English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 September 2005, 10:56   #1
MadDonna
 
Posts: n/a
How to replace a harddisk from an amiga 1200

I know that it is a ide 2.5 inch type, but how do I replace it. I am a bad searcher so if somebody knows a link to a previous post, that would be enough too.
 
Old 06 September 2005, 11:03   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,056
I am not sure what you expect to hear. Usually you replace a HDD by removing the old one and adding the new one.

Or do you want to know in which direction you have to move the screw driver in order to loose the screws ???
thomas is offline  
Old 07 September 2005, 17:24   #3
Oryp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Riverside, Ca
Age: 60
Posts: 33
It's obvious English is not his first language, so a response like that is very insulting.

Question: Are you asking where to find a replacement drive, or are you asking how to physically replace the drive?
Oryp is offline  
Old 07 September 2005, 18:39   #4
DopPie
Zone Friend

DopPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Den Hoorn, NL
Age: 41
Posts: 259
Looks like dutch is the native language. Lets give it a shot;
[dutch]
Wat bedoel je precies? De harddisk vervangen gaat simelweg door de Amiga open te maken en vervolgens de oude harddisk eruit te nemen en de nieuwe erin te plaatsen.

De A1200 kan omgaan met 2.5" harddisk. Deze worden gewoonlijk in laptops gebruikt.
Het makkelijkste is een te kiezen met een capaciteit beneden de 4GB. Alles daarboven vereist weer truken.

De software moet je gewoon weer installeren met behulp van je workbench diskettes.
Dit is weer een ander lang verhaal.

Hopelijk is dit wat je weten wilt.

Success.
[/dutch]
I wont keep you guessing what I wrote so here is a translation.
[english]
What exactly do you mean? Replacing the harddisk is simply done by opening the amiga and then by taking out the old harddisk and place the new one in.

The A1200 can take 2.5" harddisks. These are usually used in laptops.
The easiest is to choose one with a capicity below 4GB. Everything beyond that requires some tricks.

The software can just be installed by using your workbench disks. That is a whole other story.

Hopefully this is what you wanted to know.

Good luck.
[/english]
DopPie is offline  
Old 07 September 2005, 20:04   #5
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 38
Posts: 2,639
The good amiga spirit
kriz is offline  
Old 11 September 2005, 02:14   #6
MadDonna
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, sorry for my late response, it is indeed the technical question; how to replace the harddisk.

Is it so simple? Just turn the amiga upside down, remove the screws and replace the harddisk? You don't have to remove tons of shielding material etc?

Last edited by MadDonna; 11 September 2005 at 02:20.
 
Old 11 September 2005, 09:41   #7
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 1,417
yes quite simple.

After removing the screws on the bottom turn the case over again (so the keyboard is face up) and carefully lift the top off the case.

Be careful not to snag the wires connecting the LEDs when you lift off the top cover as the LEDs are attached to the top of the case with screws.

Once the top cover is off you can move the keyboard out of the way and access the hard disk cradle.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 11 September 2005, 09:51   #8
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 9,109
There might be some rf sheilding.. if so simply undo the screws and bend the tabs so they are straight and the sheilding will simply lift off
BippyM is offline  
Old 11 September 2005, 12:26   #9
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oryp
It's obvious English is not his first language, so a response like that is very insulting.

Question: Are you asking where to find a replacement drive, or are you asking how to physically replace the drive?

I dont think he was very insulting, Just enquiring after more detail on what he needed. Your post (reply) on the other hand was a little strong.
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 15 September 2005, 19:05   #10
Oryp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Riverside, Ca
Age: 60
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_0rga5m
I dont think he was very insulting, Just enquiring after more detail on what he needed. Your post (reply) on the other hand was a little strong.
So you don't think that this is insulting?:
"Or do you want to know in which direction you have to move the screw driver in order to loose the screws ???"

My response wasn't meant to be that harsh, and I apologize.
Oryp is offline  
Old 15 September 2005, 19:54   #11
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
No i dont .. I read it 'with a pinch of salt'
mr_0rga5m is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there any way to import/replace files in Amiga ISOs? MethodGit Amiga scene 3 29 July 2012 13:20
Best way to backup an Amiga harddisk with a PC? th4t1guy support.Hardware 15 22 February 2010 18:24
Wants List to Replace Stolen amiga items! angiee MarketPlace 42 16 February 2009 09:30
Amiga A590 - what drive to replace the original? Merlin support.Hardware 23 26 July 2008 14:41
Mounting Native PC(formatted) harddisk as a Harddisk for WinUAE/E-UAE Zetr0 support.Hardware 10 01 June 2006 14:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08449 seconds with 13 queries