English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 June 2020, 00:46   #1
cypher007
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: uk
Posts: 149
Anyway to use emulator compatible roms on eprom?

Just wondering if roms that are used on winuae are able to be converted to eprom?

I know they need bit swapping. But looking at them in a prom programmer, it seems they are missing something at the beginning of the file, and when I tried one just results in a blank screen.
cypher007 is offline  
Old 04 June 2020, 06:11   #2
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 173
First of all, yes to burn the files they need to be byte swapped, i.e. have their endianess corrected.

What you describe sounds like you're trying to burn a ROM file from an Amiga Forever disk. These need to be decrypted first using the respective 'ROM.key' file and the appropriate decryption method. While the method is known and can be found on the internet, the legality of using such ROMs in real machines is questionable...
torsti76 is offline  
Old 04 June 2020, 14:07   #3
coldacid
Registered User

coldacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 171
The last few major versions of Amiga Forever have come with unencrypted ROMs and the license even allows for use of the ROMs on real hardware. There's no need for ROM.key decryption for a long time.

https://www.amigaforever.com/kb/13-145
coldacid is offline  
Old 04 June 2020, 14:17   #4
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldacid View Post
The last few major versions of Amiga Forever have come with unencrypted ROMs and the license even allows for use of the ROMs on real hardware. There's no need for ROM.key decryption for a long time.

https://www.amigaforever.com/kb/13-145
Oh, didn't know that, sorry.
torsti76 is offline  
Old 04 June 2020, 21:19   #5
cypher007
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: uk
Posts: 149
Ok pulling hair out here.

My dump of 2.04 mask rom burnt to an eprom works. The Amiga diagnostic rom works. The eprom ready 3.1.4 works.

3.1 byte swapped using GQUSBprg 7.25 Does not work.

Here is a pic of one that works and one that doesn’t. I noticed a working rom starts 11 14, and non working 11 16.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200604_142512.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	67600   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200604_142536.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	67601  
cypher007 is offline  
Old 05 June 2020, 11:31   #6
cypher007
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: uk
Posts: 149
Turned out it wasn’t a eprom compatible file. All sorted now.
cypher007 is offline  
Old 05 June 2020, 12:10   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,916
Yep, most likely some kind of softkick file that someone had permanently relocated and that happens to work in the emulator.
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battle of the ROMs - 3.4.1 & a3660 roms blatboy support.Hardware 11 08 May 2019 06:30
Split/join ROMs (kickstart ROMs) NLS support.Other 7 09 September 2018 23:54
EPROM Experimentation xArtx Hardware mods 15 04 April 2017 08:02
EPROM Suggestion Loedown support.Hardware 3 12 January 2011 22:19
Wanted pinouts of 3000T roms and 3000 roms Vars191 support.Hardware 1 20 November 2008 10:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07728 seconds with 14 queries