English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 03 December 2005, 21:45   #1
xalakibaniou

Question A1200 Tower help

I started to mount an A1200 on a tower case. Here is the stuff to start:

1. 250Watt ATX PSU
2. An old midi tower case
3. 44 to 40 pin IDE adapter (to mount chip 3.5" HDDs)
4. Screws, soldering and drilling stuff
5. Patience!

I think that i am going to need a keyboard adapter to connect a PC keyboard to my amiga. I would like to ask if it's possible to connect a real amiga keyboard to the joystick port ?

Before anything else was done i have mounted an old 3.5" HDD using an adapter 44 to 40. I connected the power cable of the adapter to the PSU and the other PSU's power cable to the HD. I sort circuited the PSU to be able to power on. The amiga powered on and the HD worked fine. If i connect a CD-ROM drive will it work?

Is there anything else that i will need? This is my first attempt to build my amiga's new house. Any comments are wellcome.
Sorry if my english are not so accurate.
Old 04 December 2005, 00:20   #2
woody57

I have put a small lha in the ZONE which descrubes how to make a DIY keyboard connector
Thats IF you intend to DO IT ALL without buying a kit...

On the power side you also need to take a feed from the Blue wire of the ATX power supply to the centre pin of normal transformer input.BUT PLEASE WAIT TILL SOMEONE UPLOADS the voltage CHECK guide before YOU just take my word for it !

If you do a seach on TOWERING you should come across a FEW similar threads that have this information ALL READY !
Old 04 December 2005, 00:26   #3
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!

Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ