English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2020, 21:57   #1
Hiddenevil
Registered User

Hiddenevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 199
High density floppies

Back in the day, I had a 1.44mb external drive. Is it still possible to get an amiga reading high density disks?
Hiddenevil is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 00:08   #2
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 46
Posts: 969
If you have high density disk drive that was made for Amiga then you can.

Also, on big box Amigas you can install LS120 drive on IDE port (IDE card on A2000/A3000) and then you can read 1.44MB disks.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 00:23   #3
Docent
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 13
Amigas 4000 were sold with high density (1.76MB) floppy drives - if you have one that works you can easily read such disks. I believe it is also possible to connect and use such floppy drive to other Amigas.
Docent is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 00:44   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,072
Yes I had Floppy drives HD on A4000 and external Floppy drives HD that I used on A1200, if I remember correctly it also worked on A600 and A500Plus.

With diskspare.device I formatted to 1968 kB
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 18:07   #5
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by Docent View Post
Amigas 4000 were sold with high density (1.76MB) floppy drives - if you have one that works you can easily read such disks. I believe it is also possible to connect and use such floppy drive to other Amigas.

Many A3000s also shipped with a high density drive.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 19:20   #6
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 269
Several vendors, including DKB and Power Computing, sold external high-density drives as well.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 20:23   #7
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
Amiga4000T only includes a DD drive but I replaced mine.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 07 August 2020, 10:46   #8
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
Amiga4000T only includes a DD drive but I replaced mine.
Only the C= A4000Ts shipped with a HD drive. Escom/Quickpak ones shipped with DD drives (well, HD drives used only as DD drives) as they couldn't easily source the half-speed HD ones.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 09 August 2020, 18:33   #9
Hiddenevil
Registered User

Hiddenevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 199
So right now in 2020, if I wanted to use 1.44 floppy disk drive externally on a 500+. What would be my best options? Find an old Power XL drive? Or is there a modern alternative?

I tried using a 1.44mb ADF I created in WinUAE with my Gotek, but it read it as 880kb.

As the Amiga sees the Gotek as a real floppy drive, do I need to install a library file or device file for the Amiga to recognise high density disks?
Hiddenevil is offline  
Old 09 August 2020, 19:20   #10
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 502
High density floppies

On the Amiga side there is nothing you need to do or even can do.

AFAIK the HxC can emulate HD-drives.


https://lotharek.pl

Don’t know if the gotek can be convinced to do the same.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 09 August 2020, 19:45   #11
Misclegend
Banned

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 193
the only high density floppy drive which exist was the chinon FZ-357A
was shipped with some A4000 and some A3000 before commodore went bankrupt

however there were some commercial modified drives which worked as high density drive on the Amiga, external and internal
but those were not authentic Amiga floppy drives, were modified hacks which never worked 100%

you need kick 2.0+ to connect natively a high density drive on any Amiga

anyways I wonder why today someone in 2020 want to install a high density drive? is a waste of time because there not programs or games which comes in such format
Misclegend is offline  
Old 09 August 2020, 22:07   #12
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 502
The Dell floppies are one example of external HD floppies. With adapter, you can also put them internally. Or re-solder that small pcb that is inside the cable of the to the internal floppy cable.

I have one for years and haven’t had any issue whatsoever. And I used it under Kick 1.3. Especially there as it was my minimum bootable environment.

Other drives were external ones by e.g. Micronic. Also, these drives have a good reputation for their robust design. No issues that I am aware of.

Could you cite some examples for the issues younger referring to?
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 10 August 2020, 01:09   #13
Hiddenevil
Registered User

Hiddenevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 199
I can't speak for anyone else, but as an amiga user, I still use floppy disks on a regular basis. I find it's the easiest method of transferring data from one Amiga to another.

I'm currently setting up an A500 and unlike using a 600 or 1200, I don't have the luxury of a PCMCIA port with a CF adapter for copying data over. So zipping things up across a few high density disks seems to easiest method.
Hiddenevil is offline  
Old 10 August 2020, 18:59   #14
Misclegend
Banned

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
The Dell floppies are one example of external HD floppies. With adapter, you can also put them internally. Or re-solder that small pcb that is inside the cable of the to the internal floppy cable.

I have one for years and haven’t had any issue whatsoever. And I used it under Kick 1.3. Especially there as it was my minimum bootable environment.

Other drives were external ones by e.g. Micronic. Also, these drives have a good reputation for their robust design. No issues that I am aware of.

Could you cite some examples for the issues younger referring to?
if you say you used a high density floppy on kick 1.3 surely you installed some unknown drivers because kick 1.3 and older kicks do not have native support for HD floppy drives

basically the issues of the non authentic HD flopppy drivers were not reading disks reliably in DD format, specially games which have copy protection, the ready signal was not correctly implemented in these modified drives
Misclegend is offline  
Old 10 August 2020, 19:24   #15
Misclegend
Banned

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 193
btw,

if anyone want to transform some PC floppy drive to a real Amiga High Density floppy drive " : here is the correct documentation

but please note is is not an easy task
Attached Files
File Type: lha PCFloppy2Amiga.lha (56.1 KB, 25 views)
Misclegend is offline  
Old 10 August 2020, 20:23   #16
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 502
In any case I used the Dell drive with a Kick 1.3 system and did not find any issues with games or whatsoever. I don’t have the system set up currently so i cant say if i have a modded kick. Could actually be . Anyways - with DDs disks I have not encountered any issues.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 28 August 2020, 22:49   #17
Firthy2002
2nd era...
Firthy2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 36
Posts: 278
Send a message via ICQ to Firthy2002 Send a message via AIM to Firthy2002 Send a message via MSN to Firthy2002 Send a message via Yahoo to Firthy2002
I have a high density drive in my A1200. Ejecting disks is a bit fiddly though due to the eject button being standard and the A1200 case being moulded for the included floppy drive which has a unique button. When I can set my A1200 up again I might switch back to using the standard floppy drive internally and modding the high density drive to be external.

Working high density Amiga floppy drives are quite hard to find, and more expensive than regular Amiga floppy drives. Took me a while to find the 2 that I have (both Chinon FZ-357A), and unfortunately one of them does not work correctly.

Even if you can get a working one, they are slow and cumbersome. I'd seriously consider a more modern alternative for data transfer between PC and Amiga.

Last edited by Firthy2002; 28 August 2020 at 23:09.
Firthy2002 is offline  
Old 29 August 2020, 03:13   #18
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiddenevil View Post
So zipping things up across a few high density disks seems to easiest method.
Have you tried ParNet and a modified Parallel cable between your Amiga's?
ma693541 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Density Drive Suggestion Loedown support.Hardware 4 27 February 2014 14:24
High Density ? Another World support.Games 1 25 April 2007 15:27
High Density Drive Problem..... THX1138 support.Hardware 4 29 November 2005 10:00
PowerXL High Density floppies alewis support.Hardware 1 02 March 2005 16:49
Using High-Density discs Tim Janssen support.Hardware 32 05 June 2001 18:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08816 seconds with 14 queries