English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 July 2019, 21:51   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,374
Hard GPU VSync on WinUAE

Do you think would be possible to implement the Hard GPU VSync feature of RetroArch on WinUAE? I am suspecting you will say no, because it should be pratically the same thing as the old Low Latency VSync, am I wrong Toni?

Don't worry, I am not asking for you to implement Low Latency VSync again. I never would do that.

If the response to the first question is yes, could that be added separated of Lagless VSync, for users with a lower spec computer to use it?

Thanks.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 26 July 2019 at 23:00. Reason: Do you think...
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 29 July 2019, 12:08   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,933
I don't know what it means and I am not going to try to find out..

EDIT: I am going to try another method for low latency vsync timing, perhaps it helps with those that have issues with current method.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 29 July 2019 at 12:22.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 July 2019, 23:26   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I don't know what it means and I am not going to try to find out..


Ok, better keep it very, very far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
EDIT: I am going to try another method for low latency vsync timing, perhaps it helps with those that have issues with current method.
Thanks, I will keep watching the progress, for sure.

I did discover that my issues were being caused mainly by a broken display driver, which I did update recently to the newest 2019 version (and now it works), and by the 64 bit CPU of my laptop, which is slow compared to the official WinUAE requirements, that would be a 2 GHz CPU versus the 1.70 GHz CPU of my laptop.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 31 July 2019, 18:01   #4
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 230
Does UAE have the ability to adjust the emulated Amiga's system clock to the real life refresh rate of the display? Like not dynamically rubber banding, just detect real life refresh rate and then run the emulation synchronously even if the emulated Amiga is running 0.01% faster or slower than a real one.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 31 July 2019, 21:04   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaHope View Post
Does UAE have the ability to adjust the emulated Amiga's system clock to the real life refresh rate of the display? Like not dynamically rubber banding, just detect real life refresh rate and then run the emulation synchronously even if the emulated Amiga is running 0.01% faster or slower than a real one.
Yes. Low latency (beamrace) vsync will auto-adjust to any refresh rate and manul option (when not using vsync) is Display panel FPS.Adj. Which can make playing games "interesting"..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 01 August 2019, 09:10   #6
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Yes. Low latency (beamrace) vsync will auto-adjust to any refresh rate and manul option (when not using vsync) is Display panel FPS.Adj. Which can make playing games "interesting"..
Is there a patch to the kernel to make the system clock time conversion run accurately even when it's slightly off? AmigaOS does this natively on real Amigas when it's properly made aware that it's a PAL or NTSC system, adjusting for the slight difference of system clock.

(This bit me in the ass in the past when I decided to swap the PAL/NTSC jumper on my A4000 to make it automatically prefer PAL screenmodes. It caused AmigaOS to assume it was running on a PAL crystal even though an NTSC one was installed, so the system clock drifted. If I left the jumper to NTSC and used early startup menu to boot in PAL instead, AmigaOS still kept time correctly as it calculated based off the NTSC crystal.)
AmigaHope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G-sync / Freesync support (adaptive sync) demolition support.WinUAE 32 01 July 2019 10:57
Windows 10 or GPU Issue ? jmmijo OT - Technical 18 17 September 2018 16:29
Wazp3D Hardware-Gpu Error Zilog support.WinUAE 24 05 September 2018 20:06
50Hz sync in WinUAE Mark Wright support.WinUAE 54 27 March 2009 21:56
gpu which one to choose turrican3 support.WinUAE 15 17 July 2008 01:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06133 seconds with 13 queries