English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

Old 23 January 2002, 08:21   #1
Tim Janssen

Cool Preview screenshots

When flicking through some old Amiga magazines I noticed some preview-screenshots which were very different from the final games. In this thread I would like to post some of these ‘obscure’ screenshots once in a while. Other entries are also accepted

Let’s start with the first one: Delphine’s Flashback. I have to admit I am not very good at this game and therefore haven’t progressed far so maybe the screenshot below may have appeared in the final game. However, I think the main character looks more basic in this preview which is taken from the September 1992 issue of Amiga Format.
Old 23 January 2002, 09:01   #2
Drake1009

Somehow the background looks different from the final game I think. The final game had more of a greenish quality of background as far as I recall. And the graphics were most definately more defined as where you could walk and what was background.
Old 23 January 2002, 20:19   #3
TikTok

That section definitely is in the final game; it's about level 4 or 5 IIRC. I think the picture in the magazine may have come from a photo, hence it is slightly blury. Maybe it was taken from the Megadrive/Genesis version?
Old 23 January 2002, 20:32   #4
Drake1009

The picture is from level 4. Though it felt like 5 or such because the second level was so immensely long.
Old 24 January 2002, 09:17   #5
Tim Janssen

Cool Flashy photo

TikTok,
You are right. I have scanned it from a photo in Amiga Format magazine. It was common those days to show preview-screenshots of a game on an other system. But somehow I remember the Amiga was the first platform which got Flashback.
Old 24 January 2002, 13:49   #6
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend

Unhappy

Just a pity that a lot of people seem to even forget there WAS an amiga version,much less how good it was.