English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2009, 01:51   #41
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stedy View Post
Hi,
@supamax
On your first cable you have no +12V connection to pin 8 of the SCART lead, this means the TV is not set to 4:3 RGB
mode.

Ian
So is it normal that it perfectly works with my Philips CM 8833 and not with "mere" TVs?
Supamax is offline  
Old 12 October 2009, 21:19   #42
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
So is it normal that it perfectly works with my Philips CM 8833 and not with "mere" TVs?
Yes.

The CM8833 takes HSYNC, VSYNC and RGB video. A SCART TV needs some control signals select the correct mode of operation so the lack of AV mode signal will not affect the operation of the CM8833.
Stedy is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 22:33   #43
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,304
Any difference on this and the one sold on Amigakit? I mean, in the hardware strategy/picture quality...
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 03 November 2009, 01:26   #44
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 652
Hi,

Just a quick update, I have the components in stock now to allow me to experiment with the cheaper CPLD sync circuit and the more expensive video decoder/encoder and scandoubler parts. PCB design should start in the next month.
Stedy is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 04:39   #45
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stedy View Post
Hi,
@supamax
On your first cable you have no +12V connection to pin 8 of the SCART lead, this means the TV is not set to 4:3 RGB
mode.

Ian
You are right, but if I manually switch to AV mode I can see the Amiga display.
Supamax is offline  
Old 29 November 2009, 14:25   #46
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
On a homebrew-looking SCART cable I got with my CDTV, which works fine on the one TV I've tested it on, the following aren't connected (on the SCART end):

5
9
13
18

8 is connected to the same wire as 16, but with different resistors between - haven't checked the effects on a widescreen TV, but SCART mode switching works fine...


So basically, the only ground is composite ground... still seems to work though, but I dunno if it is displaying true RGB or not... I think it is as the picture seems sharper.
Muzer is offline  
Old 29 November 2009, 14:49   #47
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
the following aren't connected (on the SCART end):
5
9
13
18
They are all grounds. Less important for CRT TV's but becoming increasingly more important on LCD TV's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
8 is connected to the same wire as 16, but with different resistors between
Fine as long as the resistors are the right value.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
I dunno if it is displaying true RGB or not... I think it is as the picture seems sharper.
23-pin Amiga socket only has RGB. If it was not "displaying true RGB" you'd have a black screen.
alexh is offline  
Old 29 November 2009, 14:52   #48
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Oh right - I assumed it had composite somewhere. So what is the composite video connected to then, because it's definitely connected (and has a resistor)?


It is an LCD TV it works fine on, btw, though the picture is slightly noisy still (the colours still bleed a little, esp. black) - would connecting up the other grounds fix it?
Muzer is offline  
Old 29 November 2009, 16:02   #49
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
So what is the composite video connected to then?
Composite sync OUT (on the Amiga) is connected to composite video IN (on the SCART) conveying just the horizontal and vertical position information, no picture.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
would connecting up the other grounds fix it?
Unknown, couldn't hurt if you are an accomplished solderer and can put in all the small bridges at the SCART end of the cable.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 November 2009, 01:12   #50
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 652
Hello,

I have finally got around to adding the full RGB/SCART guide to my website.
Take a look here:
http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am...iga_scart.html

Have added some oscilloscope traces and test results from the other TVs that I tested, corrected a few typos and re-arranged the document slightly to make it flow better.

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 30 November 2009, 18:43   #51
Jonathan Drain
YARDS NEED MORE BYTANIUM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sector K240
Posts: 338
Where do you buy DB23 connectors in the UK?
Jonathan Drain is offline  
Old 30 November 2009, 19:12   #52
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Drain View Post
Where do you buy DB23 connectors in the UK?
Try a Maplin Electronics store... they seem to be everywhere these days but i think their prices can sometimes be a bit high.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 30 November 2009, 19:39   #53
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,218
No-where in the UK that I've found (including Maplin) sell new DB-23 connectors (and shrouds).

The only mass produced item which ever used them was the Amiga (just like 13-pin DIN on Atari ST). There are the odd place online selling NOS in USA or China for about $4 inc shroud but usually you've got to buy a large number.

You can cut down a DB25-pin if you have to.

Last edited by alexh; 30 November 2009 at 19:47.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 November 2009, 20:12   #54
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPie5000 View Post
Try a Maplin Electronics store... they seem to be everywhere these days but i think their prices can sometimes be a bit high.
No. They don't have any DB23 connector only the housing.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 30 November 2009, 20:26   #55
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by lopos2000 View Post
They don't have any DB23 connector only the housing.
Is that cos it's the same as DB25?
alexh is offline  
Old 02 December 2009, 13:31   #56
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,218
They sell 23-pin D connectors here

http://www.retro-data.com/

€11.97 for two
alexh is offline  
Old 03 December 2009, 08:19   #57
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,733
Ah, that spanish site. Great, but sounds like you could save a bunch by doing the 25->23 mod... you can make it pretty-ish with a Dremel, and it's covered by the Amiga D-sub, so...
Photon is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 00:13   #58
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 342
I have made 2 days ago RGB cable, as I did not have much time (spent all on fighting with apollo 060) I did not use any resistors: RGB to RGB, CSYNCH to CSYNCH, 5V to RGB switch line and it works like a charm ... . Connected to high end, top quality, HD not ready TV, made special for Sainsbury and called RED. So, I switched it to PAL Hires Laced and the image is stable , no blinking - it looks like my Scandy is going to be sold as it is not needed anymore .
bebek is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 00:39   #59
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,733
LCD or CRT?
Photon is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 00:51   #60
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 342
It is LCD 15.4".
bebek is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New cable for RGB - scart Anders1984 support.Hardware 12 20 August 2013 23:40
Photon's RGB Scart cable Photon support.Hardware 5 21 October 2012 01:55
Amiga RGB to Scart TV cable diagram Anemos Hardware mods 11 16 July 2009 23:22
RGB to scart cable Hungry Horace MarketPlace 9 07 November 2007 10:06
rgb->scart cable jrom support.Hardware 26 23 December 2004 23:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10027 seconds with 16 queries