English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinFellow

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 January 2008, 20:38   #41
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 43
Posts: 408
Yes you are right.
NLS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 January 2008, 21:44   #42
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
BTW, no problem with WinFellow (using ADF) on Vista here. (I use WinUAE normally but just wanted to test..)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winfellow.png
Views:	391
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	15778  
adolescent is offline  
Old 25 January 2008, 23:30   #43
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 43
Posts: 408
1) Vista as an OS is fine, I find my self liking XP less and less - will be real 1.0 when SP1 comes out, but who cares.

2) I still don't get the point of running winfellow (i.e. a piece of software that looks forgotten even by its author) or a machine that runs Vista (i.e. probably can easily run WinUAE).

Only the second is a question, I don't really care of your opinion on #1 (like probably nobody cares for mine).
NLS is offline  
Old 26 January 2008, 19:34   #44
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
rodi, like adolescent I have also tried WinFellow under Vista and it worked without issue so I suspect the problem is not with the OS itself. Are you absolutely sure the ADFs you are trying to load work properly? Is there anything in fellow.log that could indicate why it is failing?

I ask these things because it is highly suspicious that the emulator runs correctly up to the point of executing the kick rom and then fails to load a disk image.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 27 January 2008, 02:31   #45
Mangar
Got the fever back
Mangar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto / Canada
Age: 45
Posts: 288
Honestly, if you have a computer that can run Vista, you should be running winuae. At this point in time Winfellow has no advantage over winuae other than it runs better on a 7 year old PC. Maybe.
Mangar is offline  
Old 27 January 2008, 10:26   #46
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 43
Posts: 408
I don't get it really (and the guy never bothered to reply too).
NLS is offline  
Old 29 January 2008, 22:01   #47
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
The "guy" could try running WinFellow in compatibility mode. It exists in XP and Vista and pre-SP4 Windows 2000. (yes you got it right, the ugly trick to enable compatibility mode in Win2k does NOT work the known way once SP4 is deployed. It just does nothing.)
andreas is offline  
Old 14 February 2008, 14:29   #48
wobbly
Registered User
wobbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 103
EmuChicken wrote Why should everyone update their software because Microsoft made a new OS- they've got the whole computer world in their mitts!

don't you remember the good old days on amiga going from ecs to aga
its called progress we need to move ford and stop all this backwards compatibility crap if your trying to run software that's over 10 years old i think it's time to update lol
move ford and people will find a way to run it

Last edited by wobbly; 20 February 2008 at 01:08.
wobbly is offline  
Old 18 February 2008, 23:39   #49
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
It took a whole year to figure out that WinFellow works (I didn't even bother to try it) and after many posts that you should use WinUAE (in WinFellow sub-forum) and Vista discussion (it is hungry OS, regardless what some people tell you - just let them check their page file, memory used etc..)

// goes to find install for WinFellow, now I'm interested if it will work.
Anubis is offline  
Old 19 February 2008, 00:13   #50
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 43
Posts: 408
interested or curious?
NLS is offline  
Old 19 February 2008, 06:34   #51
carfesh
Moderator

carfesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 49
Send a message via Skype™ to carfesh
Hi,

WinFellow works on Windows Vista, as long as you make sure that you have "modify" permissions to the directory it is installed in. Applications aren't supposed to write to the program directory, which is something that may be fixed in a later release.

I was able to run the existing snapshots on Vista quite fine.

Last edited by carfesh; 19 February 2008 at 06:41.
carfesh is offline  
Old 08 December 2008, 13:36   #52
woody.cool
Registered User
woody.cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northampton, England
Age: 35
Posts: 118
I've tried WinFellow on Vista Ultimate SP1 (32-bit) and had not problems at all running it, as long as I don't tick the 'Interlace Compensation' option, otherwise it crashes WinFellow.
woody.cool is offline  
Old 15 December 2008, 01:20   #53
rodi
Zone Friend
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 95
Now, i have created a dual boot Windows XP - Windows Vista on my PC

I use always Windows XP and of course the emulators of Amiga on it, and I use Vista rarely

Windows XP SP3 is the better system for a PC
rodi is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 09:57   #54
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
I'm suprise that some people still using WinFellow especially on Vista. It's very easy to use probably not so compatible as WinUAE.

BTW. Is it still in dev.? Last news were from 2005.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 10:03   #55
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by haynor
BTW. Is it still in dev.? Last news were from 2005.
No, it's discontinued. If you have an old computer WinFellow might be a good choice, but on a PC running Vista I can also see no point in not using WinUAE.
TCD is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 10:30   #56
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
Probably most people have now computer powerfull enough to run even most recent version on WinUAE. Since someone is using WinFellow on Vista I assume he has enough power for WinUAE.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 11:57   #57
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
But isn't that because I use Vista I have enough power to run WinUAE smoothly without having to mess with WinFellow?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 23:20   #58
woody.cool
Registered User
woody.cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northampton, England
Age: 35
Posts: 118
I just tried WinFellow on Vista out of curiosity, mainly becauase of this thread!
woody.cool is offline  
Old 18 December 2008, 08:54   #59
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
I think it's a waste of time.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 18 December 2008, 09:22   #60
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
^ Wut haynor said
Maybe someone can explain us why someone would use WinFellow on a PC running Vista. Even if you don't like the GUI of WinUAE the quickstart window should be okay (and most of the time also enough) for anyone. Okay I'm just curious if someone really uses WinFellow on Vista
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
deliplayer for windows vista problem? JohnnyBeGood support.Apps 29 14 November 2015 19:07
SMBFS And Windows VIsta @UAE support.Apps 11 12 April 2011 21:41
Can't get CDTV emulation to work on Windows Vista Emu500 support.WinUAE 3 03 June 2009 18:15
Winuae and Windows Vista BigB support.WinUAE 26 20 December 2008 23:27
Disable Windows shortcuts while running WinUAE on Vista thomas request.UAE Wishlist 11 24 July 2008 11:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26699 seconds with 13 queries