English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2015, 17:57   #341
AmigaBlitter
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you to Arnie and Tony. Now the blizzard is working. The system boots, but graphically is slower than cyberstorm, as well as the loading time.

Last edited by AmigaBlitter; 10 November 2015 at 19:15.
 
Old 11 November 2015, 10:19   #342
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
Which is visible via GUI (indicator on status bar)
Yes I know Anna, my question was only to clarify some small doubt on speed loadingof the system OS4

Thanks anyway for the info
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 17:08   #343
midimax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Yeah, why are not configurations restricted to proper hardware when it anyway does not work in other combinations?
...
Edit:
Ok, there in quickstart already exist some configurtions for A1200 and A4000! (what about others)
Restricting to real life hardware is not needed for m68k-aos operating systems, furthermore you may loose all nice m68k UAE extensions.

Maybe some sort of automatic switch to quickstart A1200 when Blizzard PPC rom or switch to quickstart A4000 when Cyberstorm PPC rom is selected is needed for dummies.
midimax is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 18:57   #344
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,145
Yeah, but maybe it could be restricted according to "Chipset Extra" setting!

If "Generic" than you can see all available boards in Expansion tab! (as it is now possible)

If "A500" than you can see only those intended for A500 configuration!

If "A1200" than you can see only those intended for A1200 configuration!

...and so on...

I guess this would be possible to implement!

Last edited by amilo3438; 12 November 2015 at 19:03.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 19:02   #345
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
No. Quickstart or you need to know what are you doing.

Have you already forgot that 99% of users don't care about PPC. It and any other non-m68k-AOS OS setup is a special case. You are required to know what are you doing.

It has always been my goal to allow all kinds of weird options, only exception being something that simply can't work. (=would cause hardware level conflict)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 November 2015, 19:09   #346
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,145
It was just an idea in general! (I do not care anyway)

But you did not answer is it possible to implement? (I guess its because it looks like too boring task, right?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
You are required to know what are you doing.
Does that also implies a good knowledge of how the emulator works!? (because it does not apply to 99% of users)

Last edited by amilo3438; 12 November 2015 at 19:17.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 12 November 2015, 19:13   #347
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
It was just an idea! (I do not care anyway)

But you did not answer is it possible to implement? (I guess is because it looks like too boring task, right?)
1) It makes no sense. Chipset extra should not have anything to do which options are possible.
2) Adding restrictions just because of PPC? It also makes no sense.
3) Current restrictions are caused by software limits, not hardware, software can change. It would become moving target: not going to happen.

"No".
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 November 2015, 19:23   #348
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
1) It makes no sense. Chipset extra should not have anything to do which options are possible.
How it make not sense... you can not use something intended f.e. for A1200 in A500, right? (its not compatible and it would not work anyway on real machines)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
2) Adding restrictions just because of PPC? It also makes no sense.

"No".
I was talking generally, not restricted to PPC only!

Ok then, enjoy your well-deserved break!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 14 November 2015, 00:18   #349
Darksun777
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 22
The download link for the qemu-zip file does not work...is there another source?!
Darksun777 is offline  
Old 14 November 2015, 00:34   #350
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Which link are you having trouble with?
prowler is offline  
Old 14 November 2015, 00:39   #351
Darksun777
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 22
This link from post#1:

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/qemu-uae.zip

EDIT: Ok i see i Need the PPC-Core Plugin download, thanks

Last edited by Darksun777; 14 November 2015 at 00:48.
Darksun777 is offline  
Old 14 November 2015, 00:50   #352
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Try the one in The Zone I'm uploading for you now.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 November 2015, 01:11   #353
Darksun777
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 22
got it already via the PPC-Core-Plugin download link, thank you!
Darksun777 is offline  
Old 14 November 2015, 12:41   #354
midimax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Latest should be:

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/ppc_plugin.7z (QEMU 2.4 update. Includes both 32-bit and 64-bit versions)

I don't know the required minimum WinUAE version for this.
midimax is offline  
Old 12 December 2015, 15:06   #355
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 689
Some benchmarks (now we have some clue what's going slow)

REAL CPU BlizzardPPC
UltimatePPC.WOS
-----------------------------------------------
Your PPC processor is: PPC 603E
CPU Core running on : 180 MHz
PPC Bus Clock is : 60 MHz
Instruction Cache is : ON & UNLOCKED
Data Cache is now : ON & UNLOCKED
PageTable location : $45000000
PageTableSize is : 2048 KBytes
Current CPU load is : 2219 Percent
Current system load : 11850 Percent

Now comming some PPCMath Tests.......

50M Add : 167 ticks
50M Multiply : 206 ticks
20M Sqrt() : 905 ticks
20M Rnd() : 1040 ticks
20M Sin() : 773 ticks
20M Log() : 834 ticks
50M Bounds : 236 ticks
10M Pow() : 585 ticks


WINUAE BlizzardPPC
UltimatePPC.WOS
-----------------------------------------------
Your PPC processor is: PPC 603E
CPU Core running on : 100 MHz
PPC Bus Clock is : 66 MHz
Instruction Cache is : ON & UNLOCKED
Data Cache is now : ON & UNLOCKED
PageTable location : $72400000
PageTableSize is : 4096 KBytes
Current CPU load is : 0 Percent
Current system load : 0 Percent

Now comming some PPCMath Tests.......

50M Add : 24 ticks
50M Multiply : 24 ticks
20M Sqrt() : 2168 ticks
20M Rnd() : 308 ticks
20M Sin() : 1546 ticks
20M Log() : 2023 ticks
50M Bounds : 47 ticks
10M Pow() : 1331 ticks


WINUAE CyberstormPPC
UltimatePPC.WOS
-----------------------------------------------
Your PPC processor is: PPC 603E
CPU Core running on : 100 MHz
PPC Bus Clock is : 66 MHz
Instruction Cache is : ON & UNLOCKED
Data Cache is now : ON & UNLOCKED
PageTable location : $8400000
PageTableSize is : 4096 KBytes
Current CPU load is : 40 Percent
Current system load : 40 Percent


Now comming some PPCMath Tests.......

50M Add : 165 ticks
50M Multiply : 166 ticks
20M Sqrt() : 2239 ticks
20M Rnd() : 371 ticks
20M Sin() : 1608 ticks
20M Log() : 2074 ticks
50M Bounds : 221 ticks
10M Pow() : 1355 ticks
Michael is offline  
Old 13 December 2015, 15:31   #356
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
Your tests also confirms odd speed difference between difference CPU models which makes no sense in emulation, most instructions are exact same.. Note that used QEMU version is quite old (~1years) because newer ones (at least when it was last tested few months ago) are slower and some programs started crashing.

What happens if you use different PPC models using ppc_model config entry (replace ppc_model=automatic with ppc_model=<type name>):

For example BPPC config but CSPPC CPU: (ppc_model=604e_v2.4)
Or some newer common PPC model, for example ppc_model=750_v3.1

(QEMU PPC models here: http://git.qemu.org/?p=qemu.git;a=bl...dels.c;hb=HEAD)

FPU probably won't get any faster until there is option to use host FPU instead of softfloat library. (But use of host FPU can be difficult if PPC FPU has some special features)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 December 2015, 20:37   #357
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 689
cpu model on the BlizzardPPC configuration does change the cpu model for the test tools and they report a new cpu model, that's cool and funny. (AOS3/WarpOS) Does not seem to effect the speed of simple tests

CyberstormPPC seems to igrnore this, and the tools I tried always reported 604 (under AOS4)

But here is an interesting result from SysMon/RageMem test! Emulation can't be that good

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SysMonTest.png
Views:	1036
Size:	298.1 KB
ID:	46642  
Michael is offline  
Old 19 December 2015, 12:31   #358
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
Does not seem to effect the speed of simple tests
Thats odd. So it may not be 100% QEMU problem after all..

Quote:
CyberstormPPC seems to igrnore this, and the tools I tried always reported 604 (under AOS4)
CPU model detection probably does not know any other CPU types and just selects "best known" one.

Quote:
But here is an interesting result from SysMon/RageMem test! Emulation can't be that good
Whole test loop probably was converted to host CPU code and was executed in single pass. Most "microbenchmarks" are quite useless when testing JIT emulators, sometimes results are far too good (but technically correct..), sometimes they are totally random.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 December 2015, 18:18   #359
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,945
Ciao Toni, Today I wanted to do a little experiment, with a software "CD/DVD-RW Burner Virtual" i created a ISO which I then formatted UDF Filesystem. Formatting finished i copied a file in this volume UDF and then mounted as a DVD on OS4.1. Started OS4.1 the new volume was seen without problems by the system, only that it is not possible to see the content or copy data because this book as we know it is set to read-only; do you have a system for access read-write on this volume UDF.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 08 December 2016 at 00:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 December 2015, 09:30   #360
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
do you have a system for access read-write on this volume UDF.
No. Emulated optical media writing is not supported.
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QEMU TCG as JIT replacement? KillaByte request.UAE Wishlist 21 30 January 2018 16:05
PPC emulation for winuae marauder request.UAE Wishlist 25 04 November 2014 06:13
WinUAE PPC thread B14ck W01f support.WinUAE 301 10 September 2014 16:34
WinUAE ppc support? blasterreal support.WinUAE 8 29 September 2010 00:51
PPC on WinUAE ? glue request.UAE Wishlist 4 28 January 2007 12:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11808 seconds with 14 queries