English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 July 2018, 23:19   #1
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
AGA games on non-AGA hardware - a curiosity

Not interested in pursuing making this happen, more just trying to sate a curiosity that my Googling efforts have not been super-duper great at resolving.

I vaguely recall, many years ago, that some graphics cards or accelerator boards/mods/what have you for some non-AGA Amigas like the 500 and 600 might have allowed for what I would suppose is AGA emulation. I'm not sure if I imagined that, or if it was a pipe dream that never got realized, but I'm suddenly very curious about it and wondered if it were a real thing or just something I imagined.

Again, not looking to actually do this - I'm quite happy with my A1200! - but I just wanted to know whether it was real or not, and how effective it was.
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 23:55   #2
Schlachtwerk
68k RULEZ
Schlachtwerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 199
The only way is a Vampire Accelerator, but i dont know how many will working.
Schlachtwerk is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 23:59   #3
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Vampire! That sounds about right. Fascinating. I'll have to Google it and dig up some more info.
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 00:18   #4
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 850
Another L.A. amigan showing here in short time! They are usually a rare sight
saimon69 is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 05:17   #5
gururise
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 60
There used to be a fake program called "SoftAGA", that purported to capture gfx system calls and translate them to ECS on the fly, allowing one to run AGA games/programs; however, it turned out to be fake.
gururise is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 06:06   #6
Gunbot
Registered User
Gunbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 65
I believe there were a few games, mostly sims I think that could take advantage of 16 or 24 bit color if you had a Picasso card or similar in your non aga Amiga. I'm thinking Sim life might have been one of those games.
Or maybe I'm just talking out of my ass.
Gunbot is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 07:17   #7
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by gururise View Post
There used to be a fake program called "SoftAGA", that purported to capture gfx system calls and translate them to ECS on the fly, allowing one to run AGA games/programs; however, it turned out to be fake.
Something like this could probably work, however the problem is most games/demos don't use system calls.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 10:42   #8
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by squirminator2k View Post
Vampire! That sounds about right. Fascinating. I'll have to Google it and dig up some more info.
That's not too difficult as the Vampire is actively being developed and by many considered to be the hottest Amiga Hardware since Commodore's demise. There should be some videos on YouTube or Vimeo where the Vampire does an early AGA or OCS via digital out and the same visuals get generated by the Amiga's custom chips by effectively copying all writes to the Amiga's custom chips to the Vampire's reimplementation of the Amiga hardware. I'm pretty sure we had some tests with AGA software that came out pretty well on the A600's ECS custom chips with just some colours and sprites missing.
grond is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 12:43   #9
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,466
For instance Alien F1, the demo of Virtual GP (AGA/RTG) did run happily on my ECS A500, 2 MB Chip (with blizzard2060, in tower) but naturally with strange colours.
zipper is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 13:19   #10
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 205
Another part of this could be that I think there are a few so called A1200 games that actually aren't an AGA game but more so require the extra RAM of the A1200 and would work fine on an A500 with 2mb chip. Don't ask me to name any but I'm fairly sure I've read about this somewhere before.
Glen M is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 14:07   #11
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
Another part of this could be that I think there are a few so called A1200 games that actually aren't an AGA game but more so require the extra RAM of the A1200 and would work fine on an A500 with 2mb chip. Don't ask me to name any but I'm fairly sure I've read about this somewhere before.
This is right. Aside of 2MB chip they may also need 68020+ cpu. An example is Dungeon Master 2.
meynaf is online now  
Old 09 July 2018, 15:30   #12
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
Another part of this could be that I think there are a few so called A1200 games that actually aren't an AGA game but more so require the extra RAM of the A1200 and would work fine on an A500 with 2mb chip. Don't ask me to name any but I'm fairly sure I've read about this somewhere before.
Jungle strike and Primal rage need 2mb chip but don't require the Aga chipset!
hansel75 is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 11:29   #13
sokolovic
Registered User

sokolovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Marseille / France
Posts: 160
I'm pretty sure Star Trek 25th anniversary isn't AGA but recquires 68020+, HD and 2mb chip. (Same thing for Dungeon Master 2 indeed).

In fact the game was previewed as an ECS one in 64 extra HB colors mode.

Ocean have comercialized fake AGA games like Shaq Fu or Burnin Rubber alongside with ECS versions. The only difference was more graphical detail due to more extra ram (shit games anyway). Same thing for Jungle Strike, the ECS and AGA versions have no differences at all, except for the title screen.
sokolovic is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 11:49   #14
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
Another L.A. amigan showing here in short time! They are usually a rare sight
Wahey! I'm originally from the UK, moved here in '07, just after my 21st birthday. My dad was the Amiga expert - I just used it to play games and do my schoolwork on and so forth - so my technical know-how is very limited when it comes to Amiga hardware. I'm happy with my A1200 and the handful of games I have.
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 21:44   #15
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 160
I think it was DCE that had a prototype AGA chipset add-on for the A500 in the mid/late 90s. I didn't find out about it until the late 2000s/early 2010s when a picture of it in a display case at an Amiga show made it online. It never made it to market.

Concerning earlier Amiga history, AGA appeared right around the time as the first popular 24-bit Zorro RTG cards. I remember there was a lot of excitement in the American magazines at the time. Because the cards could generate a 256-color screen and other AGA-like screenmodes, there was hope that they could be used to bring AGA to A2000s and A3000s. Obviously that's not the case, but because the result is functionally similar, misinterpretation/misunderstanding of the cards' capabilities at the time probably started the "AGA-compatible" rumor.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 11:52   #16
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by sokolovic View Post
Ocean have comercialized fake AGA games like Shaq Fu or Burnin Rubber alongside with ECS versions. The only difference was more graphical detail due to more extra ram (shit games anyway). Same thing for Jungle Strike, the ECS and AGA versions have no differences at all, except for the title screen.


yep this is correct, and
apart from Ocean there is lot of fake AGA games out there done by other coders


authentic AGA games only a few exists



Aladdin
Lemmings 3
onescape
banshee
capital punishment
slam tilt
Alien Breed 3D2
xp8
genetic species
putty squad




and I think the authentic list end up here
Mrz is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 12:24   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,770
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Bloodnet AGA
Simon the sorcerer AGA
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 17:21   #18
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 460
The Lion King?
grond is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 17:50   #19
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,258
Worms: DC?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 18:13   #20
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 100
Flink ?
DanyPPC is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200/AGA Bus Bandwidth Curiosity Question IrY100Fan support.Hardware 9 11 May 2017 03:44
Five-A-Side Soccer AGA OR Football Glory Inside AGA earok request.Old Rare Games 3 27 December 2016 13:12
AGA Hardware Reference SparkyNZ Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 15 May 2015 09:17
AGA Vs non-AGA games dreamkatcha Amiga scene 21 30 April 2010 03:29
probs with Shadow Fighter AGA & Sabre Team AGA Skumball support.WinUAE 1 10 September 2002 22:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12627 seconds with 15 queries