English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 August 2020, 16:05   #81
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68060 View Post
Really cool, although I'm missing the great title tune by David Whittaker

It's there, but this tune is played when you solved the game, like in the arcade. So if you want to hear it, you need to pass 100 levels And make sure you solve the game with a 2nd player, otherwhise you will get the 'bad' ending only, which a different song.
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 16:27   #82
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by pink^abyss View Post
It's there, but this tune is played when you solved the game, like in the arcade. So if you want to hear it, you need to pass 100 levels And make sure you solve the game with a 2nd player, otherwhise you will get the 'bad' ending only, which a different song.
Oh no, that's madness! Please add a sound menu cheat!!
mc68060 is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 16:32   #83
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,210
It loads and runs, but the graphics of the moving objects are not being cleared completely, resulting in pixels being left behind.
Minuous is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 16:40   #84
samo79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by pink^abyss View Post
Its just a hobby project, it's not arcade perfect. My motivation was to create a better version then the orignal amiga one.
That's an awesome version, congratulation!
For the next beta do you think it could be possible to add support the second button of the joystick?
One button could be used for jumping and the other for shoting the bobbles :-)
samo79 is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 16:47   #85
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
It loads and runs, but the graphics of the moving objects are not being cleared completely, resulting in pixels being left behind.

Could you please tell me exactly which amiga/config you use?
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 17:18   #86
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,674
Minuous will be using some mega supped up Amiga on OS 3.9, 4.0 or 4.1

pink^abyss clearly states in the opening post "Amiga 500 (PAL) + 512 Kb" and also mentioned that it will run on an A1200.

I love the way some people seem to expect any new games to run on 1.3 / 2.x / 3.0 / 3.1 / 3.5 / 3.9 / 4.0 / 4.1 with all sorts of CPUs / Chipsets / Accelerators / Memory etc

Like the author has access to all these real models; or even if he / she does; has the time to test / bug fix across that wide a range.

To the people above with funky, non-stock Amiga models; just wait for a WHDLoad version then... sheesh.

Last edited by DamienD; 14 August 2020 at 17:28.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 17:39   #87
Cool_amigaN
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Athens
Posts: 5
I get same results with Minuous on latest euae jit at MorphOS. So, if he using OS 4.1 equivalent then I assume it's something on euae itself. I ve tried different configurations of euae (500, 1200, expanded / jit turned off) but the behavior persists. Other than that, audio is crystal clear (better than the original imho) and scrolling / gaming is 100% smooth (apart from when advancing level where I get some stuttering but not due to cpu load). Think it's easier, at least till 20th level that I progressed and the bonus letters appear later on the game compared to the original. All in all that's an awesome port and a vast improvement compared to what we got to play all these decades. Hope whdload version will fix these problems if nothing else can be done.
Cool_amigaN is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 17:40   #88
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Minuous will be using some mega supped up Amiga on OS 3.9, 4.0 or 4.1

pink^abyss clearly states in the opening post "Amiga 500 (PAL) + 512 Kb" and also mentioned that it will run on an A1200.

I love the way some people seem to expect any new games to run on 1.3 / 2.x / 3.0 / 3.1 / 3.5 / 3.9 / 4.0 / 4.1 with all sorts of CPUs / Chipsets / Accelerators / Memory etc

Like the author has access to all these real models; or even if he / she does; has the time to test / bug fix across that wide a range.

To the people above with funky, non-stock Amiga models; just wait for a WHDLoad version then... sheesh.

Haha... well, this time i tried a bit harder to make it work beyond A500. I tried on hardware A500 and A1200/030. It also worked in WinUAE A4000, so i'm just curious what it is..
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 18:08   #89
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 211
Tiny Bobble Beta v0.92 released

Tiny Bobble Beta v0.92 has been released!

Download Link
http://www.abyss-online.de/eab/TinyBobble_Beta_0_92.adf

Fixes
  • Extend Bubbles didn't appear often enough
  • Extend Bubbles pop anim was wrong
  • Bubbles were too hard to pop from one side
  • Invisible second player still poped bubbles

Thanks for all the feedback. Bug reports are appreciated!

Enjoy
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 18:11   #90
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cool_amigaN View Post
I get same results with Minuous on latest euae jit at MorphOS. So, if he using OS 4.1 equivalent then I assume it's something on euae itself. I ve tried different configurations of euae (500, 1200, expanded / jit turned off) but the behavior persists. Other than that, audio is crystal clear (better than the original imho) and scrolling / gaming is 100% smooth (apart from when advancing level where I get some stuttering but not due to cpu load). Think it's easier, at least till 20th level that I progressed and the bonus letters appear later on the game compared to the original. All in all that's an awesome port and a vast improvement compared to what we got to play all these decades. Hope whdload version will fix these problems if nothing else can be done.
Thanks for the feedback and your kind words!

Yes, JIT doesn't seem to work right with Bubble Bobble, but i'm of course only looking for hardware issues
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 18:22   #91
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Minuous will be using some mega supped up Amiga on OS 3.9, 4.0 or 4.1
Yep, and it's the game authors fault, because he doesn't use the legal OS routines for blitting.

Oh, that's too slow? Buy a faster Amiga, problem solved.

Steril707 is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 18:34   #92
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 43
Posts: 6,320
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
There are no credits for 1 player (you can not insert coins), on the other hand 2 players credits seem to be unlimited.
Predseda is online now  
Old 14 August 2020, 18:39   #93
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,210
I tested on OS3.9 under WinUAE. It needs JIT to be turned off to get correct behaviour; presumably it is a bug in the game or otherwise it's a bug in WinUAE. I haven't tried under the OS4 emulation as that is likely to be too slow to be playable even if it works.

>I love the way some people seem to expect any new games to run on 1.3 / 2.x / 3.0 / 3.1 / 3.5 / 3.9 / 4.0 / 4.1 with all sorts of CPUs / Chipsets / Accelerators / Memory etc

If it requires functionality that is only available under a later version of AmigaOS then a minimum OS version requirement is reasonable. Apart from that there is no reason why a program can't run on whatever CPU etc. Eg. IBM programs are not likely to fail because someone used a 486 instead of a 386.

Last edited by Minuous; 14 August 2020 at 18:46.
Minuous is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 18:40   #94
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 46
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Why Tiny Bobble and don't Tiny Bubble ?
Foul is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 18:43   #95
VincentGR
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
I tested on OS3.9 under WinUAE. It needs JIT to be turned off to get correct behaviour; presumably it is a bug in the game or otherwise it's a bug in WinUAE. I haven't tried under the OS4 emulation as that is likely to be too slow to be playable even if it works.
Jit is not game friendly
VincentGR is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 18:44   #96
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 46
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
I tested on OS3.9 under WinUAE. It needs JIT to be turned off to get correct behaviour; presumably it is a bug in the game or otherwise it's a bug in WinUAE. I haven't tried under the OS4 emulation as that is likely to be too slow to be playable even if it works.
Same "bug" on FS-UAE.. Jit must be turned off to play normally
Foul is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 18:53   #97
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Minuous will be using some mega supped up Amiga on OS 3.9, 4.0 or 4.1

I love the way some people seem to expect any new games to run on 1.3 / 2.x / 3.0 / 3.1 / 3.5 / 3.9 / 4.0 / 4.1 with all sorts of CPUs / Chipsets / Accelerators / Memory etc.

3.9 is just an update of 3.1. generally this is compatible (moreover officially there is no physical rom 3.9, it is physical rom 3.1. So for a launch by d7, it is in 3.1). on the other hand for IOS, android, os4, mos, linux, win10, beos is something else, they use emulators

Last edited by Aladin; 14 August 2020 at 21:06.
Aladin is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 19:00   #98
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
There are no credits for 1 player (you can not insert coins), on the other hand 2 players credits seem to be unlimited.
Yeah, its like in the Arcade.
If you have a 2nd player alive you can always continue.. In the arcade you could insert unlimited continues but you had to restart from the first level after dying without a 2nd player alive.
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 19:01   #99
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 253
Could you implement the use of the second button for jump instead of the up direction?
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 14 August 2020, 19:02   #100
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,158
Quote:
3.9 is just an update of 3.1 generally this is compatible.

Compatible to a degree, but not 100%. Even with WHDload games i had often enough some strange bugs, compared to WB 3.1.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny Bobble pink^abyss project.Amiga Game Factory 97 30 December 2020 20:22
Bubble Bobble for 500+? TenLeftFingers support.Games 30 28 March 2020 19:46
Bubble bobble with 2 buttons zambot3 request.Old Rare Games 3 10 April 2019 19:31
Bubble Bobble 4 CPC :) Vollldo Retrogaming General Discussion 98 12 March 2012 22:09
Encrypted Text In Bubble Bobble? CodyJarrett Nostalgia & memories 6 14 August 2006 09:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10711 seconds with 14 queries