English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 November 2020, 03:15   #1
FLiP79
Registered User

FLiP79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 48
Amiga floppy drive in ATX PC case

I'm working on a mid-tower mod where I've put one of my two Amiga 1200
I'd like to use also the floppy drive, so I mounted it in the case. Now I've three questions:

1. Can I simply connect one of the small plugs (the typical PC floppy power plug) of the ATX power supply and power the drive?
2. The original data cable is too short. Can I replace it with any flat cable, untwisted, with the same number of connections?
3. Of course the drive is without a front face plate. What can I do? I looked for a 3D print but I've discovered... nothing.

Thank you in advance.
FLiP79 is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 08:06   #2
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLiP79 View Post
I'm working on a mid-tower mod where I've put one of my two Amiga 1200

I'd like to use also the floppy drive, so I mounted it in the case. Now I've three questions:



1. Can I simply connect one of the small plugs (the typical PC floppy power plug) of the ATX power supply and power the drive?

2. The original data cable is too short. Can I replace it with any flat cable, untwisted, with the same number of connections?

3. Of course the drive is without a front face plate. What can I do? I looked for a 3D print but I've discovered... nothing.



Thank you in advance.
1. Yes

2. Yes, but keep it as short as possible

3. Since Commodore used "normal" floppy drives, you might be lucky finding a similar one for PC on eBay. The facias then usually fit the Amiga drives.

Another option would be to buy a PC floppy drive that's been modified for Amiga use.
This has the benefit that PC drives are usually much younger and, because floppy drives usually weren't used extensively in PCs, show less wear than their Amiga counterparts. The downside is that these usually lack the RDY signal, so some games and XCopy won't work.

That said, I'm in the process of converting a larger number of Sony floppy drives with a little added circuitry so they are usable in an Amiga and can read and write both HD (1,76 MB) and DD (880 kB) floppy disks. These drives have a properly generated RDY signal, too. If you are a little patient, I can probably sell you one beforeChristmas... :-)

Note that your typical converted PC drive off of eBay is only capable of handling DD disks.
torsti76 is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 10:31   #3
FLiP79
Registered User

FLiP79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 48
Thank you so much for your answer(s)! I connected it with a no-so-long cable and it works
Let me know when your "new" Sony drives will be available, if the price and shipping to Italy is not too high I will be interested
FLiP79 is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 19:40   #4
MiaM
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Posts: 13
Re front panel: Maybe you can make one out of a blind cover plate for the PC case? Drill or chisel (use a real chisel or a flat blade screwdriver) out roughly where the holes should go, but make them a bit too small. Then use a file to enlarge the holes to the correct size.

It wouldn't give you a flap that closes but it would at least look far better than nothing.
MiaM is offline  
Old 26 November 2020, 01:40   #5
FLiP79
Registered User

FLiP79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 48
I replaced the plate with one of a old, broken drive from a 286 PC. Not bad! I made a couple of tiny modifications to the front metal to let it mount the "new" plate and it looks very good and solid. Now I have to:

- Paint it with with lucid black
- Create an eject button -- I think I will simply paste it
- Figure how to enable the on-drive LED to show activity.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MVIMG_20201126_002350.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	163.4 KB
ID:	69810  
FLiP79 is offline  
Old 26 November 2020, 12:05   #6
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,007
Good stuff! On the A1200, the floppy LED is connected to the /MOT signal, rather than indicating actual read/write operations. Does it not show any sort of activity at all? I modified drives before to show the same type of activity by connecting the LED with a suitable resistor directly to the /MOT signal at the drive's 34-pin connector. In that case, the positive side of the LED is towards 5V and the negative side is to the /MOT signal.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 27 November 2020, 02:43   #7
FLiP79
Registered User

FLiP79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 48
Suddenly, the LED has begun to work maybe the cable I detached and re-attached to paint the front. Boh!

The black paint seems ok
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MVIMG_20201127_010801.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	114.4 KB
ID:	69818  
FLiP79 is offline  
Old 27 November 2020, 10:37   #8
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,007
No don't touch it! Yeah, the black looks good, good job!
Daedalus is offline  
Old 30 November 2020, 20:58   #9
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 628
stedy sells adapters to use PC drives on Amiga doesn't he? perfect for towers.
Mick is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 00:31   #10
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick View Post
stedy sells adapters to use PC drives on Amiga doesn't he? perfect for towers.
Currently completely out of stock of those adaptors. Was looking to re-order most of the adaptors but suspended all sales earlier this year due to Covid 19.
I live in London, which was the hotspot back in March/April and I work in the Medway area, the current hotspot in the country.

I have a prototype design that can switch DF0:/DF1: and support Gotek, it needs some refinements. Will make the decisions on what designs get manufactured early next year.
Stedy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 in ATX Tower case. Sinphaltimus Hardware mods 106 01 May 2018 15:10
Wanted: Amiga External Floppy Drive Case/Housing with Interface (or dead drive) Starglider 2 MarketPlace 1 04 August 2015 16:53
New external floppy drive case + interface ready for Gotek & HxC strim News 4 03 July 2015 18:00
Compatible PC floppy drive for A500 case? hoptoit support.Hardware 5 18 October 2010 00:16
ATX PSU 2 Amiga 500 case tutorial now up r6stu Hardware mods 12 20 January 2008 20:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07396 seconds with 15 queries