English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 April 2018, 13:26   #861
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,718
Thanks, but you've really made some work for yourself with this, it's just too popular and customisable to keep up with users demands
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 April 2018, 05:07   #862
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by SunSpire View Post
Supamax: I had thought about this before, too. At some point I tried repurposing an old Creative Labs remote control and infrared receiver to see if anything useful could be done with it, but didn't manage to get it responding to anything.

RasPi wifi modules seems like the way to go, do you have any experience with them?
No, sorry, I never tried them.

Quote:
... Also, are we hijacking the thread? *innocent look*
I don't think so .
It could be of interest for many (I hope)...
Supamax is offline  
Old 01 May 2018, 21:10   #863
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 487
New release v0.9.19a with Amiga HD Support
https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wiki/Downloads

* Amiga: Support high-density disk images
--- ADF: 1760kB images
--- Generate HD-ID pattern on pin 34 (interface=amiga)
* DSK: Fixes for Sam Coupe, and others with long tracks

Join the Facebook group for ongoing community support and release notifications! Just reached 1000 members
https://www.facebook.com/groups/flashfloppy/
kaffer is offline  
Old 01 May 2018, 21:33   #864
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Gera tjob thanks kaffer!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
Join the Facebook group for ongoing community support and release notifications!
No, please noooo, no Facebook ;(
Community should stick to EAB
Akira is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 02:37   #865
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 486
any news on ipf's fileformat support ? also seeing as weakbits is a issue perhaps FF can support a supporting file along side the ipf and populate it with the weakbits at sectors... just an idea would need to look into it all myself

Last edited by solidcore; 26 May 2018 at 02:54.
solidcore is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 16:58   #866
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidcore View Post
any news on ipf's fileformat support ? also seeing as weakbits is a issue perhaps FF can support a supporting file along side the ipf and populate it with the weakbits at sectors... just an idea would need to look into it all myself
Native IPF is very much a stretch goal. Right now you can convert to HFEv3, which is supported.
kaffer is offline  
Old 11 June 2018, 13:00   #867
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 63
Hi Kaffer,

I seem to have a new model gotek, a revision c, which doesn't seem to work with the rotary encoder at all.
(I tried directly soldering one to jumper pins, and then also using my existing KA-60 with power, and also a KA-60 with resistors removed and no power, and all 3x kinds of (cheap) encoder don't work at all)

I'm guessing, without you seeing this model, you can't really add support for it?
I can link the Aliexpress supplier I got it from, if that helps.

Assuming that the above is true, then, can you maybe add in support for pressing either of the 2 front buttons, instead of from the front, from one of the jumper pins at the back?
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 11 June 2018, 16:49   #868
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerochip View Post
Hi Kaffer,

I seem to have a new model gotek, a revision c, which doesn't seem to work with the rotary encoder at all.
(I tried directly soldering one to jumper pins, and then also using my existing KA-60 with power, and also a KA-60 with resistors removed and no power, and all 3x kinds of (cheap) encoder don't work at all)

I'm guessing, without you seeing this model, you can't really add support for it?
I can link the Aliexpress supplier I got it from, if that helps.

Assuming that the above is true, then, can you maybe add in support for pressing either of the 2 front buttons, instead of from the front, from one of the jumper pins at the back?
Perhaps you just have a broken Gotek? Or extra jumpers that shouldn't be there? (Check no extra jumpers at rear of Gotek)

Why do you think it is "Rev C"? Also try tracing the rotary header pins through to the STM32 chip and ensure they are routed same as any other old Gotek model.
kaffer is offline  
Old 12 June 2018, 00:46   #869
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
Perhaps you just have a broken Gotek? Or extra jumpers that shouldn't be there? (Check no extra jumpers at rear of Gotek)

Why do you think it is "Rev C"? Also try tracing the rotary header pins through to the STM32 chip and ensure they are routed same as any other old Gotek model.
Well, SFRC922C is silkscreened on the pcb, where SFRC922 and SFRC922B is on my others.

There are definitely no other jumpers on the pcb!

It's behaves sort of funnily too, if I connect the encoder while the Gotek is powered up. It decrements the Gotek slot cound by 4, every time I connect the pins, if its powered and connected to a ka-60. If connecting to an encoder with no resistors and no power, nothing happens.

The above doesn't happen to any of my other Goteks, but, none of them have that C after the model.

The only reason I use the encoder, is because its a non destructive addition to the Gotek that let's me mount it inside a case without having to fiddle at the side of the floppy slot, and without soldering/modifying the Gotek.
If that makes sense!

So, the front two buttons connected to two jumper pins wound mean I can mount it out of the way, and route the display and buttons and USB outside the amiga in a small tidy enclosure!

I can't trace anything at the moment, but I can soon, so I'll give it a try then.
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 12 June 2018, 08:55   #870
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 487
My OLED-modded Gotek happens to be SFRC922C, they're the ones with a 5+2 pin programming header. So it does work, and SFRC922C has been around a long time with no other complaints regarding the rotary mod either.

The only rotary complaints I have had have been because at least one type of cheap encoder doesn't work properly. But since you've tried several types it's very unlikely to be that. More likely your Gotek has a problem.
kaffer is offline  
Old 12 June 2018, 10:51   #871
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
My OLED-modded Gotek happens to be SFRC922C, they're the ones with a 5+2 pin programming header. So it does work, and SFRC922C has been around a long time with no other complaints regarding the rotary mod either.

The only rotary complaints I have had have been because at least one type of cheap encoder doesn't work properly. But since you've tried several types it's very unlikely to be that. More likely your Gotek has a problem.
OK, thanks!

Well, otherwise it's working fine, so, I guess, lets just ignore this!
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 12 June 2018, 12:44   #872
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerochip View Post
OK, thanks!

Well, otherwise it's working fine, so, I guess, lets just ignore this!
It may well be fixable, check the soldering, it can occasionally be a bit wonky.
kaffer is offline  
Old 12 June 2018, 12:47   #873
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 487
New release v0.9.21a with HxC-Compat-Mode Improvements
https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wiki/Downloads

* HxC-Compat File Selectors:
---- New font on Amiga and Atari ST
---- Faster folder navigation on Amiga
* New default 6x13 font (Codec, by Chris Cannam)
* Accelerate the stock Gotek buttons when using a rotary encoder
---- FF.CFG: "twobutton-action = rotary-fast"

kaffer is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 13:32   #874
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 248
Send a message via MSN to voyager
I have a gotek with the 0.9.19a firmware in a external drive enclosure using it as DF1.
If I make a blank HD image in winUAE and try to use it in my gotek I got a DF1???, sometimes it seems to work, but there are no files on it, sometimes there are block error's but most of the time it does nothing. I use a A500+ with KS3.1.

I'm I doing something wrong of do I miss a step somewhere?
voyager is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 16:47   #875
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager View Post
I have a gotek with the 0.9.19a firmware in a external drive enclosure using it as DF1.
If I make a blank HD image in winUAE and try to use it in my gotek I got a DF1???, sometimes it seems to work, but there are no files on it, sometimes there are block error's but most of the time it does nothing. I use a A500+ with KS3.1.

I'm I doing something wrong of do I miss a step somewhere?
I haven't been able to get HD floppy images to work either. I tried in WinUAE as well as ADF dopus. I haven't reported it sooner because i don't have any HD physical floppies to worry about nor have I found HD adf files that I want to access.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 19:08   #876
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 487
HD ADF: My own light testing was on an A500 with Kick 3.1. It seemed to reliably detect HD vs DD disks and that is the main battle. Feel free to raise an issue ticket on Github. If you do so please describe precise steps to reproduce the issue, how reliably it reproduces, and attach a problematic HD ADF too.
kaffer is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 14:02   #877
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 248
Send a message via MSN to voyager
Is it possible that the external case is the problem?
voyager is offline  
Old 25 June 2018, 09:57   #878
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,710
It could well be. Try disabling (non-destructively) the ready pulse generation in the external controller PCB.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 June 2018, 13:24   #879
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 487
voyager, Jope: You are correct of course, an ordinary Amiga drive enclosure will always emit the Amiga-DD ID sequence and that overrides he Amiga-HD sequence. Hence HD disks get identified as DD and are unreadable (or even, confusingly, unreliably unreadable!).

The simplest universal defeat is to modify the enclosure's interface board: cut the trace to pin 1 of the external connector, and connect pin 34 of the internal drive connector to pin 1 of the external connector.

I will add this caveat and guidance to the FF wiki.
kaffer is offline  
Old 25 June 2018, 14:51   #880
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
voyager, Jope: You are correct of course, an ordinary Amiga drive enclosure will always emit the Amiga-DD ID sequence and that overrides he Amiga-HD sequence. Hence HD disks get identified as DD and are unreadable (or even, confusingly, unreliably unreadable!).

The simplest universal defeat is to modify the enclosure's interface board: cut the trace to pin 1 of the external connector, and connect pin 34 of the internal drive connector to pin 1 of the external connector.

I will add this caveat and guidance to the FF wiki.
could this be an issue for internal goteks as well? I haven't gone back to the issue yet but I have an A500 rev5 mainboard. The original internal floppy drive was DD and I replaced that with my GoTek. i don't recall if the gotek required some setup besides DF0 jumper. I never had an HD floppy in an Amiga before so I'm curious if it really is just plug and play or not (some additional steps required).
Sinphaltimus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
kazmat
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help to open-source SAS/C Hauke Coders. General 35 26 September 2017 22:39
LCD on Gotek (with HxC firmware) christopherpm Hardware mods 1 08 January 2017 02:51
Gotek drive firmware for mounting .iso cd images Ox. Amiga scene 7 05 November 2014 05:14
Gotek drive firmware for Amiga general USB mass storage solution Supamax Amiga scene 2 20 September 2014 08:35
BlitzBasic - Is now open source Djay Amiga scene 2 08 February 2003 01:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12167 seconds with 17 queries