English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 16 July 2013, 20:30   #1
Viserion

Soldering tips

As I have very little soldering experience, I thought to improve my skills before trying on my trusted A500, that I bought back in the day.

I have an AB IP9000HD that don't work any more, and after opening it I could see that some of the capacitors looked very dodgy.

So this would be the perfect way to recap this motherboard to gain some skills, as I don't care if this works or not as I consider it a write off anyway.

I got what I needed of parts, and started to remove the original caps by heating up the solder to remove it(the bottom side of the MB).

This is where I hit the first wall

No matter how high I sat the temperature it didn't melt.

The iron I use is a Weller WECP-20(heat regulated), and while it's old, I have had no problem melting solder on other projects I've had, so I don't think that is the problem.

I then tried to remove them from the top, and after using an air gun and moved the caps front to back, left to right a lot, I got one off.

This is when I got my second suprise

The minus side of the caps is round and has a goldish colour, and the plus side is square.

The distance between them is so small that it's impossible, or perhaps very difficult of for one who is more skilled than me, to use ceramic capacitors, as the capacitors covers more or less the whole distance on the outer side of both plus and minus.

I have tried electrolyte capacitors as well, and sort of get them on the MB, but I need to cut the connectors as I can't get them trough the MB, and they do not sit well.

I did clean the connectors before I tried to solder on them.

Any ideas of what is going on, or should I just bin hte MB, and try to find something else.
Old 16 July 2013, 21:16   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

Thread moved to the support.Hardware forum.
Old 16 July 2013, 21:41   #3
bubbob42