English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 October 2018, 03:16   #341
Heiroglyph
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 84
I hope this hasn't been answered elsewhere, I didn't see it.

The 3.1.4 hdtoolbox has a Direct Scsi option for partitions.

How does that interact with the PFS DS option?

Should we enable both? Does it matter?

I haven't tried it yet, so I don't know if this is filesystem specific.

I've always used the DS version of PFS3 in the past.
Heiroglyph is offline  
Old 04 October 2018, 16:24   #342
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heiroglyph View Post
I hope this hasn't been answered elsewhere, I didn't see it.

The 3.1.4 hdtoolbox has a Direct Scsi option for partitions.

How does that interact with the PFS DS option?

Should we enable both? Does it matter?

I haven't tried it yet, so I don't know if this is filesystem specific.

I've always used the DS version of PFS3 in the past.
It is almost same as use of PDS\3 dostype except Direct SCSI is forced. No DS compatibility test, no fallback to NSD or TD64. (This may change in the future if some annoying situations are found..)

New DS option is part filesystem and part hdtoolbox feature.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 October 2018, 17:58   #343
Heiroglyph
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Ok, thanks, that helps a lot.
Heiroglyph is offline  
Old 05 October 2018, 09:48   #344
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 45
Posts: 24
Hello all,

Is it beneficial to back up all data and reformat the drives so it has the latest version on the drive. ie. PFSDoctor shows version 19.2 rather than the older version of 18.5 that I have?
Storm is offline  
Old 05 October 2018, 10:15   #345
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,196
This was covered in post #326
trixster is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 17:24   #346
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 362
I read the manual and I know that PFS/SFS are working with a 512 blocksize.
But a CF card works internally with a 4096 blocksize. What is if I change it for
my PFS and reformat the CF partition? Any issues that can come up? Will the repair tool from you still work? Just need a final answer and will never ask.
apex is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 17:42   #347
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
Larger block sizes should work normally, internally PFS3 block size is always at least 1024 bytes (and 2048 bytes if partition >104G and so on).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 21:00   #348
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,098
Did you changed this behaviour or was it already valid for the old PFS3 version? The old PFS3.guide says that it can only use 512 or 1024 bytes block size.
daxb is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 21:41   #349
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
I thought it was possible but it looks like 1024 byte block size is max (if less than 104G partition). Larger partitions allow higher block size, up to 4096 byte if 411G or larger.

For some reason there is no check for "too large" block size. It most likely causes crash because internal block size variable becomes zero..

It probably is possible to support up to 4096 block size using new large partition mode even if partition is smaller. Of course this will make partition incompatible with older pfs3 and pfsdoctor versions.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 October 2018, 13:08   #350
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,098
Ok, but does it make sense to use larger block size then 512 bytes with PFS3? Will PFS3 become faster (read/write)?

If you use a flash device that uses 4096 bytes per block and write many small files (<4096 bytes) it would make sense I guess but with larger files there isn't any benefit, right? Except some waste of drive space.

Last edited by daxb; 13 October 2018 at 16:42. Reason: Removed Expect with Except. :(
daxb is offline  
Old 13 October 2018, 15:00   #351
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Ok, but does it make sense to use larger block size then 512 bytes with PFS3? Will PFS3 become faster (read/write)?
It probably will become faster, at least when accessing large files. Tiny file access may get slower (whole block needs to be read/written even if file size is 1 byte) but it depends on device read/write speed.

Buffers also require more RAM. Number of buffers * block size = required RAM.

Quote:
If you use a flash device that uses 4096 bytes per block and write many small files (<4096 bytes) it would make sense I guess but with larger files there isn't any benefit, right? Expect some waste of drive space.
There is always some performance loss if logical block size is smaller than flash sector size, writing two 512 byte blocks may require flash to do read-erase-write sequence twice (or more) for same sector.

On the other hand most Amiga IDE devices are so slow that modern flash erase and write sequence usually is much faster than Amiga IDE so only waste is number of flash write cycles but it is practically irrelevant with Amigas.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 October 2018, 16:39   #352
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Buffers also require more RAM. Number of buffers * block size = required RAM.
I thought the value for one buffer for PFS3 is fixed to 1024 bytes (independent from block size). At least the old PFS3.guide says it. Is that false or only true for PFS3AIO?

Quote:
There is always some performance loss if logical block size is smaller than flash sector size, writing two 512 byte blocks may require flash to do read-erase-write sequence twice (or more) for same sector.
But doesn't exists flash drives that are intelligent enough to handle this in an optimized way? But as you said, for usual Amiga use case it isn't much relevant. I fear that systems exists where you can measure a (small) performance difference and on other systems there is no difference. Needs some tests.
daxb is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 22:20   #353
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 362
Using OS3.1.4 I changed the blocksize to 4096 byte.
I made a quick format and got the requester PFS 19.2 will be used.

I have 2 problems, but they are may 3.1.4 based?
Workbench says blocksize is still 512 byte, see picture.
And filename lengt under WB with PFS seems to be limited to 30?
Yes I used setfnsize and I changed it in WBPrefs to 100.
Funny, DOpus 4.18 is working with longer names.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ED9C3A05-B193-42B3-B092-7FFA207B1662.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	1.01 MB
ID:	60281  
apex is offline  
Old 05 November 2018, 23:12   #354
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 511
I can't format disk 70GB with 3.1 from aminet.
I have 0x54445303 instead of 0x50445303 ?

arti is offline  
Old 05 November 2018, 23:43   #355
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
I can't format disk 70GB with 3.1 from aminet.
I have 0x54445303 instead of 0x50445303 ?


You need to select PFS where it says "File System:" I think.
talybont is offline  
Old 05 November 2018, 23:57   #356
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 511
There is no such option..
arti is offline  
Old 06 November 2018, 00:08   #357
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 511
With old version 53 , I can choose PDS/3.
arti is offline  
Old 06 November 2018, 00:09   #358
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 45
Posts: 24
It’s Custom File System with DOS Type of 0x50445303. I think that is the direct SCSI type and will show up as PDS\03
Storm is offline  
Old 06 November 2018, 01:05   #359
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
There is no such option..
When you load the FS to the RDB you can set identifier. It looks like you set DFS/03. Which is international FFS (I think) which is the default of HDToolBox.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 06 November 2018, 14:28   #360
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 511
It finally appeared but when booting I get Guru 80000008.
I have tried 1K, 2K , and 4K block sizes.
arti is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3aio vs SFS/02 White support.WinUAE 10 13 April 2018 22:44
PFS3AIO Probs ? Foul support.FS-UAE 0 21 February 2018 23:49
PFS3AIO Questions manic23 support.Hardware 26 22 April 2014 14:49
Pfs3aio ???? stingray76 support.Hardware 2 19 February 2014 10:15
FinalWriter 97; FinalCalc 1.04; Final Data 2.00 & Final Copy aebrown-u request.Apps 20 12 July 2009 12:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09192 seconds with 14 queries