English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 July 2019, 22:58   #1
Superjustinbros
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Troubleshooting with some games

Greetings. Recently I got into trying some Amiga games with WinUAE's default configurations and while a number of games are working, there's a small few that are giving me some trouble.

First is Naughty Ones, which hits me with a Guru Meditation when I attempt to boot it up, and the other is Diamond Fever which is accessed through the desktop but even after clicking the game's icon to start the game, it doesn't load whatsoever.

Since I'm relatively new to WinUAE I wanted to check and see what settings I should change before attempting to run these games- incase I edit the hardware settings to the point where almost nothing runs properly.
Superjustinbros is offline  
Old 21 July 2019, 00:00   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,980
You should give us some more information:

Naughty Ones: AGA, CD32 or OCS/ECS version? Which Amiga model did you use?

Diamond Fever: which Amiga model and which OS Amiga did you use?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 21 July 2019 at 00:18.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 July 2019, 00:34   #3
Superjustinbros
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Amiga 500 is the model I currently have it set on with the 1.3 ROM loaded, which I assume is the AGA version.
Superjustinbros is offline  
Old 21 July 2019, 00:35   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superjustinbros View Post
Amiga 500 is the model I currently have it set on with the 1.3 ROM loaded, which I assume is the AGA version.
No 1.3 ROM loaded Games OCS/ECS, 3.0/3.1 loaded Games AGA

Tested with with QuickStart and all worked perfectly

Naughty Ones AGA: A1200 Standard
Naughty Ones CD32: CD32 Standard
Naughty Ones OCS/ECS: A500/A500Plus/A600 Standard

Diamond Fever OCS/ECS: A500/A500Plus/A600 Standard
Diamond Fever OCS/ECS: Workbench 1.2/1.3/2.04/2.05/2.1

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 21 July 2019 at 01:39.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 July 2019, 01:26   #5
Superjustinbros
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Naughty Ones works like a charm after switching to 1200 (apart from the somewhat out of nowhere copy protection).

As for Diamond Fever, looks like I may not have the workbench roms- all I got are the kickstart roms.
Superjustinbros is offline  
Old 21 July 2019, 01:37   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superjustinbros View Post
As for Diamond Fever, looks like I may not have the workbench roms- all I got are the kickstart roms.
Which version are you using that of Aminet for Workbench, or the floppy self-starting version?

For this game as mentioned above you must have the Kickstarts (ROM) 1.2/1.3/2.04/2.5/
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 July 2019, 01:56   #7
Superjustinbros
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
I have a few files named Kick11.rom, Kick12.rom, Kick13.rom, Kick20.rom, Kick30.rom, and a few others, are those the kickstart files?
Superjustinbros is offline  
Old 21 July 2019, 04:28   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,980
In WinUAE setting go to the "Paths" menu and click on the "Rescan ROOMs" tab, after this WinUAE will check the ROMs and store the new Kickstarts added to WinUAE.

In any case if from Quickstart, if you don't receive missing Kickstart messages when you choose A500, A600 etc, it means that the Kikstarts are correct and well installed.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 July 2019, 19:15   #9
Superjustinbros
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Tried several A500 models, including a few OCS and ECS ROMS, all of them produce the same result of a desktop folder containing the game but refuses to load/boot it no matter how many times I click.
Superjustinbros is offline  
Old 21 July 2019, 19:41   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,933
Perhaps you have too many floppy drives enabled? It reduces available chip memory.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 July 2019, 17:43   #11
Superjustinbros
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
I disabled the floppy drives and tried running Diamond Fever again.

Still no luck, I'm wondering if it's possibly my download of the game that's busted. I should try another download.
Superjustinbros is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting LHA a600fan support.Apps 2 28 January 2018 14:52
A4000 troubleshooting alenppc support.Hardware 11 19 April 2014 04:26
Some OS 3.9 troubleshooting help needed runequester support.Apps 3 12 April 2011 14:53
need help troubleshooting kipper2k support.Hardware 0 06 March 2009 01:55
WinUAE troubleshooting! enigma support.WinUAE 3 06 February 2002 01:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07153 seconds with 15 queries