English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.KGLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 October 2009, 01:06   #321
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Thank you seuden for your wonderful support, it really spurs turns me on.
I think that's more appropriate.
Eclipse is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 08:45   #322
Kyon
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SOS Brigade
Age: 27
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Kyon
go kg go kg
Kyon is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 09:27   #323
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
Can you change the screenmode and fonts? And how about the layout (size and positions of windows)?

The way it handles colours now seems like a nice feature. Looking forward to trying it out
ppill is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 11:47   #324
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Screenmodes, nope. The AGA version (which is the version we're completing now) is fixed at 640x256x8.

Once it's finished I'll make the necessary changes to get the OCS version finished which will still be 640x256 but will only have 16 colours.

Size, positions of windows, yes, all editable.

Font, yes, but I'd recommend you only use fix widthed fonts, as you might end up with text spilling over the end of the gameslist/menus etc.

By default kgload will come with 2 skins, one which displays screenshots and boxart, and one which simply shows the gamelist and the info for each game.

Any more questions, fire away
killergorilla is offline  
Old 02 October 2009, 09:29   #325
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
That's sounds good How about coloured bitmap fonts (the ones used in Scala, etc.)? A little shadow or depth on a font can improve the look dramatically.

And why a fixed screenmode?
ppill is offline  
Old 02 October 2009, 12:20   #326
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
KGLoad isn't supposed to be an all-singing, all-dancing affair.

It's mainly meant to act as a workbench replacement, as it's very resource friendly and can load whdload without having anything running in the background (and therefore saving precious RAM).

I'll be using it on my A1200 to turn it into an arcade machine essentially, turn it on, instant selection of games.

Granted it can be loaded from Workbench, and will work absolutely fine, but if you want high res screenmodes and shaded fonts then go for iGame. I am not trying to replace iGame, it's a great solution in it's own right, just for a different purpose really.

Plus, both of the skins which come with KGLoad are 640x256. I do not want people changing the screen mode, realising the skins now look shit and then complaining that it doesn't work properly. I do not want to have to make a skin for every single screenmode that someone may choose.

It's enough effort programming the frontend itself

I may consider allowing different screenmodes if people want to create their own custom skins but there is so much to do before then I doubt I'll ever get around to that.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 02 October 2009, 12:34   #327
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
I'll be using it on my A1200 to turn it into an arcade machine essentially, turn it on, instant selection of games.
That turns me on, well worth the wait.
seuden is online now  
Old 02 October 2009, 17:49   #328
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Looking good dude, keep up the good work.
This is exactly what I'm looking for. (Apart from a big boobed blonde).
Eclipse is offline  
Old 10 October 2009, 01:37   #329
Lakes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cumbria, England
Posts: 33
This seems to be what I`m looking for as well, as I`m trying to get Pinball Fantasies to work on my A600 with 2Mb chip ram and failing at the moment.
Lakes is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 16:29   #330
Konrad
Registered User
Konrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 571
Hmmm. I Can't seem to find a download for this . Can someone point me to a valid link, or upload it to the zone, please ?
Konrad is offline  
Old 12 January 2010, 01:32   #331
Hercules
Beer monster

Hercules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 172
How's KGLOAD progressing? I eager to download this too... Would you be kind enough to provide us all with a download link please? Thanks!
Hercules is offline  
Old 28 May 2010, 11:55   #332
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 43
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
I can't believe I missed this. I'm really looking forward to it. A couple of questions:

-Will one be able to add some non-WHDLoad games manually?

-Have you thought of implementing some kind of Tooltype edit feature? It would be very useful if -as you said- someone used it without Workbench.
alkis21 is offline  
Old 28 May 2010, 11:57   #333
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Both features are 'on the list'
TCD is offline  
Old 28 May 2010, 12:18   #334
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkis21 View Post
I can't believe I missed this. I'm really looking forward to it. A couple of questions:

-Will one be able to add some non-WHDLoad games manually?

-Have you thought of implementing some kind of Tooltype edit feature? It would be very useful if -as you said- someone used it without Workbench.
Hi mate.

Both features are indeed on the list of things to do.

I am very close to releasing the second beta, so once it's out I will start knocking things off the list.

I CAN SEE THE LIGHT!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 28 May 2010, 12:22   #335
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
I CAN SEE THE LIGHT!
TCD is offline  
Old 28 May 2010, 12:25   #336
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 43
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Is this infamous list somewhere where I can take a look at it?
alkis21 is offline  
Old 28 May 2010, 12:30   #337
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
I'll whack it online once the beta is out.

Maybe even have people vote for which feature to add next! woo!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 30 May 2010, 13:40   #338
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 43
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
I have a request for a feature that will be very useful to me (and hopefully to others). I asked for it in the WHDload section, I'm asking you as well to double my chances of seeing it implemented.

I have a SUBWAY USB controller. Many WHDLoad games don't agree with it and will not run unless I disable it. So for each one of those games I create custom executable files that have the following commands:

Quote:
hd:c/addusbhardware REMOVE ALL
wait 2 secs
WHDLoad Gobliiins.slave Preload
I'm not asking you to implement a 'Disable USB' feature, but something much more generic: The option to run a few DOS commands before executing a game. It would save my life for the above problem and perhaps it will have many other uses I cannot imagine at the moment.

Will you consider it?

If that's too hard or not possible, I'd welcome this alternative: the ability to edit each title and choose a different executable (instead of the WHDLOad .info file). iGame is awesome but unfortunately it doesn't have that option, my only choice is to reenter every single game as a non-WHDLoad title.
alkis21 is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 10:48   #339
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
That's a great idea.

And very easy to implement, so consider it done.

If I allow a global script that will be run before every game, and then also allow per-game scripts that are run before that game is loaded, would that be enough?

There is already http://whdload.de/docs/en/opt.html#ExecuteStartup if you didn't know But it's still a feature I have no problem adding.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 11:14   #340
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
There is already http://whdload.de/docs/en/opt.html#ExecuteStartup if you didn't know But it's still a feature I have no problem adding.
I was going to suggest just that. Add it to the global WHDLoad settings (s:WHDLoad.prefs) and you're good to go.

Together with the ExecuteCleanup you can get the USB working again when you quit WHDLoad.
ppill is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who's tried KGLoad in the new ClassicWB packs? Bloodwych project.KGLoad 17 04 May 2012 04:50
where is kgload frontend? s4m project.KGLoad 6 04 May 2012 02:10
KGLoad Requirements killergorilla project.KGLoad 32 06 May 2010 09:55
KGLoad - Help Needed killergorilla project.KGLoad 34 11 March 2009 12:06
KGLoad - Feature List killergorilla project.KGLoad 0 20 January 2009 12:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10286 seconds with 15 queries