English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Contest

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 October 2019, 00:44   #1481
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,468
Ok sorry for the delay but the WinUAE strangeness distracted me..

Bootblock contain this code:

Code:
potgo	movea.l	$4.w,a6
		lea	pot(pc),a1
		jsr	-498(a6)	;OpenResource()
		tst.l	d0
		beq.b	.ex
		movea.l	d0,a6
		moveq	#-1,d0
		move.w	#$ff00,d1
		jsr	-18(a6)		;WritePotgo()

.ex		suba.l	a0,a0
		move.w	#$7fff,d0
		moveq	#-2,d1
		lea	$dff000,a6
		move.w	d0,$9a(a6)
;		move.w	d0,$9c(a6)
		move.w	d0,$96(a6)
		move.l	a0,$80(a6)
		move.l	#$01800000,(a0)+
		move.l	d1,(a0)
		move.w	d1,$88(a6)
		subq.l	#2,a0
		move.w	#$8280,$96(a6)

.ll		moveq	#0,d0
		btst	#7,$bfe001     ;1st
		seq	d0
		lsl.w	#4,d0
		btst	#14-8,$16(a6)  ;2nd
		seq	d0
;		btst	#12-8,$16(a6)  ;3rd
;		seq	d0
		move.w	d0,(a0)
		bra.b	.ll
		
pot	dc.b	'potgo.resource',0
So you can see a default setup for POTGO via potgo.resource (not necessary in this case, but system compliant) and then a buttons test.

Screen:
Code:
- black -> no button
- red   -> button1
- cyan  -> button2
- white -> both
Attached Files
File Type: zip button.bootblock.zip (1.2 KB, 76 views)
ross is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 01:04   #1482
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion
 
Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 52
Posts: 12,435
Code:
- black -> no button
- red   -> button1
- cyan  -> button2
- white -> both

Yep, works exactly like that with the Tecno Plus pad.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 01:14   #1483
jvdw007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post


WHDLoad patch by JOTD complains about damaged or unsupported files when installed from rygar_aga_final.adf
My and other people's issues are to do with the above. Sorry for not spelling it out more.
jvdw007 is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 01:26   #1484
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Code:
- black -> no button
- red   -> button1
- cyan  -> button2
- white -> both

Yep, works exactly like that with the Tecno Plus pad.
Ok thanks, waiting Graeme for investigating
ross is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 08:25   #1485
mcgeezer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Screen:
Code:
- black -> no button
- red   -> button1
- cyan  -> button2
- white -> both

Tried this just now in the game and as the standard ADF.

Works fine with the Monster Joystick.

Sega 6 button Joypad the 2nd button is not registering at all.

So.... what I'll try and do is clear POTGO and see what happens with the 6 button pad as I know it registers the C button with nothing written to POTGO from boot up.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 09:40   #1486
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Sega 6 button Joypad the 2nd button is not registering at all.

So.... what I'll try and do is clear POTGO and see what happens with the 6 button pad as I know it registers the C button with nothing written to POTGO from boot up.
There are two solutions for this:
- make an in-game option for the joy/pad selection type
- leave joy/pad handling to whd slave

I don't think it's possible to operate both joysticks with the same value set for POTGO (without side effects).
But perhaps jotd knows something more about it considering the billions of attempts he has made
ross is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 11:04   #1487
malko
Ex nihilo nihil
 
malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 4,856
Not really the need to post but as a positive note, everything working fine with the 'Final ADF release' and the "Hori Fighting stick 4 mini" (under WinUAE)


Last edited by malko; 14 October 2019 at 11:12. Reason: precision
malko is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:37   #1488
mcgeezer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
There are two solutions for this:
- make an in-game option for the joy/pad selection type
- leave joy/pad handling to whd slave

I don't think it's possible to operate both joysticks with the same value set for POTGO (without side effects).
But perhaps jotd knows something more about it considering the billions of attempts he has made
Thanks Ross.... I think I'm just going to leave this now as it's clear there isn't a great deal wrong with the current code in the game with regard to the second button, it's therefore clear that some people have non-compatible sticks that do not close on pin 9 which the Amiga expects.

I guess I have to be a bit brutal and say play the game in one button mode and if you like it enough then buy a compatible stick, if those who know how to want to fix it with a slave then that is absolutely fine (i can even help by making adjustments to the code if necessary).

I may later on do a CD32 version and so that would be the right time to look at the controls again.

Graeme
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:44   #1489
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion
 
Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 52
Posts: 12,435
I don't think this is entirely true since my Tecno Plus is a 100% Amiga compatible 2-button pad (yes, it has 3 buttons but the third button is actually button 1 too). It should work out of the box with Rygar.

But i'm a bit puzzled why the CD32 pads works fine, directly with the Blue button. Always thought that the Red and Blue buttons from the CD32 controller are exactly the same as on any other 2-button Amiga pads (electrically wired). Are really the Kickstarts and/or the OS the culprit here?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:49   #1490
mcgeezer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I don't think this is entirely true since my Tecno Plus is a 100% Amiga compatible 2-button pad (yes, it has 3 buttons but the third button is actually button 1 too). It should work out of the box with Rygar.

But i'm a bit puzzled why the CD32 pads works fine, directly with the Blue button. Always thought that the Red and Blue buttons from the CD32 controller are exactly the same as on any other 2-button Amiga pads (electrically wired).
Are you able to tell me a few other amiga games that natively support your stick without modification? I need a good example to work from an existing ipf.

Graeme
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:50   #1491
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion
 
Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 52
Posts: 12,435
B.C. Kid = Jump button
Turrican I+II = Energy Line
Turrican 3 = Jump Button
Lionheart = Jump button
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:51   #1492
mcgeezer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
B.C. Kid = Jump button
Turrican I+II = Energy Line
Turrican 3 = Jump Button
Lionheart = Jump button
Ok, i’ll try these games with my sega pad tonight and see what i get.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:52   #1493
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion
 
Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 52
Posts: 12,435
Sega Mega Drive pad might not work with all games. But your 2-Button Stick should.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:55   #1494
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
Could someone collect all the information in single post?

CD32 pad is slightly different because buttons have pullup resistors which means it always works even if POTGO is set "wrong".
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:57   #1495
mcgeezer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Sega Mega Drive pad might not work with all games. But your 2-Button Stick should.
My two button monster joystick does as it is specifically compatible (was the reason i bought it).

I will upload an adf tonight where i can get my sega pad working with button c, i’ll see if it also works with your joystick and if it does - will add support.

It’s about the best compromise i can do.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:58   #1496
DamienD
Banned
 
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 47
Posts: 20,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvdw007 View Post
My and other people's issues are to do with the above. Sorry for not spelling it out more.
As mentioned, this was fixed by jotd on the night of the 12th of October: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=1429

You can grab the fixed slave from The Zone! i.e. Rygar.lha.

...but it may be worth waiting as mcgeezer / ross etc. are fixing an issue with the 2nd button detection on some joypads.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 16:59   #1497
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion
 
Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 52
Posts: 12,435
Quote:
I will upload an adf tonight where i can get my sega pad working with button c, i’ll see if it also works with your joystick and if it does - will add support.

Though you already did this last night with your debug ADF? The Mega Drive pad C-button worked, but not the second button from the Techno Plus pad.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 17:06   #1498
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
I will upload an adf tonight where i can get my sega pad working with button c, i’ll see if it also works with your joystick and if it does - will add support.

It’s about the best compromise i can do.
I agree, menu selection with 3 options: 1 button, 2 buttons, 2 buttons alt.

You could also insert the bootblock from my test ADF.
Starting from a know OS situation do not hurt (POTGO=$FF00).

ross is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 17:10   #1499
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Though you already did this last night with your debug ADF? The Mega Drive pad C-button worked, but not the second button from the Techno Plus pad.
What version are you talking about? let's put order
ross is offline  
Old 14 October 2019, 17:17   #1500
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion
 
Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 52
Posts: 12,435
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=1478
Retro-Nerd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entry: Rygar AGA Edition mcgeezer Coders. Entries 75 28 February 2019 20:41
On the Ball - World Cup Edition AGA djcasey request.Old Rare Games 4 25 January 2013 12:39
On The Ball League Edition AGA , Player Manager 2 StarEye Games images which need to be WHDified 11 22 January 2010 18:21
The Vague #1 AGA-RTG edition is released ! kas1e Amiga scene 12 30 October 2007 00:27
On The Ball: World Cup Edition AGA CodyJarrett request.Old Rare Games 11 27 May 2003 06:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:59.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.18939 seconds with 16 queries