English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 December 2006, 18:05   #1
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
A1200 DVD/RW upgrade

Hi Zetr0
Heres the first photo, still abit of sanding to be done.

Parts list

Sony/NEC DVD-RW
PA-CD1 JA to IDE adapter
CF-IDE40 Adaptor Dual card
Lexar 1GB 40x CF card

Boot times are amaaaaaazing
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1746.JPG
Views:	5278
Size:	89.0 KB
ID:	12860  
dambuster is offline  
Old 28 December 2006, 18:23   #2
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
and the insides

Still to be done - fit an external switch to allow me to select 4/8 MB fast ram at boot up as my accelerator is an ec version hence 8mb limit and no mmu - should have read the small print . As there is a jumper to select either 4 or 8 mb with an 8mb simm fitted apart from that everythings hunky -dori.

Above would not have been possible without the help EAB members - thanks to you all

Paul
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1748.jpg
Views:	739
Size:	190.8 KB
ID:	12861  
dambuster is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 05:15   #3
gizmomelb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melbourne
Age: 51
Posts: 510
nice work! an incentive for me to mod my A1200 while I've got some holidays.

which brand and model laptop DVD-RW did you use please?
gizmomelb is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 05:54   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
AWSOME!

most go for the rear loading, but I have always wanted to go side loading as you have!

fantastic well done indeed paul!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 13:09   #5
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
@ gizmomelb
"which brand and model laptop DVD-RW did you use please?"
Sony/NEC Model No AD-5540A

Smooth but sounds like helicopter winding up when a disk is inserted.
When searching on the net there were a few Panasonic Drives that had IDE interfaces. My local Computer shop only had these in, and were going like hot cakes. Luckily it worked ok.
What also helped was the bulk of the drive is approx 3.5" wide with just the last 1.25" by 5mm deep being the full width, this allowed me mount the drive lower without loosing the PCMCIA socket.
The moulding was formed by wrapping the drive and a PC card in maskingtape, both fixed in the correct locations, then using card and more tape the outer edges were formed. davids Isopon P38 easy sand car body filler was used to fill the mould. Sets after arround 5 min, workable after arround an hour. Abit of sanding after the drives etc are removed and voila.

Hope that helps
Paul
dambuster is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 15:49   #6
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 33
Posts: 560
Impressive...most impressive.
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 16:03   #7
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,253
Very cool! Does the case go back on without too much trouble? Looks a busy A1200 inside now
Paul_s is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 17:19   #8
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
@Paul_s
case splits and rejoins v.easy, the extension remains part of the bottom case. You can see the join line on the top front of the drive were the original extension started.
Paul
dambuster is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 18:27   #9
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 46
Posts: 5,266
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
good work Dambuster...

I would like to see it when it is finished!!!

Right now it looks very messy, a ribbon cable to an external CD unit would look tidier
DDNI is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 19:51   #10
lurkist
Zone Friend
lurkist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 19
Are you actually writing with that DVD-RW or just reading?
Is that just a regular 4XIDE buffered interface? IDEfix 97?

Cheers
lurkist is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 20:23   #11
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
@ lurkist
Just reading at the mo, will have get some software and a drive big enough to hold 4.3 GB of files. Only been able to try windows based DVDRoms but reads them ok.
Using a DCE 4XIDE buffered interface. Installed IDEFix but havnt put an entry into the startup-sequence. When I did miggy wouldnt boot from CF.

Paul
dambuster is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 22:34   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
Heys Paul,

Are you running KS3.0 or 3.1?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 22:43   #13
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
ks 3.1 391773/4 roms from eyetech. got them with wb3.9 several years ago. never managed to get it working stably and gave up.
dambuster is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 23:10   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
shame to hear m8y....

but atleast there storming nicely in the new rig
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 December 2006, 23:36   #15
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
Now Ive got a system where i can easily change boot drives and reload images, will re-read your thread on setting up winuae and loading images directly on to CF, may try 3.9 again.
I'm hoping the Dragon 1200 board comes out soon, as that will allow me to tower up my other A1200 ........ providing the boss dont find out

Any one know of a paint colour to match the A1200 white or is this a full respray ive got in front of me
dambuster is offline  
Old 30 December 2006, 13:50   #16
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
i think you are looking at a full case re-spray, I am sure you get a colour similar but not exact i am afraid.

I did a write up for spraying plastics somewhere here.... i think DanE was modding and sprying his 1200 black... looked real nice too...

I included a couple of links for laser / bublejet printed laser RUB ON transfers (wich is a must lol)

Last edited by Zetr0; 30 December 2006 at 13:57.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 December 2006, 15:58   #17
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
Thanks - ive read the write up, think i'll be sticking with white tho', i'll save the black for the tower, ive got a nice black cdtv keyboard all lined up for it
dambuster is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 22:59   #18
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,149
I had a side mounted drive in my black 1200, really want to put a slot loading side drive in my current a1200

Although that would mean not using my caddy loading CDRW which rocks!!

Last edited by Mick_AKA; 10 January 2007 at 23:06.
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 13 January 2007, 13:46   #19
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
Those LCD TV's with the built in DVD players looked so tempting - theres got to be a mod crying out to be done. Got a good slapping from the boss when eyeing one up in Tesco's - well if she will insist on aloowing me to help with the shopping
dambuster is offline  
Old 01 April 2007, 17:44   #20
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 58
Posts: 1,163
A fairly good match for the Amiga case colour is Austin Rover - Old English White, I used to touch up scratches on PC cases with that colour, it may still be around in Halfords or they could mix you up a can, they do a acrylic paint so it's like Japlac, it will be OK on plastic cases.

Merlin
Merlin is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS A1200 Memory Upgrade Zetr0 MarketPlace 2 10 November 2009 17:24
Laptop CD/RW/DVD in a1200 SkippyAR Hardware mods 23 28 July 2008 22:30
A1200 with internal CD/DVD DC33 support.Hardware 88 07 September 2007 14:47
CD32 on A1200 with DVD disks Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 2 26 June 2007 17:16
A1200 upgrade Unknown_K MarketPlace 7 25 February 2003 03:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11115 seconds with 14 queries