English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 August 2018, 20:06   #1
toples50
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 80
16gb external cf card does not recognised.

I have ClassicWB whdload(with either 8gb and 32gb cards) and an external pcmcia adapter with cf cards also.The 4gb works fine but the 16gb doesn't.I have tried to format it fat32 but again amiga does not see it.I have also a floppy disk with pcmcia drivers try to boot from the disk but nothing again

Last edited by toples50; 12 August 2018 at 21:16.
toples50 is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 21:27   #2
Dynamic_Computi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Posts: 56
If you are trying to use a CF card larger than. 4 Gigs on a PCMCIA adapter, I don't think that works. I think carddisk.device only supports up to 4 gig.
Dynamic_Computi is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 21:50   #3
toples50
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 80
So the limit of PCMCIA is only 4gb?It seems strange...
toples50 is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 22:21   #4
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 565
It's not limited to 4gb.. i've got a 16gb card which works fine in it. Some cards work in the pcmcia port and some don't, there is no way to tell until you try them.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 23:04   #5
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 822
16gb cf will work with PCMCIA but make sure you have the latest `compactflash.device`installed
supaduper is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 07:08   #6
toples50
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 80
Where can I find the 'compactflash.device' to replace it?
toples50 is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 08:00   #7
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 822
There is a link to the file here and how to update it in this thread in which I posted
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...48#post1254748
supaduper is offline  
Old 13 August 2018, 08:55   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,681
It's on Aminet, too.

http://aminet.net/package/driver/media/CFD133
thomas is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 12:07   #9
toples50
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 80
I have tried another one adapter plus another one cd card 16gb but nothing.I have installed the latest drivers.Maybe is Blizzard that cause the problem i don't know...
toples50 is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 13:27   #10
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by toples50 View Post
I have tried another one adapter plus another one cd card 16gb but nothing.I have installed the latest drivers.Maybe is Blizzard that cause the problem i don't know...
Do you have the card patch util in your startup ? its a sotftware patch for the known PCMCIA bug on the A1200, its here:
http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/CardPatch
supaduper is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 13:33   #11
toples50
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 80
No I don't.How can I install it?
toples50 is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 14:08   #12
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by toples50 View Post
No I don't.How can I install it?
Copy CardPatch to C: directory.
Add "CardPatch" line to your Startup-Sequence or User-Startup.
supaduper is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 14:12   #13
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Do you have the card patch util in your startup ? its a sotftware patch for the known PCMCIA bug on the A1200, its here:
http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/CardPatch
You can also use a PCMCIA hardware fix:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BRAND-NEW...wAAOSwc~NbTGr8
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 15:28   #14
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 621
Cardpatch is not required, it’s included in compactflash.device driver.
If it’s not seen at all (you cannot quick format it) with the latest version, then the only thing to try is the flags in the cf0 file (see readme)
Many cards do not activate due to the out of spec amiga pcmcia implementation, so it’s trial and error unfortunately.
(And yes, card size is irrelevant, people are mixing it up with IDE)
fgh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 External Cd drive? Adrian Browne support.Hardware 9 21 February 2017 17:36
External 6-in-1 USB Card Reader Weemus support.WinUAE 9 09 June 2012 22:05
Idea for making an external CF card adapter kipper2k support.Hardware 29 02 May 2010 01:22
[SWAP] External Flicker Fixer for Zorro II Graphics Card jimbo100 MarketPlace 16 14 July 2008 00:24
For sale: AteoBus A1200 busboard with Pixel64 RTG card, Network and scsi card. Smiley MarketPlace 0 18 July 2006 23:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07876 seconds with 15 queries