English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2013, 02:31   #1
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
what cable do i need for linking two amigas?

what cable do i need to link 2 amiga 500s in order to play Lotus 2 in full screen 2 player?

Thanks
Tony
trydowave is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 02:53   #2
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
It would be a null modem cable.
You can make them.
Stunt Car Racer uses one for two player with two Amigas.
xArtx is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 03:02   #3
Amiten
Registered User
Amiten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 501
Hello you need a 2 female 25 modem null cable

Like these. http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...mHmDJydePCdb0g

Sorry for the link I post From Smartphone ebay open Android App and cant get the rigth link

But search in ebay for 25 female serial null modem cable.


King of regards
Amiten is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 03:13   #4
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
hi. this one is cheaper...
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2M-SERIAL-...ht_1854wt_1190

will the above work or do i have to get the specific one you showed me?

Thanks
Tony
trydowave is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 03:17   #5
Amiten
Registered User
Amiten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 501
Right i think its the same
Amiten is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 11:02   #6
Rob 1
The Original Domainiac

Rob 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Stafford/UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,291
ahhh linking 2 Amigas!! that brings back some happy memories
Rob 1 is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 11:16   #7
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,896
It also can be used for linking Amiga and ST, Stunt car racer works that way.
Predseda is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 11:25   #8
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
I got mine from Amigakit

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1026

Played stunt car racer vs my brother with it. Don't think gaming gets much better than that.
john1979 is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 11:37   #9
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
I got mine from Amigakit

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1026

Played stunt car racer vs my brother with it. Don't think gaming gets much better than that.
It gets with 8 player league on Stunt Car Racer

And 8 simultaneous players with Super Skidmarks gets quite close too...

Four players in Lotus 2 seemed to be popular too, but naah.. not even close to those other two
jPV is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 13:59   #10
Rob 1
The Original Domainiac

Rob 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Stafford/UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
It also can be used for linking Amiga and ST, Stunt car racer works that way.
I didn't know you could do that

I suppose it's good to laugh at the ST player directly.
Rob 1 is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 17:15   #11
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
That's some forethought, they just had to make their serial protocol the same.
xArtx is offline  
Old 13 July 2013, 14:35   #12
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 47
Posts: 255
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
The best I know is Lotus II Turbo Challenge with 4 players (2 on each Amiga).

But note that you don't need to link 2 Amigas to have good fun... Dynablaster with 5 players on only ONE Amiga is quite fun... but you need lot of alcohol for the loosers.
seb132 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting 2 amigas via serial cable (midi/octamed) systmcrsh support.Hardware 8 06 November 2010 15:13
Linking PC, Amiga and Mac. HardStep support.Hardware 3 01 February 2006 21:03
Devpac Linking Problems Steve Coders. General 8 10 December 2002 11:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07857 seconds with 13 queries