English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2007, 21:21   #1
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 433
Windows Mouse trouble

I have built an arcade cabinet, that has a few MAME games a few C64 games and a few Amiga games I have decided (fingers crossed) that I don't have to have any "lame" mouse or keyboard attached to the cabinet. So, I have managed to map the arcade-joystics (they appear as a standard keyboard to windows) to work as a "windows mouse". This works fine in windows and in Winuae menus. But... I cannot get the actual "Amiga-mouse" working. I have tried to select Windows Mouse, Mouse* etc from the menu and map some custom inputs also, but the pointer won't move a bit when emulation is on. Does anyone have any clue why it doesn't work? I'm asking because it seems weird that it works great in windows and in the winuae menus. The keys that the joystick sends are the standard cursor keys (up, right, down, left) and the fire button is ctrl. So another option would be to map those to controlthe mouse, but I cannot figure out how to do that
emuola is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 January 2007, 21:28   #2
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,395
why not use something like this as a mouse



this would look cool at the cabinet
Dizzy is offline  
Old 02 January 2007, 22:15   #3
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
I suspect your problem is that WinUAE is actually polling the physical mouse itself rather than the keys used to control the mouse. IIRC correctly you can control the Amiga mouse (on a real Amiga) using both Amiga keys and the cursors (or something like that) if that helps

Other than that, do as Dizzy says to save you a lot of pain. You should be able to buy a 'bare' trackball which you could mount in your cabinet.
P-J is offline  
Old 03 January 2007, 11:35   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,174
WinUAE uses DirectInput to read mouse (and joystick&keyboard) messages and most input mapping software is not compatible with DirectInput.

WinUAE uses regular Windows mouse messages only when mousehack-mode is enabled or when WinUAE has not focus (Windows mouse pointer visible)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 January 2007, 11:51   #5
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Toni, do you know if MouseKeys (Accessibility stuff) in Windows XP is compatible? This might solve the OP's problems.
P-J is offline  
Old 03 January 2007, 12:02   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J
Toni, do you know if MouseKeys (Accessibility stuff) in Windows XP is compatible? This might solve the OP's problems.
No idea but why not use WinUAE's built-in input mapping support?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 January 2007, 12:09   #7
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
No idea but why not use WinUAE's built-in input mapping support?
Quote:
Originally Posted by emuola
So another option would be to map those to controlthe mouse, but I cannot figure out how to do that
So we just need to put these two together
P-J is offline  
Old 03 January 2007, 13:33   #8
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 433
Thanks for the info I managed to get it to work by selecting Input Configuration 4 and "mapping" the keyboard arrows to Mouse 1 directions. Then when I have the Keyset B in port 1, I can move the Amiga mouse pointer with the arrows (the arcade joy) I guess the Mousehack would be a cleaner solution, but I coudn't get it to work. I still have to do some investigating on this matter
emuola is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WB 1.x mouse pointers for Windows wanderer request.Other 16 06 November 2014 07:04
Windows mouse -click hold- exoticaga support.Other 2 05 April 2009 17:58
Using Windows Mouse / Custom Keys with WinUAE / Sensible Soccer badwolf500 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 17 11 February 2009 02:26
Keyboard and mouse trouble Coldwinter support.Hardware 12 29 July 2006 07:07
How to use an amiga mouse under Windows? TheFoxSoft support.Hardware 7 05 January 2005 00:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06560 seconds with 13 queries