English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

Old 25 May 2006, 08:36   #1
alexh
Thalion Webshrine

Vertical Insanity Razor1911

As a hardware engineer I was always curious about the text in the scroller of this demo, talking about an undocumented opcode (Movef) which never existed.

http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=4286

Why would they make up such rubbish?

---------------------------------------------

Now Many years later I thought I'd found the answer. I find a C64 demo claiming a similar thing. I started thinking there WERE a lot of undocumented opcodes on the 6502, perhaps this isnt rubbish?

http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=15401

The style of the two demo's is identical. One is almost certainly a parody of the other. I started thinking, perhaps Razor 1911 saw this demo, liked it and decided to make a copy.

I then started to wonder which came first and which is a parody of which? It made sense in my mind for the C64 one to be first and the Amiga one to be a piss take, but according to the dates in Pouet the Amiga version was first?

Anyone have any insight into this coding / demo oddity?
Old 25 May 2006, 14:05   #2
AGN

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
I started thinking there WERE a lot of undocumented opcodes on the 6502, perhaps this isnt rubbish?
http://www.google.pl/search?q=undocumented+opcodes+6502
Old 25 May 2006, 14:57   #3
Frog

btw a wonderful intro with an excellent music by Uncle Tom if i remember right
Old 25 May 2006, 17:20   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine

@AGN

I know that there are undocumented opcodes in 6502. But if you have a read you see that undocumented opcode $72 mentioned in the scroller of this demo (sometimes referred to as HALT) crashes the 6502!!

@Frog

Yeah Spell Amelioration, very nice.

Last edited by alexh; 25 May 2006 at 17:31.
Old 25 May 2006, 17:31   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine

I still dont know which came first, or if one was a parody of the other... anyone know?