English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2015, 21:29   #21
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,572
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I've not tried pirates in uae yet but I can tell you on my A4k with just doom2 wad it zapped 70mb lol. It's OK, I still had another 200mb free!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 20 February 2015, 23:14   #22
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 325
Been playing this a good bit recently, great work. Maybe just me but I didn't notice any speed slow down compared to ZDoom (i.e. super fast!)? Looking forward to Prisma!
Reido is online now  
Old 21 February 2015, 02:33   #23
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reido View Post
Been playing this a good bit recently, great work. Maybe just me but I didn't notice any speed slow down compared to ZDoom (i.e. super fast!)? Looking forward to Prisma!
Cool glad you like it

Hopefully it won't suffer from the same bugs that ZDOOM has with some WAD file resources (endian issues).

It took a massive amount of effort to get this SDL based port to run reasonably well on real hardware

New version in the Zone which doesn't need any heapsize ToolType setting, it just allocates all that it possibly can!

Should also be slightly quicker hopefully.

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by NovaCoder; 22 February 2015 at 10:00.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 March 2015, 08:43   #24
groundplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 57
How to start and use Wolf3dTC with your fine port ? I have original.wad and deh files but using them as tooltype does nothing, only sounds changes ? Thankyou for your hard work NovaCoder !
groundplayer is offline  
Old 08 March 2015, 03:51   #25
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by groundplayer View Post
How to start and use Wolf3dTC with your fine port ? I have original.wad and deh files but using them as tooltype does nothing, only sounds changes ? Thankyou for your hard work NovaCoder !
File1=original.wad
Deh=original.deh
Iwad=DOOM2.wad

NovaCoder is offline  
Old 08 March 2015, 08:10   #26
groundplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 57
It's working now ! Big Thankyou again NovaCoder !
groundplayer is offline  
Old 17 April 2015, 17:18   #27
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,886
Just added MT-32 support to V0.7.0 (latest version).

I should also be able to add Prisma support for the next release

[ Show youtube player ]
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:16   #28
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,743
Anyone tried RTG version on Vampire v2 yet?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 22:47   #29
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,060
Tested Odamex AGA with success, with RTG have a black screen.

System GFX in use WinUAE AfA OS/060 1024x768 UAEGFX
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 23:02   #30
pcotter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 68
Quick test on the Amithlon
Nova Coder, this is awesome :-) thank you for porting this to the 68K
[ Show youtube player ]
pcotter is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 23:22   #31
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,060
pcotter congratulations for your Amithlon, did you have to downgrade it? I noticed that you do not use the icons Dual-PNG, AfA-OS integrated in AmikitX works well on Amithlon?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 24 February 2019, 00:14   #32
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
with RTG have a black screen.
Forgotten to say that Odamex RTG works well on my AfA-OS, DOOM2 looks better in addition to the great speed with Odamex, see screnshot

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 26 February 2019 at 22:47.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 24 February 2019, 00:31   #33
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcotter View Post
Quick test on the Amithlon
Nova Coder, this is awesome :-) thank you for porting this to the 68K
[ Show youtube player ]
No worries, nice to see it being used in anger
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 27 June 2019, 11:45   #34
pcotter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 68
hi!
Did the version 0.7.0 got released?
I'm getting MIDI crazy and i would love to test it...

Thank you.
pcotter is offline  
Old 27 June 2019, 18:13   #35
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcotter View Post
hi!
Did the version 0.7.0 got released?
I'm getting MIDI crazy and i would love to test it...

Thank you.
No sorry mate, I got version 0.7.0 running with both MIDI and prisma support but I could never get it to run well enough to release it (kept crashing)

Last edited by NovaCoder; 27 June 2019 at 18:41.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 21 July 2020, 10:36   #36
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,886
I've recently been updating some of my old RTG ports to optimize them for 060.

While I was there I figured I'd add SDL Mixer support so you can now play music files (OGG format) while playing DOOM TC with ODAMEX

No idea on the performance hit with real classic hardware but it probably won't be pretty. I did try and enable native MIDI (again) but it would require too much work to get running well enough for me to release it.

I also just finished updating ZDOOM RTG for 060 and fixed up the native MUS support, sounds way better now when using the proper instruments file
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 22 July 2020, 21:18   #37
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,181
@NovaCoder

Thank you very much!

Could you update your other ports to work with both RTG and AHI too please?
gulliver is offline  
Old 23 July 2020, 00:31   #38
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
@NovaCoder

Thank you very much!

Could you update your other ports to work with both RTG and AHI too please?
No worries.

Yep I have been updating them all to RTG, I think they are all done now apart from BOOM.

Adding AHI support is a bit trickier.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 16:51   #39
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 59
Posts: 359
@Novacoder

This cleaned up the issues in Doom2 I was experiencing in ZDoom. Thanks for pointing me to this. I'm going to have to try the Doom2 ogg soundtrack now.

Is there any practical way to move gamesaves from ZDoom to ODAMEX? I tried renaming one of them but it didn't recognize it. Thanks again.
Weaselrama is online now  
Old 19 September 2020, 03:00   #40
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,886
Cool, yes ODAMEX should be much better for you

No idea if it's possible to convert the saved games, probably not possible unless you can find some utility.
NovaCoder is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (2 members and 2 guests)
Tomislav, NeoHippie2016
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
if msx games was ported to amiga ? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 57 18 August 2018 20:35
UAE must be ported to the Amiga jharrison support.OtherUAE 3 21 November 2008 13:22
Duke Nukem 3D ported to Amiga Pyromania Amiga scene 67 10 June 2006 21:14
do you know if moon patrol was ported to the amiga ? pbareges request.Old Rare Games 8 08 March 2005 18:12
if possible: which 8bits game would you ported to Amiga?? JudasEZT Nostalgia & memories 33 05 October 2004 12:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10300 seconds with 15 queries