English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 February 2013, 00:59   #1
daro2096
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chester-le-Street/UK
Posts: 85
Installing a cd/dvd slim drive inside a A1200?

Will a drive that measures 127.9mm in height 129.9mm in depth(doesn't include the adapter) fit inside an A1200?

The drive I am looking to buy is this:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3604787453...84.m1423.l2649
daro2096 is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 03:12   #2
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 46
Posts: 954
It should fit nicely, but try to get beige color to match the A1200.

I have similar CDROM drive in my A1200, there is a thread I made about it somewhere on EAB.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 11:43   #3
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
just be aware most of these drives are set to master so you will most likely need a buffered interface to use them properly.
roy bates is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 14:00   #4
daro2096
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chester-le-Street/UK
Posts: 85
Thinking about painting my Amiga black. Besides I am having trouble finding a drive with a beige front.

Getting a fast ata interface with 4way ide connectors so shouldn't be a problem.
daro2096 is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 14:07   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 46
Posts: 5,266
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Would it not be easier and less destructive to paint a black drive beige?
DDNI is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 16:30   #6
daro2096
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chester-le-Street/UK
Posts: 85
Well I suppose I could pay an extra £15 and get one imported from the states but my miggy is a bit yellow.
daro2096 is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 18:17   #7
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 46
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
just be aware most of these drives are set to master so you will most likely need a buffered interface to use them properly.
That is so true, I could only get it to work with IDEFix 4 way adapter.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 10 February 2013, 00:49   #8
daro2096
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chester-le-Street/UK
Posts: 85
Well I got my cd drive. Only problem is it uses non standard screws which I haven't got.

The thread size is 2mm in diameter and goes 2.5mm deep. What is the name of the screws I need?
daro2096 is offline  
Old 10 February 2013, 01:37   #9
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
do you need them to be longer.
roy bates is offline  
Old 10 February 2013, 04:02   #10
daro2096
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chester-le-Street/UK
Posts: 85
Well could go 3mm in length.
daro2096 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atapi/Ide Slim Dvd not recognized Retrofan support.Hardware 43 27 February 2012 14:15
Installing laptop cd-drive in A1200 AndersHP Hardware mods 13 22 August 2010 16:26
Installing a 20gB drive in a A1200'a ? Mr B support.Hardware 46 08 March 2007 10:49
A1200 1gigabyte slim 3.5inch ide drive and cradle ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 0 30 September 2006 21:43
Installing OS 3.9 on A1200 with no CD drive DanE support.Hardware 5 05 September 2006 14:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07379 seconds with 13 queries