English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 April 2014, 00:42   #1
Z3k
Registered User

Z3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: italy
Posts: 44
BlizzardPPC needing repair/advice

Yesterday i decided to switch on my 1200Tower with Blizzard PCC 603e+040 to watch the latest Amiga prods from Revision demoparty. Powerled remained dark. Promtly changed the power supply unit with another one and let there be light. Now my amiga powers on, i hear the ide hdd and cd initialize but the screen remains black. Long story short, if i remove the Blizzard card everything else seem to work. Here's a brief list of things i tried;
- cleaned contacts on 1200 and blizzard
- removed and switched ram banks on the blizzard
- moved to another amiga 1200
- tried pressing ESC to enter the setup screen (screen remains black)
- tried pressing both mousebuttons to enter early startup (black screen)
- if i boot pressing "2" the system boots but the blizzard is disabled (i tried to reflash even with the FORCE options but it says cannot detect any board connected)

Both the 68040 and the 603 become hot if i left the board plugged.

Any suggestion is appreciated

Anyone out there who still repair this kind of board?
Z3k is offline  
Old 27 April 2014, 00:57   #2
sneeker
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester!
Posts: 194
No idea how to fix, but stachu100 seems to be most renowned fixer of accelerator cards and ppc's, and upgrades them to 060's and 300mhz ppc's. I know he's on amigabay and probably on here as well.

Hope that helps.
sneeker is offline  
Old 27 April 2014, 16:54   #3
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,257
I remember hearing the FlashROM on the BPPCs was prone to losing data and/or corrupting itself over a long period of time.

Maybe it's worth reflashing it.
jbenam is offline  
Old 27 April 2014, 18:21   #4
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
if i was you i would give stachu100 a pm as he does cpu upgrades for these,its worth a shot if you cant reflash it.
roy bates is offline  
Old 28 April 2014, 03:00   #5
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 811
Try resoldering the CPU connector / reflow with flux and heat up the pins, add fresh solder if necessary.
alenppc is offline  
Old 28 April 2014, 18:15   #6
Z3k
Registered User

Z3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: italy
Posts: 44
Thanks for all your suggestions, since i dont know wich side to hold a soldering iron i contacted stachu100.
Z3k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cud i start a list of 'cycle exact' needing games please kirk support.Games 4 25 April 2009 23:11
Unofficial version of Centurion PL, needing WHDLoad support... Shoonay project.WHDLoad 1 04 August 2008 23:15
Total noob needing help with Amiga Forever Kitt New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 10 August 2007 00:00
Needing help with installing os3.9 wiht 2 harddrives, cdrom and buffered 4way ide Smiley support.Hardware 2 03 June 2006 17:26
Selling/Needing some items CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 5 17 November 2005 20:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06529 seconds with 15 queries