English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.EAB File Server

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 March 2018, 23:34   #1
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 448
ISO's or zipped content?

So, I've downloaded a couple of iso's and noticed some are not able to mount (windows 10 feature) or open (using 7zip). When using WinCDEmu I could mount those images and dump an .iso from the mounted images which I could open using 7zip. So there's a tip for those who have trouble mounting them... (the file size seems to decrease btw!... are they raw images or something?)

Now back to my observation: I've been looking at various sets and the DMS-LHA sets seem to be missing some entries and have entries which are not part of the set. If you look at the AmigaCDLists directory on DMS-LHA 23 (aka CD23) you see the CDxx.dir files. You see that DMS-LHA 01 is actually CD02.dir ... and DMS-LHA 05 seems to be of a total different set But I have not figured out which set.

Ok, my point... I seem to have CD01 - CD20 and I would like to upload these to the ftp to share them with all of you. But my question is... shall I upload them as an archive of the files on the CD's or dump them to .iso format and upload those?

Oh and I also noticed OldAmiga1-7.dir are on the ftp as "Amigacd 1 - 1992-06 - 1993-11 - bbs" etc...

Last edited by jrom; 30 March 2018 at 23:53.
jrom is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 02:12   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,861
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrom View Post
So, I've downloaded a couple of iso's and noticed some are not able to mount (windows 10 feature) or open (using 7zip). When using WinCDEmu I could mount those images and dump an .iso from the mounted images which I could open using 7zip. So there's a tip for those who have trouble mounting them... (the file size seems to decrease btw!... are they raw images or something?)

Now back to my observation: I've been looking at various sets and the DMS-LHA sets seem to be missing some entries and have entries which are not part of the set. If you look at the AmigaCDLists directory on DMS-LHA 23 (aka CD23) you see the CDxx.dir files. You see that DMS-LHA 01 is actually CD02.dir ... and DMS-LHA 05 seems to be of a total different set But I have not figured out which set.

Ok, my point... I seem to have CD01 - CD20 and I would like to upload these to the ftp to share them with all of you. But my question is... shall I upload them as an archive of the files on the CD's or dump them to .iso format and upload those?

Oh and I also noticed OldAmiga1-7.dir are on the ftp as "Amigacd 1 - 1992-06 - 1993-11 - bbs" etc...
Well as you want the principal is that the datas must be good
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 31 March 2018, 07:42   #3
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 796
What CD serie do you have from CD01 to CD20 ?
chip is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 08:10   #4
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 796
Just as info DMS-LHA05 is listed in OldAmiga5.dir in the AmigaCDLists directory
chip is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 09:03   #5
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
What CD serie do you have from CD01 to CD20 ?
The serie that is listed as Cd01.dir upto CD20.dir
jrom is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 09:14   #6
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 796
So, a "no name" serie
chip is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 21:59   #7
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 448
So... the first 5 cd's are imaged. Now to get an upload account.
jrom is offline  
Old 07 April 2018, 05:20   #8
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 796
Thanks for the uploads
chip is offline  
Old 08 April 2018, 12:24   #9
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 448
The cd's without reading errors are on the ftp now. CD08,12,16,17 have reading errors... I'll try some recovery modes in IsoBuster and/or CDRoller on those cds...

Edit: seems 15 was ok after all

Last edited by jrom; 08 April 2018 at 21:57.
jrom is offline  
Old 08 April 2018, 15:00   #10
Thalion
Amiga Collector

Thalion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 35
Posts: 654
Even if it doesnt work. Just post them nevertheless. Maybe someone else has more luck or at least the readable content can be used.
Thalion is offline  
Old 08 April 2018, 15:34   #11
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,861
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
some files were shared between collection, so it will be possible to restore the broken files.
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 08 April 2018, 21:59   #12
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 448
I've uploaded CD16 with 6 bad sectors (zeroed out) and CD17 with 33 bad sectors (zeroed out). Also an other disk labeled TWR-CD... don't ask what that stands for... I honestly don't know
jrom is offline  
Old 08 April 2018, 22:18   #13
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,967
It could be worth trying to read bad discs using a different drive. Also use some utility to reduce the drive read speed, perhaps that could help?
mark_k is offline  
Old 10 April 2018, 21:52   #14
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 448
I tried it on the cdrom in my desktop pc but no luck. CD08 with 89 bad sectors and CD12 is up.
jrom is offline  
Old 10 April 2018, 23:30   #15
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 448
Also uploaded AMIGA COLLECTION 1 t/m 5 to the ftp
jrom is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 06:36   #16
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 796
Thanks jrom also for AMIGA COLLECTION

It's a nice set of 5 CDs full of games
chip is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 09:55   #17
Crashdisk
Moderator

Crashdisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 1,264
@jrom
thank you for your efforts to share the content of your CDs.
For my personal use, I use the DIC program for dump my CDs:
https://github.com/saramibreak/DiscI...eator/releases
The ideal is to use a Plextor drive but it should work with other drive ...

Before, I used ISOPuzzle but it was abandoned for a long time unfortunately
Crashdisk is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 16:19   #18
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 448
I still have a few pd and coverdisks... How do I dump those for tosec? Maybe check first if they are missing?
jrom is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE + zipped CD Images Nova support.WinUAE 6 24 August 2018 21:03
Probs using Zipped ADFs DeafDaz support.WinUAE 5 10 September 2011 00:59
ISO/Zipped CDTV & CD32 Compatability TEOL request.UAE Wishlist 5 31 August 2009 09:27
Agricola - any chance of a zipped archive? Angus Retrogaming General Discussion 2 18 February 2008 13:11
request: non 7-zipped ClassicWB... rattus project.ClassicWB 8 28 May 2005 22:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08561 seconds with 13 queries