English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 August 2016, 11:46   #81
Gordon
Settler

Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,158
Been playing it on winuae and a weird thing happned. I deid on stage 1 then started my next life onstage 2!
Gordon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 August 2016, 13:55   #82
cyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsak View Post
As this is just a hack and we do not have the source code there's only limited things we could do, while other tasks simply required an insane amount of work to pull off.
You can ask phx for the source code. Some time ago he disassembled GGS.
cyc is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 16:17   #83
warfalcon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: London
Posts: 73
See this thread for the trained version by Flashtro when you need to cheat a little =D

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...81#post1105281
warfalcon is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 18:55   #84
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 513
Would it be possible that you add second fire jumping to ADF in future in version 1.1 perhaps?
Cobe is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 19:48   #85
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
Would it be possible that you add second fire jumping to ADF in future in version 1.1 perhaps?
Yes
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 19:51   #86
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 306
Great work, thank you for this port!!!
apex is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 20:02   #87
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Yes
Great! Looking forward to it!
Cobe is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 20:47   #88
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,554
@Galahad; one other small thing I've noticed is that the intro on the .ADF version flashes between screens too fast when compared to the HD version.

If possible, could you display each image a second or so longer if not too much trouble?

Last edited by DamienD; 10 August 2016 at 21:02.
DamienD is online now  
Old 10 August 2016, 20:52   #89
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,488
You can now rate it on Lemon.
Predseda is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 21:01   #90
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
@Galahad; one other small thing I've noticed is that the intro on the .ADF version flashes between screens too fast when compared to the HD version.

If possible could you display each image a second or so longer if not too much trouble (and possible)?
Nope.

Put simply, I was limited because the intro is meant to last the length of the music, and then end.

The problem is several issues.

317K for the music module
860K for 14 Extra Half Brite Images 64 colour images
2x 61K for the two picture buffers
20K for the code to drive it all

Because of this, all the IFF images had to be converted to raw files, compressed with Propack to ensure they could all fit in extra ram, and then decompressed on the fly to display before the music ends.

No floppy loader would be fast enough to load each uncompressed image on the fly, no floppy loader and the 68000 would be quick enough to load each compressed image and decompress on the fly.

So unfortunately no is the answer
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 21:02   #91
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
You can now rate it on Lemon.
Nah, HOL is my home
DamienD is online now  
Old 10 August 2016, 21:04   #92
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Nope.

Put simply, I was limited because the intro is meant to last the length of the music, and then end.

The problem is several issues.

317K for the music module
860K for 14 Extra Half Brite Images 64 colour images
2x 61K for the two picture buffers
20K for the code to drive it all

Because of this, all the IFF images had to be converted to raw files, compressed with Propack to ensure they could all fit in extra ram, and then decompressed on the fly to display before the music ends.

No floppy loader would be fast enough to load each uncompressed image on the fly, no floppy loader and the 68000 would be quick enough to load each compressed image and decompress on the fly.

So unfortunately no is the answer
That's ok my friend; just thought I'd put it out there... Thank you for the explanation

Love your .ADF (cracktro / extra loading music) but for the reason stated above (plus AGA intro not on the .ADF version) I'm using the HD one.
DamienD is online now  
Old 11 August 2016, 12:06   #93
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,501
Great stuff guys! Thanks for the hard work on bringing this out and updating what was an tired looking game (even when it came out!) a bit more sparkle and polish cheers!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 13 August 2016, 02:38   #94
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Nope.

Put simply, I was limited because the intro is meant to last the length of the music, and then end.

The problem is several issues.

317K for the music module
860K for 14 Extra Half Brite Images 64 colour images
2x 61K for the two picture buffers
20K for the code to drive it all

Because of this, all the IFF images had to be converted to raw files, compressed with Propack to ensure they could all fit in extra ram, and then decompressed on the fly to display before the music ends.

No floppy loader would be fast enough to load each uncompressed image on the fly, no floppy loader and the 68000 would be quick enough to load each compressed image and decompress on the fly.

So unfortunately no is the answer
Well am checking the pictures and i think that you might not need 64 colors for all of it; maybe a passage of ADPro and superpalette should provide all frames of the intro in 32 if not 16 colors saving some space...
saimon69 is offline  
Old 13 August 2016, 10:01   #95
DopPie
Zone Friend

DopPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Den Hoorn, NL
Age: 38
Posts: 259
This is an absolute fabulous enhancement of the original. Just recently I was talking to a friend about how simular the great giana sisters looked on the amiga to the c64 version. This finally does the amiga justice. Great work! Are you planning more overhauls of games?

Thumbs up!
DopPie is offline  
Old 13 August 2016, 13:23   #96
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by DopPie View Post
This is an absolute fabulous enhancement of the original. Just recently I was talking to a friend about how simular the great giana sisters looked on the amiga to the c64 version. This finally does the amiga justice. Great work! Are you planning more overhauls of games?

Thumbs up!
Has anbody tested the hiscore saver for the disk version? Doesn't work here in WinUAE.

edit: Ah, highscore save works fine. Don't know what went wrong first.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 13 August 2016 at 13:32. Reason: Sav
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 August 2016, 13:59   #97
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 734
Great job guys... looking forward to this release for a long time. Going to give it a go on my A1200 today
trydowave is offline  
Old 13 August 2016, 14:55   #98
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,738
Strange. Copied the ADF to real disk. Hiscore Saving is indeed not working (they are in the list but gone after reboot). Tried it several times. Any clue?

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 13 August 2016 at 15:08.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 August 2016, 14:56   #99
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 997
I will say it again - great work! You guys give this game second live, it can shine again.
Do You have plans for doing this type of work with other games? What will You do next?
Gzegzolka is offline  
Old 13 August 2016, 16:53   #100
DopPie
Zone Friend

DopPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Den Hoorn, NL
Age: 38
Posts: 259
Stage 11 used to be blue in shiny weather. It is black in the SE version. Is this intentionally or is this a bug? (have not been able to play past state 12 so can't tell if it will be ever blue again )
DopPie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giana Sisters: Special Edition - Enhanced edition for the Amiga Neil79 project.CD32 Conversion 14 09 August 2016 00:55
Hi there, can someone please have a look @ my Giana Sisters ? Thank you ! UrokoSakanabito Nostalgia & memories 12 15 August 2012 22:34
amiga 1200 giana sisters problem draganklep support.Games 7 09 March 2012 21:43
The Giana Sisters v1.0 and v1.1 mr.vince HOL data problems 0 07 January 2010 15:01
WTB: Giana Sisters C-64/Amiga martin-flash MarketPlace 1 22 February 2008 06:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29371 seconds with 15 queries