English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2019, 23:41   #1
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,926
CD32Launch

New project in the works: CD32launch

You already know CD32load, which reuses whdload slaves but reads CD using a hardware routine to avoid swaps and allow to run most games with 2MB stock CD32 & remap keys to joypad buttons

Some games can't fit in CD32Load on a stock CD32 for various reasons, even if a slave exists:

- game has too many small files and it loads forever (Test Drive II, Panza Kick Boxing)
- game is AGA & DOS based: CD32load doesn't support kickstart 3.1, just because it's useless: it takes 512K of memory, then you cannot run AGA games (ex: Watchtower, Mutant League Hockey AGA)

A lot of games still use the system to load, so work on a CD32, but:

- there's sometimes physical protection so you need a crack
- most of them need the keyboard (passwords, pause, esc...)

My project (in construction) will be able to load an executable, perform the necessary assigns (if needed) and (in generic mode) use VBR to add a level 3 interrupt which reads joypads (like CD32load) and send key events.

For patches, specific slave would be required, with reuse of bits of the whdload slave (patchlist) to patch the executable. Fortunately, I have a lot of kickstart emulation slaves source code, or have written those myself.

The program will be useable on a stock A1200 to be able to benefit from the joypad remap feature too.

Just to keep you informed about that. I generally don't talk about my projects before I release some version, but not here
jotd is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 03:02   #2
aCCoLa
Registered User

aCCoLa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Arbroath, Scotland
Age: 46
Posts: 53
Cracking! I await with interest. Keep up the good work
aCCoLa is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 03:25   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,475
Great! A joypad remap feature was always on my "killer feature" list for a A1200 game launcher. Can't wait to test some of your new patches (and CD32Launch) then.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 February 2019 at 03:33.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 04:21   #4
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 404
This sounds promising, I look forward to further news on this project.
TroyWilkins is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 10:31   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,926
Retronerd in fact it already exists and is available if you have a 1200+fastmem. It's called JST, and has the same joypad redirection features as CD32load, for all whdload compatible games.

CD32Launch is designed to run AGA games with fixes/patches/joypad on the unexpanded A1200/CD32
jotd is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 15:10   #6
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 63
Very cool, looking forward to it
wairnair is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 15:34   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Retronerd in fact it already exists and is available if you have a 1200+fastmem. It's called JST, and has the same joypad redirection features as CD32load, for all whdload compatible games.

CD32Launch is designed to run AGA games with fixes/patches/joypad on the unexpanded A1200/CD32

Ah, you mean your newer JST version? Never tried it. Maybe it's time.

Got it working on my A1200. But i can't get the Joypad remapping to work.

As an example: Gods uses the SPACE key for pause: JST Gods.slave JOY1GREEN=0x40 doesn't work at all for Green = pause. Tried it with the Honey Bee CD32 controller.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 February 2019 at 16:49.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 16:55   #8
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,926
aaah but unlike CD32Load, you have to enable JOYPAD tooltype (pads 1 & 2) for it to work

JST Gods.slave JOYPAD=3 JOY1GREEN=0x40

I could change this so JOYx tooltypes enable JOYPAD by default, true. Note that adding DEBUG tooltype adds color flashes that happen when you press the buttons.
jotd is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 17:14   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,475
Ah nice, now it works. First i tried it via game icon but this doesn't work. Start via shell is fine with the button mapping.

One last question in this thread: It probably only works with official used game keys. What about remapping JoyUP to a button (jump button)? Would this be possible too somehow?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 18:03   #10
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UmeƄ
Age: 38
Posts: 531
Awesome!
patrik is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 19:16   #11
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,926
Quote:
Ah nice, now it works. First i tried it via game icon but this doesn't work. Start via shell is fine with the button mapping.
JST has WB support but it's reported as broken on kickstart 1.3. I can at least add the JOYPAD tooltype that I hadn't added CD32load doesn't have a WB mode, and I ported back the arg parsing from it.

Quote:
One last question in this thread: It probably only works with official used game keys. What about remapping JoyUP to a button (jump button)? Would this be possible too somehow?
This question could concern any program which remaps inputs.

Unfortunately, (and it's the same for fire button, well depends on the CIA version actually!!) it's not possible to modify $DFF00A & $DFF00C (joy input).

It works as-is for keys because Toni found a way to generate something very similar to a keyboard interrupt. But generating joystick events isn't possible. Each game must be patched specifically (Superfrog )
jotd is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 19:19   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,475
Ah, thought you would say that. Anyway, nice tool.


Quote:
JST has WB support but it's reported as broken on kickstart 1.3.

In WB 3.0/3.1 (i use ClassicWB LITE) obivously too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 19:21   #13
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,926
To remap a button to up, post your requests on mantis or in the relevant whdload controller fix thread as you did previously.

(when I mean that WB support is broken for 1.3 I mean that it crashes, not that it is incomplete)
jotd is offline  
Old 17 February 2019, 19:22   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,475
Ok, will think of a few additional games then.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 01:07   #15
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 537
I question on JOYPAD-keyboard remapping in JST. If I use joypad I can use joy1red and joy1blue buttons well, but when I use standard 2-button gamepad, only I can use joy1red, but when I used joy1blue it always quits the game to WB instead. Could it be made to work for 2-buttons gamepads aswell?
amigoun is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 09:03   #16
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,926
That's a joypad vs standard joystick detection issue that I thought having solved, but, well, it doesn't seem so (I also had the issue myself with my 2 button joystick on a real amiga, but only once, works perfect on WinUAE...). If joystick is wrongly detected, pressing blue button has the same effect as pressing ALL the buttons (which explains pause, quit...)

Duly noted (adding an option to force 2nd button joy would work too, though, and performing a detection with lowlevel.library at startup is also an option to make sure that it's properly detected). I wonder if you have tried recent whdload joypad adaptations. The code is the same.

I'd be interested in the result of this program with your joystick: http://aminet.net/package/driver/input/JoyPortTest

(see if it's properly recognized even with "no lowlevel" mode)
jotd is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 15:49   #17
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 537
An option to force 2 button joystick would be great indeed.
JoyPortTest is detecting the joypad correctly (even with no lowlevel).
By recent whdload joypad adaptations you mean KTRL CD32 joypad?
amigoun is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 15:51   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,475
I guess Jotd means his recent WHDLoad patches with joypad support.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 16:39   #19
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 537
Ok I will try. Which one you recommend?
amigoun is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 16:53   #20
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,475
Bubble and Squeak should work as good test for 2-button only pads/sticks. Current version is v2.2.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08509 seconds with 14 queries