English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 October 2020, 00:17   #1
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 57
Posts: 90
Advice about an A1200 and IDE CD/ROM with audio issues.

Hello all!
I have a couple small issues with my A1200 (fully recapped when I bought it a couple years ago). I added a CF adapter and PATA DVD Burner using a PATA to IDE adapter. It works great, but... If I do a warm reboot, either by hitting the reset, reboot or CTRL+A+A, it cannot find the device. I get a requester stating "Cannot open scsi.device unit 1". If I power it down or hold the reset for a number of seconds, it boots just fine. I know it has to do with either the memory not being cleared completely or not giving the device enough time to initialize. I don't think it's the timing, but am not sure. I am using CacheCDFS v 113.20 with Kickstart 3.1.4.
The second issue I have is with digitized audio. I tested with both the game Valhalla and with the Red Dwarf demo disk. When playing music or mod files, the audio is perfect. When playing digitized speech, it comes across very muffled and can hardly make out any words at all. Now the strange part, if I pull one of the audio out cables off the back of the Amiga, the audio works out that one channel. I can her it all just fine.


Does anyone have any suggestions?


Thank you,
Ron
rfancella is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 00:26   #2
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,130
yep, PSU/power issues. It could cause all that.
utri007 is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 00:32   #3
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 57
Posts: 90
Hmmm. I'll double check the voltage and current it's getting on all rails. I have 320w PC power supply that I re-wired to use on the 1200, so I don't think it's under powered, but I will check.



Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
yep, PSU/power issues. It could cause all that.
rfancella is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 00:49   #4
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 57
Posts: 90
Ok, voltages without a load:
5V = 5.06V
12V = 11.89V
-12V = -11.16V

Voltages with a load:
5V = 4.95V
12V = 11.96V
-12V = -11.25V


I have to rig up a cable to test amps.



Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
yep, PSU/power issues. It could cause all that.
rfancella is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 00:53   #5
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,130
amps are more likely cause.

But it is just it, how you power up your DVD writer? Modified cable from original floppy power connector? What kind system you have?
utri007 is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 01:05   #6
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 57
Posts: 90
Ok, I have in total connected:
Amiga 1200 powered right off the rails in the modified PC PSU. Powered by the Amiga is an ACA1220 accelerator. An internal Gotek. An external Gotek and Amitek floppy drive. I have a CF adapter for the HDD. It also has a clockport RTC module in it.

The DVD adapter is powered by the PSU directly, it is not powered from the Amiga. Lastly, powered directly from the PSU is a GBS8200 running GBS Control and modded with a SI5351 clock generator and a ESP8266 WiFi processor replacement for the GBS8200.


It boots fine and sees the DVD drive just fine. But on a warm boot, it cannot find it. The audio issue is all the time.



Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
amps are more likely cause.

But it is just it, how you power up your DVD writer? Modified cable from original floppy power connector? What kind system you have?
rfancella is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 01:19   #7
rfancella
Registered User

rfancella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Clay Center, KS USA
Age: 57
Posts: 90
Hmmm... I found this reference for the voltages:
"What is the -12V supply on the Amiga used for?
It is used for the RS232 transceiver chips and to power the Op-Amps in the audio circuits."

Quoted from: http://ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/amiga_...amiga_psu.html
This indicates that my -12V rail only being -11.25V might be affecting the audio?

That page also states:
Rail
-12V
Lower limit
-12.6V
Upper limit
-11.4V

I'll have to check the PSU connected in to my A500 and see what it says.

EDIT: I swapped power supplies and this is showing -11.77V (within the range) and the digitized speech is still no good.


Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
amps are more likely cause.

But it is just it, how you power up your DVD writer? Modified cable from original floppy power connector? What kind system you have?

Last edited by rfancella; 24 October 2020 at 01:34.
rfancella is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 with ide cd rom. Can’t get it to work. Help ? :( RascalUK support.Hardware 30 08 June 2019 12:45
CD-ROM and A1200 issues JohnnyD support.Hardware 21 31 May 2010 12:18
IDE CD Rom Blues on A1200 Dave_wb support.Hardware 12 01 September 2008 16:26
Need advice re: PCMCIA CD-ROM on A1200 shirsch support.Hardware 3 14 June 2006 21:42
A1200 IDE HD Issues... Six support.Hardware 4 19 November 2004 02:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09789 seconds with 15 queries