English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 April 2018, 14:01   #121
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,043
But then you cannot use JIT, and speed vanish. Is AfA really worth that?
kolla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 April 2018, 14:05   #122
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvanceFollow View Post
Do I need a 68040.library if running on Amiberry / WinUAE with 68040 emulation?
Depends on what OS and kickstart, and what type of 68040 you configure it to emulate, but in general - yes.
kolla is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 14:23   #123
AdvanceFollow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sweden
Age: 33
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
But then you cannot use JIT, and speed vanish. Is AfA really worth that?
On a powerful desktop PC, it might still be usable without JIT. On my Pi 3B+ it was already a bit on the sluggish side with JIT enabled.
Without MMU, it shouldn't be any less stable than normal OS 3.9 without MMU, though, should it?
AdvanceFollow is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 14:27   #124
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvanceFollow View Post
Without MMU, it shouldn't be any less stable than normal OS 3.9 without MMU, though, should it?
Of course not, but this is software and there are bugs, the more software you add, the more bugs you are likely to suffer from
kolla is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 12:22   #125
keito
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 42
With tips from AMIGASYSTEM & Peterk (thanks!) I am now using much cleaner and nicer updated Drawer Icons A few other small tweaks by me too, this is running very fast and nice, still more to do though



keito is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 16:46   #126
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,967
Well done keito, looks much nicer than my own Workbench.

Why are you running an MMU on UAE? This disables the Jit compiler and is slow. I prefer 68020 + 68882 only. With Jit the emulation is 15-20 times faster. My slow Mini-PC shows a CPU in WhichAmiga with more than 1700 MHz, not just 79 MHz.

And why are you using AGA instead of Picasso96/UAE screenmodes? That's damned slow again. An UAE gfx card is detected, but Picasso96 seems not to be installed (not reported by WhichAmiga). But the quality looks like on a TrueColor screen. Strange?

I just wonder that you say that your system runs fast.

Last edited by PeterK; 17 May 2018 at 17:27.
PeterK is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 17:16   #127
keito
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Well done keito, looks much nicer than my own Workbench.

Why are you running an MMU on UAE? This disables the Jit compiler and is slow. I prefer 68020 + 68882 only. With Jit the emulation is 15-20 times faster.

And why are you using AGA instead of Picasso96/UAE screenmodes? That's damned slow again.

I just wonder that you say that your system runs fast.

I AM using P96/UAE screenmodes, and it IS really fast...

EDIT: You're right though WhichAmiga would normally report P96 if found, will have a look into that, thanks for the tip!

However ther MMU/JIT Compiler issue, THANK YOU! I'm going to look right into that now and try and achieve some more gains/speed from this setup.... it's always a WIP so just trying things here and there and then comparing data/results, but thank you for the tip

Last edited by keito; 18 May 2018 at 07:23.
keito is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 17:35   #128
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,967
My previous posting was updated after your quoting.

Yes, I already noticed that the quality looks like on a TrueColor screen, but Picasso96 was not reported in WhichAmiga like on my system.

Of course, you can not use any MMULib stuff on a system with Jit enabled.
PeterK is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 18:08   #129
keito
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
My previous posting was updated after your quoting.

Yes, I already noticed that the quality looks like on a TrueColor screen, but Picasso96 was not reported in WhichAmiga like on my system.

Of course, you can not use any MMULib stuff on a system with Jit enabled.
Just did a quick test without MMU, using 020/030 .... YES! Much quicker, it was already quick though, but Just In Time is much preferred, will be doing some more tweaking for the next update, thanks PeterK! <3
keito is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 18:55   #130
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
I prefer 68020 + 68882 only. With Jit the emulation is 15-20 times faster. My slow Mini-PC shows a CPU in WhichAmiga with more than 1700 MHz, not just 79 MHz.
Ciao Peter, I noticed on WinUAE that the power of a 68030/JIT/68882 on WhichAmiga is much more powerful than a 68060/JIT/CPU Internal but this only in theory. Test the two configurations on video or on heavy games as OpenArena (Quake3) and the performances are identical, same speed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Test.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	233.5 KB
ID:	58268  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 19:05   #131
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,967
The difference between the estimated clock speed of a 68020 and a 68060 as shown in WhichAmiga just means that the 060 can do more instructions per cycle than a 020, but the instructions per second are the same, just depending on the emulation speed of the host.
PeterK is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 19:09   #132
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,895
Thanks for the info Peter
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 18 May 2018, 08:28   #133
keito
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Thanks for your help PeterK, using CPU settings as 020 with 882 is much much faster, also WhichAmiga correctly reports no MMU now, though when I took this screenshot just now I forgot to change the "chipset extra" option in Amiberry back to A1200 or Generic as I also forgot to change the kick rom from an A4000 one also. Will continue with my setup this week, but for now, off to work

keito is offline  
Old 18 May 2018, 14:16   #134
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,967
Here comes my boring Workbench now. As you can see I don't care much about eye candy or nice looking icons. It's more a Workbench and not a Showbench. It just shows my laziness, not updating most of my icons for more than 25 years, or since I've installed OS 3.1 on my A2000. My Mini-PC is an ASRock Q2900 (4x2.66GHz), 8 GB, 120 GB SSD with Windows 10. The WhichAmiga FPU clock speed is just a joke, sometimes 3.5 MHz, sometimes 7000 MHz or just everything between.

@keito
From which iconset are these quadratic icons on your screenshot. Do they have two images? I have only a few of these icons in my collection, with one image only. Then my library adds a simple glow effect, but a real glow effect would be nicer. Your CPU clock speed still looks very low. Is this on a Raspberry Pi or is the Jit still off?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Workbench.png
Views:	42
Size:	873.6 KB
ID:	58278  

Last edited by PeterK; 18 May 2018 at 16:25. Reason: typo
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 May 2018, 16:56   #135
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,895
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get Workbench running in WinUAE? DashProject support.Apps 1 21 January 2012 23:56
Winuae noob help with workbench mr_durdan support.WinUAE 4 29 December 2011 15:32
WinUAE and Workbench 1.3 galu support.WinUAE 4 17 September 2009 20:40
Bloodwych workbench on winuae synchro project.ClassicWB 14 15 June 2009 20:29
Workbench 3.x OS in WinUAE oneshotdead New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 29 August 2007 07:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10719 seconds with 14 queries