English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Home Projects > project.EAB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 March 2011, 17:40   #1
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
Firefox 4 Error

Hi everyone!

Firefox 4 just released, and it doesn't render EAB properly

(Look at the bottom, the light blue bit - used for changing the CSS theme IIRC).

killergorilla is offline  
Old 24 March 2011, 19:33   #2
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,124
is it better than Chrome despite the bug?
BippyM is offline  
Old 24 March 2011, 20:42   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,754
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Hi everyone!

Firefox 4 just released, and it doesn't render EAB properly

(Look at the bottom, the light blue bit - used for changing the CSS theme IIRC).

LMFAO,

Cant say I have ever reached the bottom of the page before.
FOL is offline  
Old 24 March 2011, 21:03   #4
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 41
Posts: 1,577
I'll be damned KG! Haven't realized it as well till NOW lol!
One thing I also noticed, is that when you reply to PM, and the line fills (moving the cursor to the next line) and you continue to write with no stop... you don't get a line feed (text is written but you don't see it) unless you stop writing for a sec.
Kinda annoying but I bet they're gonna fix some of these shiz after some revisions

Apart from that, I love it and definitely prefer it over Chrome
mfilos is offline  
Old 25 March 2011, 00:25   #5
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
Apart from that, I love it and definitely prefer it over Chrome
Funny, I tested FF4 the day it came out and it felt a lot slower than Chrome on my Windows 7 x64 netbook. I uninstalled FF4 yesterday and kept Chrome.

I was truly dissapointed with FF4, I was expecting better performance
gulliver is offline  
Old 25 March 2011, 01:00   #6
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 41
Posts: 1,577
Ye my friend, is only a matter of personal preference.
I tried hardly to migrate to Chrome some months ago (tried it for a whole week) but I couldn't stand if for some reason
Gotta love my Xmarks with FF anywayz.
mfilos is offline  
Old 25 March 2011, 02:14   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,754
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Wierd I have the reverse.

Browsing is so much faster, slick and smooth.
FOL is offline  
Old 26 March 2011, 19:56   #8
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
I used Firefox since beta 0.7 till May last year. Then I decided to give it a go on Chrome and never went back. Chrome is way faster in everything. Loading Chrome on my laptop is 2 secs. FF4 still crawls to load for a good 8 or more. Web pages load visibly faster on Chrome. Using version 12 dev.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 26 March 2011, 20:07   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 12,054
No problems with FF4 here, loads in app. 2-3 seconds. And i have not a superfast PC.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 26 March 2011, 20:46   #10
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
No problems with FF4 here, loads in app. 2-3 seconds. And i have not a superfast PC.
I believe you. But that's what happens in this laptop. It has a 3 month Win7 64bit fresh install. Disabling FF4 Add-ons puts loading down to ~6 secs. Chrome has 22 extensions loaded and is still way faster.

In my wife's netbook the behaviour is exactly the same: FF4 takes several seconds to load, Chrome 10 around 3 secs. She has an SSD drive.

Chrome is optimised in some way that FF4 is not, at least this is what happens in slow drives(5400rpm) and slow processors(Atom)
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 29 March 2011, 21:27   #11
jman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Hi everyone!
Firefox 4 just released, and it doesn't render EAB properly
Well, when I leave FF4 opened for a whole night [1], the following morning I find it with a nice "Mozilla crash report" dialog.
I'm trying to narrow down to the real root cause but apparently leaving EAB's forum opened is responsible for this behaviour :-)
Even if I disable javascript (with NoScript) the browser crashes either way.

Anyone willing to test this too? I'm running FF4 32bit on W7/64 bit.

Cheers

[1] Yes, I have a weird concept of bookmarks. I leave the PC turned on with a couple of tabs of things to check the following day.
jman is offline  
Old 29 March 2011, 23:12   #12
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by jman View Post
[1] Yes, I have a weird concept of bookmarks. I leave the PC turned on with a couple of tabs of things to check the following day.
I recommend you to try out hibernate in Windows.
bLAZER is offline  
Old 30 March 2011, 00:01   #13
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by jman View Post
[1] Yes, I have a weird concept of bookmarks. I leave the PC turned on with a couple of tabs of things to check the following day.
Doesn't the browser save tab sessions automatically each time you exit?
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 30 March 2011, 07:44   #14
jman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by bLAZER View Post
I recommend you to try out hibernate in Windows.
silly me I gave you the partial story: the PC is left on doing some tasks, not completely idle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
Doesn't the browser save tab sessions automatically each time you exit?
Yes, it could, but this is a feature I've disabled because I don't find comfortable on a general use
jman is offline  
Old 31 March 2011, 03:04   #15
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
firefox 4 does have a few quirks but i still prefer to use it over anything else... I've been using Firefox for years and it's always been the fastest for me

When browsing through ebay listings i can no longer manually type in a page number so now i have to skip through all pages
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 31 March 2011, 07:25   #16
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,930
The selling point for me is the built in download manager, IE was a pain trying to restart a failed download.
Arnie is offline  
Old 05 April 2011, 21:31   #17
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 39
Posts: 3,800
meh, X.0 versions generally have quirks. I wait for one or two patch releases before I run new major versions and I've never had any real issues with any kind of software.

To me X.0 releases are still beta versions.
gimbal is offline  
Old 21 April 2011, 22:55   #18
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 42
Posts: 2,984
I also use FF4 here, I will check those little bug next time I will update vB.
RCK is offline  
Old 06 May 2011, 07:42   #19
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
I could confirm the "ghost text in PMs" bug, which is apparently now fixed!
I'm currently running 6.0 nightly, FWIW.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jman View Post
Anyone willing to test this too? I'm running FF4 32bit on W7/64 bit.
Just an information for the others that might not know: jman would be unable to use FF4 64bit on his Win64, since Win64 oddly is NOT supported at the moment. Yes, I too was surprised when I heard that: just fantastic. You've got a 64 bit processor but have to use 32bit versions of software because developers struggle in getting out a decently working Win64 version.

BUUUT...they do have the coolness to go up 2 major version numbers in a short time. Yeah. whoa.
andreas is offline  
Old 06 May 2011, 22:23   #20
jman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas View Post
Just an information for the others that might not know: jman would be unable to use FF4 64bit on his Win64, since Win64 oddly is NOT supported at the moment. Yes, I too was surprised when I heard that: just fantastic. You've got a 64 bit processor but have to use 32bit versions of software because developers struggle in getting out a decently working Win64 version.
I was so sure they released FF4 also for Win64 that in the first place I said "the guy must be wrong". But then I checked and you are definitively right.

This is weird since they regularly release Win64bit nightly builds which works fine. BTW I'd eventually chosen to stick to the 32bit because of the Flash plugin...
jman is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox for Amiga OS now available! Pyromania Amiga scene 17 14 June 2010 22:12
Signatures missing on Firefox... MazinKaesar project.EAB 20 21 October 2008 23:26
Firefox 3 Download matthew News 29 23 June 2008 09:38
Mozilla Firefox for Amiga macce2 Amiga scene 3 24 June 2007 19:24
Firefox Search Plugin? Anubis AMR suggestions and feedback 9 15 March 2007 17:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09816 seconds with 15 queries