10
CD32 Power supply Xytec Hardware pics 2 08 May 2009 22:05
CD32 Power Supply Query ben111g Retrogaming General Discussion 4 07 April 2006 12:48
Wanted Amiga Cd32 Power Supply charles_bronson MarketPlace 1 15 October 2005 02:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07499 seconds with 13 queries