English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Entertainment

Old 23 March 2019, 20:09   #1
jmmijo

PS4 Model Questions

So since I'm still rocking an older PS3 that is mainly used as a MEDIA Player, I'm wondering if upgrading to any of the current PS4 models is a good thing but here are some questions:

1) I have an extensive Bluray collection so having a Bluray player is a must, do all of the models come with one ?

2a) Is there any support for a built-in DLNA server ?

2b) If it supports a DLNA server can I connect my external USB3 HDD's via a USB HUB and stream the media files ?

2c) If I can do the above then can I share the folders to update the media files or do I have to connect them back onto my Windows machine to update ?

3) Could be I just wanna to do something with a Rasberry Pi or maybe some other mini-barebones ?

Any feedback would be welcome, thanks
Old 25 March 2019, 12:08   #2
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

While I have regular PS4 I am not an expert in streaming nor I have DLNA server to test it. Since DLNA was started by SONY, my guess is that should work, but as I've said, I would have to install server to test it. (I might do so after spring break)

All PS4 games are BR, so assumption would be that they all play BR disks.

KODI does work well on RPi.

Speaking of KODI, this might be of some interest to you...

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Anubis; 25 March 2019 at 12:27.
Old 25 March 2019, 17:07   #3
jmmijo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
While I have regular PS4 I am not an expert in streaming nor I have DLNA server to test it. Since DLNA was started by SONY, my guess is that should work, but as I've said, I would have to install server to test it. (I might do so after spring break)

All PS4 games are BR, so assumption would be that they all play BR disks.

KODI does work well on RPi.

Speaking of KODI, this might be of some interest to you...

[ Show youtube player ]