English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 December 2018, 02:35   #1
raurencezk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: London
Posts: 0
Create Windows 10 installation disk

My PC runs very slow and hope a clean install would fix the issue. What's the best tool to create a bootable DVD?
raurencezk is offline  
Old 20 December 2018, 08:10   #2
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
I assume you will be grabbing the ISO from Microsoft's web site.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/soft...d/windows10ISO

I think I just downloaded the image and created both a bootable DISC and USB drive for it.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 20 December 2018, 09:45   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 3,254
Microsoft do supply a tool to create installation media. However, if you're burning an ISO to DVD this will not be necessary. The ISO will be of a bootable DVD image.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 20 December 2018, 13:26   #4
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,673
Just get USB memory stick and Microsoft's Media Creation Tools will set it up and make it bootable.

With every major upgrade I download and create one for easier upgrade.

Last edited by Anubis; 20 December 2018 at 13:32.
Anubis is offline  
Old 20 December 2018, 14:32   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,844
You can select to re-install Windows from the repair options without a physical medium.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 December 2018, 17:39   #6
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
You can select to re-install Windows from the repair options without a physical medium.
He wants a fresh install, not repair.
Anubis is offline  
Old 20 December 2018, 19:43   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,844
It's like fresh. Only the user files remain, everything else is gone.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 December 2018, 20:04   #8
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
It's like fresh. Only the user files remain, everything else is gone.
I can confirm this too, had to do the same thing to my fathers machine about 3 or 4 months ago.

The restore option wasn't working so I had to reinstall a new copy using this option and was able to recover his data files too.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 21 December 2018, 11:17   #9
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 3,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
It's like fresh. Only the user files remain, everything else is gone.
And the user files could potentially contain a virus (or viruses) which caused the OS to fail or run like shit in the first place.

In my opinion, you'd have to be a fool to do anything other than a fresh install.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 21 December 2018, 12:57   #10
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 120
Backup your user files, including your favorites, to a USB drive. Then, if you have the capability, connect the USB drive to another computer that has AV and run a virus check on it. Even if there is an infected file, this procedure will NOT infect the host computer.

Then create the recovery disks! This is the first thing that should be done with any new computer in the first place. You can then boot from the recovery disks for an "out of box installation". You will need 3 or 4 blank DVDs.

If your computer does not have an optical drive you'll need to use an external USB optical drive.

Next you need to completely update the OS from Win Updates.

Then copy your user files back.

This is the fastest and most complete procedure possible and restores your computers OEM hidden Win 10 license key. If you don't or can't create the OEM recovery disks you'll have to go to the manufacturers website and download and install all the drivers after a basic install anyway. If you need bootable media, you'll have to follow Anubis' suggestion using Microsoft's Media Creation Tools. Also, if the MS (not OEM) install media asks for a license and you don't have the OEM key, you might have to go buy Win 10. You can always run a program to extract your license before you before you wipe the drive.

Try to create the recovery disks!

Last edited by Amiga4000; 21 December 2018 at 13:05.
Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 21 December 2018, 13:00   #11
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,673
May I suggest Macrium Reflect to backup your computer before all of this. I use it for a while now, and it is free for home non-commercial use.
Anubis is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 12:07   #12
raurencezk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: London
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Just get USB memory stick and Microsoft's Media Creation Tools will set it up and make it bootable.

With every major upgrade I download and create one for easier upgrade.
The media Creation stuck at creation process forever, and never prompt to install
raurencezk is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 16:31   #13
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,673
At what step?

Here is video how to create usb stick.

[ Show youtube player ]
Anubis is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 19:11   #14
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by raurencezk View Post
The media Creation stuck at creation process forever, and never prompt to install
I know I used the same tool to create both an Optical Install Disc and a USB pen drive and both work fine for me.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 22:55   #15
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by raurencezk View Post
The media Creation stuck at creation process forever, and never prompt to install
Maybe you should do this on a working PC and not on the victim itself.
thomas is offline  
Old 25 December 2018, 02:20   #16
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,681
I've used MS Disc Creation Tool without issues.

If you're having difficulty, you could connect the computer to another either via router or directly and run set up off network computer via TFTP. I did this on Acer One Atom which didn't have DVD drive and the USB I had at the time failed to boot.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 25 December 2018, 15:06   #17
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 120
To all, although this is a link for the US page, here you can download an ISO of WIN 10, 8.1 & 7. All versions. I've confirmed with Win 10 64bit download (4.7GB). In some cases you may need a dual-layer DVD.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/home
Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 07:35   #18
Casery
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Korea
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamijo View Post
I assume you will be grabbing the ISO from Microsoft's web site.or use this burner to do that.

https://www.tunesbro.com/iso-burner.html

I think I just downloaded the image and created both a bootable DISC and USB drive for it.
Yeah ,that's what i did for it ,went Microsoft and installed the.iso files.if the OP needs a burner,it will do very well.

Last edited by Casery; 01 January 2019 at 12:10.
Casery is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 08:19   #19
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga4000 View Post
To all, although this is a link for the US page, here you can download an ISO of WIN 10, 8.1 & 7. All versions. I've confirmed with Win 10 64bit download (4.7GB). In some cases you may need a dual-layer DVD.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/home
I would just overturn DVD... For an few MB I've not had problems. I use Imgburn. You can also verify write so you can check correctly written DVD.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 16:02   #20
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
I would just overturn DVD... For an few MB I've not had problems. I use Imgburn. You can also verify write so you can check correctly written DVD.
Updated info for direct download of ISO's.

I've had that link on my MAC for quit awhile and navigated to it when I posted to D/L ISO's. D/L ISO's no problem. However, I went to my Win 7 machine to D/L the ISO's and the link redirected to the media creation page instead. If you use a Mac to D/L ISO's you can get them. Here's why (from MS):

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"You’ve been routed to this page because the operating system you’re using won’t support the Windows 10 media creation tool and we want to make sure you can download Windows 10."

"Windows 10 editions below are valid for both Windows 10 Home and Windows 10 Pro."

When navigating the D/L choices you designate language and 23/64 bit.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So, use a Mac.... get the ISO's! Cool heh?

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...d/windows10ISO
Amiga4000 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
create workbench disk eventhorizon New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 12 October 2018 23:16
How do I create a save disk… gb_pdx support.FS-UAE 8 26 January 2017 22:48
Multiple WinUAE installation on 1 Windows machine, some settings are shared.. ruthan support.WinUAE 3 09 October 2016 11:49
how to create save disk jonricky support.Games 3 10 July 2009 01:33
Classic Workbench installation on real amiga without Windows. Possible ? AMIGrAve project.ClassicWB 28 06 December 2007 15:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10089 seconds with 13 queries