English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 September 2013, 21:47   #1
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 933
FPU VS jumpers

Sooo. I can't seem to guess the jumper combination needed for 68881 FPU to be enabled.
The card in question is BC 1208ma. Here's the picture, and any suggestions would be welcome

Lord Aga is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 September 2013, 21:58   #2
Franchute13
Registered User
Franchute13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 234
maybe like .....
http://www.bigbookofamigahardware.co...s/bc1208ma.jpg
see J9 and J8 jumper
Franchute13 is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:03   #3
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 933
It wont wake up with this configuration
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:07   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
J7 - Enable FPU, as shown in your picture.

Change from open to closed.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:08   #5
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
have you got a oscilator on board?
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:14   #6
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 933
@Prowler
Whenever I close J7 it wont wake up at all.

@roy
No oscillator, as seen on pic.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:19   #7
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
have you tried multiple jumpers?

like j7 closed,j8 and 9 set to pga?
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:24   #8
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 933
J8 and J9 are quite unclear. Numbers imply vertical jumper orientation, but "PGA" and "PLCC" writings on the left imply horizontal jumper orientation. No idea what's right
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:28   #9
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
J8 and J9 are quite unclear. Numbers imply vertical jumper orientation, but "PGA" and "PLCC" writings on the left imply horizontal jumper orientation. No idea what's right

yes i can see that,but i have an idea.

have you got a multimeter? you could buzz out the bottom left pin of the oscilator socket and see if it joins to the bottom two pins on j8 and j9.

and take a picture of the underside of the card in that area.
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:29   #10
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
J8 and J9 are confusing.

It appears that there are three jumper positions: top, centre and bottom pairs jumpered. These would correspond to PGA FPU (Roy's suggestion), PLCC FPU and External (FPU or oscillator?). But why is this jumper set labelled J8/J9. Surely just J8 or J9 would do if that's how they work.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:32   #11
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 933
@roy
You mean to check if these are connected ?

Lord Aga is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:33   #12
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
J8 and J9 are confusing.

It appears that there are three jumper positions: top, centre and bottom pairs jumpered. These would correspond to PGA FPU (Roy's suggestion), PLCC FPU and External (FPU or oscillator?). But why is this jumper set labelled J8/J9. Surely just J8 or J9 would do if that's how they work.

im thinking that there like that to select the socket AND external clock,can you see it prowler?
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:35   #13
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
@roy
You mean to check if these are connected ?


no,i have a feeling its the bottom two,but check them as well.its just for confirmation.

its to find out where the oscilators output goes on the jumpers.

basicly buzz them out in pairs and see which ones are connected and direct the clock signal to the socket in use.

it must have an internal clock and external,external being the oscilator socket output.

so its like a process of elimination.

Last edited by roy bates; 27 September 2013 at 22:51.
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:48   #14
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
im thinking that there like that to select the socket AND external clock,can you see it prowler?
Yes, but what does 'external clock' mean in this context?

Is it possible to share the motherboard's clock signal with the CPU, or is it necessary to provide yet another clock input if the expansion card's X-tal socket isn't populated?
prowler is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:52   #15
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 933
@roy
Just checked. These two are connected.



@prowler
As I understood with some other cards, without external oscillator FPU will work at CPU's frequency (14MHz here). But with external oscillator FPU's frequency can be higher (which is not that important to me really).
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:56   #16
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
@roy
Just checked. These two are connected.

@prowler
As I understood with some other cards, without external oscillator FPU will work at CPU's frequency (14MHz here). But with external oscillator FPU's frequency can be higher (which is not that important to me really).
Then I think you should close J7 and the top (PGA) pair of J8/J9.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:57   #17
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
yes and yes to both lads,thats what im thinking.


now,check to see if the pin thats connected to the oscilator output is also connected to the pin directly to the left or directly above the one you marked in the picture.

if it isent connected to either..
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 22:58   #18
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
close J7 and the top (PGA) pair of J8/J9.
Wont wake up with this combination

Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
now,check to see if the pin thats connected to the oscilator output is also connected to the pin directly to the left or directly above the one you marked in the picture.

if it isent connected to either..
It is not connected to either
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 23:09   #19
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
im tempted to guess a horizontal jumper across where its says pga.(close the top two pins)
logicly that would make sence no?
have you got a picture of the other side of the card?
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 23:18   #20
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
im tempted to guess a horizontal jumper across where its says pga.(close the top two pins)
logicly that would make sence no?
That's what I was suggesting in my last post, but Lord Aga said that didn't work.

I'm wondering whether the true purpose of linking J8 and J9, as shown in Franchute13's link, is meant to provide a clock signal to both the PGA and PLCC sockets for use with either type of FPU. But Lord Aga said that didn't work either.
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F117-A and Base Jumpers Antiriad Games images which need to be WHDified 6 23 April 2013 19:53
Base Jumpers Graham Humphrey request.Old Rare Games 22 16 July 2009 20:51
3000T jumpers... BinoX support.Hardware 29 12 December 2007 11:58
Base Jumpers CD32 sut support.WinUAE 1 13 March 2006 22:15
Base Jumpers CD³² MethodGit request.Old Rare Games 4 22 January 2002 05:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08887 seconds with 14 queries